Heart Attack at Windang Boat Ramp!

in Drone11 months ago (edited)

Hi All,

A few days ago I went to on a road trip with my cousin down South towards Wollongong. I always have my drone ready for that phone call for a road trip. My cousin is a builder and was going to give a house renovation quote in Wollongong, so I tagged along for the ride.

We stopped at Windang Boat Ramp for lunch. The weather was great, 10 mintue after launching my drone, the wind started to pick up and I was already at maximum altitude and the drone was already hoveing above the bridge (400 meters away). My battery was going down (45% battery left)) as the the propellers are at full speed to try to keep the drone steedy. I knew I as up for a challenge to get this drone safely back. As I was trying to bring my drone back, I was fighting aganist the wind and it was swaying my drone and watching the battery going down rapidly now. The battery was at 20% and the remote started to beep, warning me that the battry is critically low and is returning to the home point, my heart was beating faster as the drone is above houses (250 meters away 150 meters in the sky). While it was in the process in returning, it decided that it wanted to land (it calculated if it has enough battery to come back or not). In that moment the wind died down a little so I decided to cancelltd the automating return (massive risk) and finally landed my drone at the location of take off, at that point the battery was at 2%. I was ready to pass out lol!

Has anyone in the community had a similar experience, love to hear about it?

So below is a map where I was located 'x'. The arrow is the main attractions of this location - Windang Bridge

image.png

📍 Windang Boat Ramp

📷 Dji Mavic Pro

📸 Adobe Lightroom Classic

DJI_0511-Enhanced-NR.jpg

DJI_0521-Enhanced-NR.jpg

DJI_0531-Enhanced-NR.jpg

DJI_0526-Enhanced-NR.jpg

DJI_0516-Enhanced-NR.jpg

DJI_0536-Enhanced-NR.jpg

DJI_0561-Enhanced-NR.jpg

DJI_0541-Enhanced-NR.jpg

DJI_0546-Enhanced-NR.jpg

DJI_0551-Enhanced-NR.jpg

DJI_0556-Enhanced-NR.jpg

I hope you guys enjoyed my selection.

Thanks for stopping by :)

#amazingnature #photography #PHOTOGRAPHYLOVERS #OUTDOORLIFE #FLYING #NATURE #curie #creativecoin #oneup #posh #curation #curangel #OCD #ocdb #photos #teamaustralia #hive-186141 #Qurator #STEMGEEKS

Social media: Instagram | Twitter | YouTube

Team Australia.png

Sort:  

That was close😅 Glad you still have your drone. I am planning to buy one but the weather here around this time of the year is not so conducive for flying drones. Great shots Bro! !PGM

Sent 0.1 PGM - 0.1 LVL- 1 STARBITS - 0.05 DEC - 1 SBT - 0.1 THG - 0.000001 SQM - 0.1 BUDS - 0.01 WOO - 0.005 SCRAP tokens

remaining commands 3

BUY AND STAKE THE PGM TO SEND A LOT OF TOKENS!

The tokens that the command sends are: 0.1 PGM-0.1 LVL-0.1 THGAMING-0.05 DEC-15 SBT-1 STARBITS-[0.00000001 BTC (SWAP.BTC) only if you have 2500 PGM in stake or more ]

5000 PGM IN STAKE = 2x rewards!

image.png
Discord image.png

Support the curation account @ pgm-curator with a delegation 10 HP - 50 HP - 100 HP - 500 HP - 1000 HP

Get potential votes from @ pgm-curator by paying in PGM, here is a guide

I'm a bot, if you want a hand ask @ zottone444


Ahhh man it was massive relief when I landed my drone lol

What make/model of drone are you planning to buy?

Thank you my friend for the kind words :)

Yes, I have had a similar experience. Early on, flying with my first Mavic Pro, I was down in a valley and flew up high to catch some of the mountain rocks and such. The wind picked up, to about 40 mph, and was blowing the drone away, even though I was flying full speed back (I thought). I was finally able to reduce altitude, and make some headway back in-between gusts. It was spooky as only my 3rd or 4th flight at the time, lol.

This is actually one of the reasons I really like the RCPro style controller. It has a switch right on the front to quickly switch between Cine mode, Normal mode, and Sport mode.
Most of the DJI drones have a lot more power and speed in Sport mode (careful, because sensors are disabled) that really helps them fly in the higher wind. I often use that switch to fly in Sport mode in the wind, or just to get a faster RTH if I'm done filming.

It's so scary when you can not control your drone... I should've put my drone into sports mode while returning the drone. I totally forgot about sports mode!

I will have to look into RCPro controller. Thank you for the advise my friend 😊

Congratulations @liverpool-fan! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 94000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 95000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

Women's World Cup Contest - Recap of day 4
Women's World Cup Contest - Check your ranking!
Women's World Cup Contest - Recap of the third day