THE SCHOOL SOUND SYSTEM OPERATOR

Hey friends, I would like to share my regular role during annual events in school. This includes nutrition month, buwan ng wika month, English festival, sports week, PTA conference, subject culminations, high school day, teacher seminars, and other programs or events conducted in school. These activities of ours cannot go without the presence of music and the event coordinator. On the part of the music, that is my place hehe.

2.jpg

When I first become a teacher in my world (school), I was task to be a host or master of ceremony. I have one experience in it that was when I was in high school and the event didn’t go well. So fearing of committing the same shameful experience, I pleaded to decline the task since I was not good in putting adlibs and jokes in front of everyone. Lucky someone took over on my behalf. But, I wasn’t satisfied without doing something for the success of the program. Since I know about electronics, I gladly presented to be the sound system operator. And since then, I was always present when there is a program in school.

A sound system operator should consider the following: technical expertise, smooth and immersive event flow, updated to popular music, and safety of the wirings. The knowledge and skills to setup, operate and troubleshoot audio equipment guaranteeing the perfect quality of the sound, the jamming updated music makes easier for the audience to enjoy, and the proper connection/insertion of cables, testing, and maintenance of the equipment to prevent any accidents or malfunctions or even overloading of devices. All of these are basically necessary to the sound technician.

6.png

Being a sound system operator is not an easy task, you have to plan enough for your music to fit in on whatever event is to conduct. Like for example, valentines day celebration. I cannot just play any random music for the crowd. I must choose and download the music with great effects in the lovers’ hearts for the coronation, partner dancing and claim of awards. So the perfect taste of song must be fit for the event. So, in order to play jazz, noncopyrighted music, clapping of hands and heartbeat effects, drum roll, etc., one must learn to use DJ remixing software to flawlessly transfer from one music to another without technicality problems during events. Not only a remixing software is necessary, a sound system operator must be able to learn adjusting the quality of the sound – the input and the output. One must learn to balance the sound mixer device from the microphone and to the power amplifier device. So, all in one operation is my job. Sometimes I encounter glitches, delays, unnecessary echoes and malfunction of the cables but that was part of the job.

Another thing is that not only I am the sound system operator, I am also the before and after care of these events. Anyway, I love this job and I am learning and improving time to time. Even though I am just the backstage, not part of the scene, I love my life because I am always included with the snacks and lunch haha.

Thanks, friends, for reading till here. Have a blissful day everyone.

4.jpg
3.jpg
1.jpg

Sort:  

You are doing great sir.

I salute to you Sir @batanggwapo for your talent and skills. Your parents are blessed to have you.

What a talented man you are and indeed very helpful when it comes to activities in the school. No need to pay extra for a DJ which is good for the budget. Congratulations on a job well done sir👏🏻

Thank you sir kim @batanggwapo for always our support system 🫰.