Reaching a dream: my greenhouse is finally functional

in Succulent growerslast month

s rauschii.jpg

Sulcorebutia rauschii is finally safe from marauding snails

Having a proper space to grow my succulents in has been a goal for a long time, pretty much since I first moved into my house. I started with the frame a few years ago but then the project stalled, because the roof was unsuitable and the person who was helping me was alternately very sick or working away on a contract for months on end. We finally finished the structure in August 2023 and since then, it's been a joy to watch my plants start to thrive and bloom again.

Orbea variegata.jpg
Orbea variegata is very common but always a pleasure to see. It smells a bit like rotten eggs

The greenhouse structure is a wooden frame covered with a horticultural product called Knipol: it's shadecloth laminated with tunnel plastic. Most, but not all succulents enjoy heat but they don't appreciate the strong sunlight so a 40% shadecloth is appropriate.

shelf.jpg

Even more fun has been getting even more plants, now that I have an appropriate environment although once I had moved all my plants in there, it was already pretty full. Quite a few plants there were grown from seed and with the accelerated growth from the heat, I'll be able to start selling at shows.

shelf2.jpg

Finally I have an evvironment where the slugs and snails don't visit although there are a few grasshoppers that fly in and nibble on the plants. In general, they are far less destructive than the snails but I was happy to discover one night that I had a large resident predator. Huntsman spiders are large enough to hunt geckosand there are a few geckos in the roof, hunting the smaller insects

huntsman.jpg

I'll go into the plant families I'm growing in more detail in other posts, here are just a few flowers for you to enjoy.

c obcordellum.jpg

Conophytum obcordellum blooms at night and is very fragrant. I see a lot of seed pods forming on this plant for the first time.

Pterodiscus Luridus.jpg

Pterodiscus luridus also flowered profusely

Frithia humilis.jpg

I grew this pot of Frithia humilis from seed and they have flowered for the first time

Pleiospilos bolusii.jpg

Pleiospilos bolusii flowers in the late afternoon

The greenhouse is currently my small oasis of sanity where I go to enjoy the plants and forget about the world and its troubles. Hopefully it will soon become a source of income too

Sort:  

🎉 Upvoted 🎉
👏 Keep Up the good work on Hive ♦️ 👏
❤️ @jasonmunapasee suggested sagarkothari88 to upvote your post ❤️
🙏 Don't forget to Support Back 🙏

Yay! :) Finally a place for them all.
Beautiful little Conophytum obcordellum.

 last month  

It's very satisfying! Thank you!

Manually curated by ewkaw from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

It looks great. Well organized and neat, and without snails and slugs! Though the smell of the flower of Orbea variegata could attract a few flies :D

 last month  

One of the Stapelia bloomed the other day: I thought something had died under the shelves

I thought something had died under the shelves

😂

a huge slug that somehow found its way to enter the greenhouse 😂

 last month  

😁You know those big purple bells

This looks fabulous! The flowers are gorgeous. Maybe I'll have to branch out into succulents. They've always scared me. congrats on getting and setting up the lush space, may you make oodles of money selling them.

 last month  

Thank you! Succulents can be difficult in your climate and will need to be indoors over winter but they are well worth it!

Hello dear friend @nikv good afternoon
It's good that your succulents finally have their space and you have your beautiful aoasis, your plants are beautiful, congratulations for the good work
have a beautiful weekend

 last month  

Thank you and good weekend to you!

Wonderful plants with all those cactuses. But that critter looks scary 😟 They don't grow so big here.

My Christmas cactus recently bloomed after skipping Christmas because of a cold spell.

Cactus.jpg

 last month  

The orange colour of the flowers is lovely!

The petals are very nice and delicate, so the light filters through them. It creates a beautiful effect at sunset.

That's awesome, and your plant friends are amazing!
I'm super impressed, honestly. For a long time I had no idea what I was doing with succulents, then I had a jade plant thrive for several years ...then it got root rot 😭 ...but I was able to propagate some of it and now I have a happy, tall jade again. :)
!BEER
!HUG

 last month  

🌵🌵🌵 Growing succulents is a lot easier for me, since most of them originate here. I admire the dedication in the Northern hemisphere!

Dear @nikv, you just got hugged.
I sent 1.0 HUG on behalf of @phoenixwren.
(1/2)

Huntsman spiders are large enough to hunt gecko

Yikes!

flowered for the first time

so rewarding 🙂 beautiful flowers can't wait to hear more about the succulents. We have been considering a greenhouse but for extending our growing season. We would just use it to start our garden sooner mostly.

 last month  

Seems like essential equipment where you live, your growing season is very short. Mine is actually more just a dry house and doesn't require any extra heating or ventilation because 2 sides are open but even so, it's 5 degrees warmer than outside on averge

It's so nice that you are able to have a greenhouse type area for your succulents. I have always found their shapes and blooms fascinating. I think I could like any of these, well, it might be hard to get emotionally close to the stinky egg one. 😄

 28 days ago  

You can get emotionally close. Just not physically close 😄

Wow, what a wonderful place to kick back and enjoy the seeds of all of your labor.

Dreams are ideas put into motion and after many years your dreams have come true, congratulations, Succulent Queen.

It must also be exciting to now be able to take some of your plants to market. There is nothing like a little extra $$$$, especially coming by way of doing something that is a passion.

Good for you young lady.

 26 days ago  

Thank you!


Hey @nikv, here is a little bit of BEER from @phoenixwren for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.