Carribean Street Art

in StreetArt15 days ago

I'm always on the look out for some decent street art when I travel. When I go anywhere really. I just don't leave the house that often. Anyway, I saw a few nice murals in the Carribean while wandering around Willemstad Curacao on our cruise vacation back in February of this year. Let's take a look at what I saw, shall we?

20240125_104729~2.jpg

This first one is the most simple but it's actually my favorite. It's just a gnome running but the placement of the rake on the wall adds so much humor and fun to the piece. I don't know if the rake being there is intentional or if it occurred by accident, but the idea of running away from yard work makes me smile and also seems very fitting for a vacation island in the Carribean.

20240125_104556~2.jpg

The next one is by the same artist - obviously and was seen near it. It's a nice use of space on the wall and it almost looks like there is some sort of message being conveyed there - flying eyeballs around a cell phone and a "holier than thou" lecture taking place... There is meaning in the piece, I'm sure of it. Actually I just noticed that the cellphone says "Disconnect" on it so that explains everyhing - duh. I can't figure out who the artist is but I think that they are Dutch and from the Netherlands. There are a lot of these gnomes and eyeball figures in the Netherlands and Curacao is a Dutch colony so I'm quite confident in my guess. Okay moving on.

20240125_104647~2.jpg

The next one is more of a realism style of art that feels very Carribean inspired in its colors and subjects. At one point the man's face was covered by a piece of wood or something, which was subsequently removed at some point. The door must have always been there though which makes me wonder if the woman's face painted on the door at one point and then some A-holen came along and painted over top of it at a later date. Who knows... okay moving on.

20240125_104706~2.jpg

Iguanas were a bit of a theme in town. We saw a large statue of one outside a restaurant along with this colorful mural. We didn't see any real ones though. That was unfortunate. Okay moving on.

20240125_092431~2.jpg

I don't have much to say about these skeleton dancers. It looks like it was done with paper and glue more so than paint. It's a little boring for me but that's okay. I don't have to like every piece of artwork that I see... I won't say it.

20240125_092730~2.jpg

This last one was a really well done mural with a very Carribean look and vibe about it. It looks like it was probably commissioned by a local artist or something amd paid for by the city. It's a nice piece but its not my favorite by any means. It's too "safe" to be interesting and reminds me of wallpaper a little. It just a little boring in my opinion... did I already say that? So its not my style of art but it is nice and it definitly serves a purpose. It adds some nice color to the walls and brings out that Carribean tropics feeling... Okay I'm done.

Thats it for now. Until next time, thanks for stopping by.

Sort:  

I'm that crazy guy who always looking to the walls and checking the Graffiti and other arts.

  • I do like mostly vandal style;


That say Fone made it two nights ago haha.

Will make a post/video of the process soon for the contest.

⚡✊🏻

Yeah everyone seems to have their own style that they like. I actually really like the pixilated tile style of street art.

The 3rd photo is my favorite! ☺️

Yeah that one is very well done

Manually curated by ewkaw from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Thanks for the support!

It’s good that you look out for artworks anytime you go out
All the artworks are so lovely but I love the third one more

Yeah the third one is quite nice. It's very well done

Cool selection of StreetArt, especially the last wall. Thanks for sharing these pics on The StreetArt Community.

Have a great day

Thanks. Glad you liked them 😁

WOW!

!discovery 40
!VSC
!PIZZA

!LOL

Why did the chicken climb on top of the house?
He was a Roofster.

Credit: reddit
@leaky20, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of curart38

(3/6)

PLAY & EARN $DOOM

Congratulations @leaky20! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 40000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 41000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the April PUM Winners
Feedback from the May Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - April 2024 Winners List

This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our Community and follow our Curation Trail
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@jlinaresp(7/10) tipped @leaky20