What procrastination did to me; Don't make same mistake.

in Humanitaslast month

Occasionally, I find myself reflecting as I journey through memory lane. I was never one to procrastinate, so it surprises me how I suddenly became one. However, I've realized something: when a person operates their business from a place of comfort, they may become complacent and prone to making numerous poor decisions.

Image source

Now, don't get me wrong. Many people will agree that that "being in a comfortable state helps you work better and faster." That is a true statement, especially when you are working directly under someone where there is a rule guiding your code of conduct, like the clothes you put on, the time you get to work, and the types of things you say or do. Things like this can be easily done in a comfortable place of work, but when that job is yours, most times you tend to procrastinate things you believe won't do much damage to the job.

Back in 2018, I worked for a pension firm where I had to resume work by 8 a.m. I was lucky because the company provided a staff bus for all their staff, and the bus leaves the meeting point at 5 a.m., which means I have to do everything and prepare for the day job before 5 a.m.; if not, I will miss the staff bus. Due to the demands of my job, I ensure that all the clothes I plan to wear to the office for the week are ironed and stored in my wardrobe in advance.

I currently work from home and am looking for a new job that requires me to leave the house daily. Working from home and having control over my hours often leads to procrastination, resulting in a backlog of tasks. I set my alarm for 6 a.m., but when it goes on, I dismiss it, thinking I can simply rise and begin working on my computer. Things that I should have done that morning will be left undone till the afternoon; this is not a healthy way of living, I bet you.

In 2023, I was working in a biomedical firm, a very comfortable place to work with 24 hours of internet, you could come to office with your PC. You use your PC for your private business, while the laptop the office gave to you will be used for official work. I was to resume at 9 a.m. I wake up early every day to make sure I cook, clean the house, and get set for the day and that's because I will be sanction if I come late.

It has become apparent that a significant number of self-employed individuals tend to procrastinate. My research in Ilorin, Kwara State, Nigeria, revealed that most private business owners start their day at around 10 or 11 a.m. An early one would resume at 9 a.m., which shows that arriving late has become a cultural norm among them.

I was a 5 a.m. person and a plan ahead type of guy, which I can say is the best way to live but not most of the time. It is never the best if you close late and get home late.

Image source

Procrastinating is not a good thing; First, it is a sign of laziness and lack of determination. After I saw the post topic in the morning, I told myself I would write about it in the afternoon, but this is currently 9 p.m. Procrastination steals away your time without you knowing, and it allows you to miss great opportunities.

If you are a procrastinator, I would advise you to drop that habit and start working on yourself to become a better person. Plan ahead and work with your plan; that way, you will be able to monitor your achievements and then count your blessings. Thanks for reading.

This is my entry for #day19 for the inleo daily writing. You can join the daily by visiting @leogrowth page or check out this Thread Thanks for joining. If you have any question, you can ask me.

Posted Using InLeo Alpha