The Beautiful Sceneries of a Plague Tale: Requiem

in Gaming Photography2 months ago (edited)

I've made a lot of stops on my journey through A Plague Tale: Requiem to enter photo mode. I probably would have finished the game long ago if it wasn't for this. It's a bit of a curse for me this as it is quite immersion breaking to enter photo mode all the time but then again I really enjoy snapping up all these good looking sceneries. A Plague Tale: Requiem has a lot of those and I'm going to be showcasing my favorite shots from my playthrough in this post.

I took a total og 220 screenshots while playing through this game so I have plans to churn out one more screenshot showcase post after this where I focus on the dark and gritty screenshots that I took. They have quite a different mood so I find it fitting to split them up.

A Plague Tale_ Requiem_20240328193612.png

When doing these kinds of showcase posts I try to stay away from screenshots that are directly from a cutscene or cinematic. To me that's straight up cheating seeing as I wasn't the one to compose the picture. The above picture is one exception as it just has such a mood.


A disappointing photo mode

The somewhat disappointing graphics of the game took away some of the joy for me in capturing photos and it didn't really help on the fact that the photo mode is lacking a bit as well. I like the fact that you can free fly with the camera even during cutscenes but I don't like that you can fly straight through the environment with it. It's quite immersion breaking. It's also disappointing that far away objects are poorly rendered even in photo mode. Using the focal setting to zoom in on stuff just makes it look all blurry and of a low resolution.

My biggest complaint with the photo mode though is that lack of filters. It's a really weird decision to leave filters out of the photo mode. I feel like that's usually first in line when it comes to photo modes. There's so many of these shots that could have looked a lot better if I could play around with filter settings. Still, they give us the usual contrast, brightness and saturation settings that lets us alter the images in some way but I still wish there was more.

That's a short rant on the photo mode in this game. I love me a good photo mode in games which is why I may seem overly passionate about this. I'll leave you with my photos now. Enjoy!


A Plague Tale_ Requiem_20240327104101.jpg


A Plague Tale_ Requiem_20240327105323.jpg


A Plague Tale_ Requiem_20240327105512.jpg


A Plague Tale_ Requiem_20240328124915.png


A Plague Tale_ Requiem_20240327105631.jpg


A Plague Tale_ Requiem_20240327110421.jpg


A Plague Tale_ Requiem_20240328141519.png


A Plague Tale_ Requiem_20240328194901.png


A Plague Tale_ Requiem_20240329115158.png


A Plague Tale_ Requiem_20240329115359.png


A Plague Tale_ Requiem_20240329161229.png


A Plague Tale_ Requiem_20240330095555.png


A Plague Tale_ Requiem_20240330154835.png


A Plague Tale_ Requiem_20240401130101.png


Constructive criticism to anything from composition to coloring is always welcome.


All images in this post are screenshots taken by me.

Follow me on: 3Speak | PeakD | Hive.Blog | Twitch | YouTube

Sort:  

incredible scenes, although the photography mode could have some points to improve and even the filters could be missing in some moments, you still managed to capture fantastic moments.

I really liked the boy running through the field of red flowers and although it is not very sharp I thought its effect and feeling is great, it reminded me of the gladiator movie :D

Your comment about that picture captures my main gripe about the game. The graphics are quite blurry and soft edged but it doesn't look like that in most of these screenshots since I could increase the sharpening in the photo mode.

What amazing landscapes you have shared with us, I loved the part where you showed a castle in ruins, no doubt you spent some amazing moments when you were in that part of the game, it also has very good graphics.

The castle was a really cool scene. One of the few places using the focal lense really worked without blurring it all out.

I had forgot how some games can use the best of hardware today to do some stunning shots through a sprinkle of a vision for lush landscapes and lightning more than just sticking to bland realism or the often advertised RTX stuff.

I guess that it makes sense that photo modes should give you more options to adjust your colors without external editors, but to me I can see that at least most of the photos like the sunset ones and almost all of the second half with the bright sun still look quite stunning with your angles.

I've played some games that have RTX and great photo modes like CP77 and Hellblade: Senua's Sacrifice. Those games do it perfectly.

I loved this series of games. The graphics were so good and made everything look so real. This series is probably in my top ten video game series of all time.

They're both really good and hard to put down.

Great pictures, man. I know exactly what you mean, sometimes I get ridiculous blur in photo mode. They're great though, especially the last one.

Cheers man. If you're getting blurriness in photo mode you should try to change the focus distance which is usually a setting. Unless you're commenting on the zoom issue I'm having here.

I was trying to mention your issue 😅 but it also happens to me, I'll check the settings

The photos of the landscapes are beautiful, the one of the mountain looking towards the sea with the red tree on the left I love it.

That is a good one. I wish I played around more with the angles there. I think the composition could have been better with a bit more time.

It looks like this installment has improved graphics than the first one and I liked your captures very much.

I'm playing Innocence right now without having a photo mode so I'm thinking that you at least have a photo mode in this one when I'm reading yours complaints about it. Now that I saw these captures, I need to finish innocence fast and try this one.

Thanks for choosing Gaming Photography to showcase these screenshots. I'm looking forward to see what you're about to show next. @tipu curate 8

Cheers. Innocence does have a photo mode that you can access from the pause menu. At least it did when I played it. Weird if they removed it.

I noticed innocence having a photo mode but I guess it was implemented later and I'm probably playing an early version. I just can't find it in the pause menu and there's no word about it in the game setting as well. :(

Sailing the high seas, eh?

Yeah, kind of.

all the pictures you share in this game are very beautiful, I like the way you take pictures so perfectly, maybe if they weren't uploaded on this community I wouldn't know the beautiful views came from the game. Very extraordinary

Cheers! I like spending time in photo mode to compose nice pictures. It's almost like playing a second game for me.

Congratulations @pusen! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 80000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 85000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Be ready for the May edition of the Hive Power Up Month!

El modo fotogracia es algo que se haempezado a incorportar y me parece una muy buena decisión pero tienes razón rompemucho la jugabilidad, no me habia dado cuenta hastaque lo mencionaste pero yo hace poco en Mass Efect he sufrido eso, estar en medio de un tiroteo y querer sacar capturas para Hive. Por otro lado que bueno verte en esta comunidad, va creciendo y esta genial.

Great pictures you were able to share here dear friend. Quite cool to visit places lkke this