Who is Grindan?

in Throwback Thursday5 months ago

Screenshot (13).png

This colorful fantasy landscape met the world in 1996; to me that is mind-blowing...

The game it comes from is called Heroes of Might and Magic 3. It has a lot of roots in my life, including the selection of my screen name on Hive! In 1996 I was a kid, and I had my own PC computer. Back then, the monitors were nearly as big as I was.

TT1.jpg
Small me around this time, rocking the blue glitter shoes.
It wasn't that I come from some moneybags family or something, I had a computer because my dad is a nerd.

When he replaced his computer, I received his old one. I can only assume that his hope in setting me up a desk next to his was more gaming time.

He played Heroes tournaments with people from around the world, and I celebrated each battle I won offline on easy mode.


I guess it was destiny that I'd grow up to be a big ole dork too.At that age I liked the Rampart faction, whose armies are populated by Elves, Unicorns, and Centaurs.

Screenshot (15).png
I almost exclusively played as this town for many years. I liked to read fantasy books, to follow the hero as they slay monsters and demons.

HMM3 let me play those ideas out, vanquishing skeletons and manticores across Erathia.

I didn't keep playing computer games as I grew up. I began to prefer tabletop games and console gaming, but I've always returned to Heroes of Might and Magic 3.

As time went on, I branched out into other factions. I began to like The Conflux town the most. Shown in my first photo, it is a city of elementals. Here you will find everything from slithering water elementals, to psychic elementals who strike out with their minds.

Screenshot (16).png

The Conflux is also the home of Grindan, a clever Dwarven mage. Maybe Grindan is the reason I've often played Dwarves throughout the years. I had a D&D character for a long while that was not unlike him, that fella carried an enchanted sword and called lightning from the sky too.

He's not much to look at, but this is the guy himself. Why is he so small?! Cut me some slack, he's traveled all the way from 1996 to say hi to you, and he's doing his best! Heh, and also if I make it any larger, he will just be pixels. Nostolgia 😂

Screenshot (10).png

Admittedly, Grindan wasn't my first choice. (Sorry bud...)

Some slacker took the name gelu in 2017 though, and never used the dang account! Gelu is an archer from HMM3 that trains a special troop called sharpshooters, and was the first name I tried. The second name I tried was @grindan, and here I am!

Screenshot (12).png


There are so many times in my life that I wandered with no plan, little to no funds in my pockets. Somehow, I was always able to find just what I needed when I needed it in those times. I had faith in the universe, and the universe always pulled through.

I relate to Grindan in this way, because one of his special skills is that he finds a small amount of gold everyday. This is possible because of his connection to the earth.

He communes with the ground to slow his enemies, pulls matter together to implode foes, teleports across the earth to hasten travel... I can do none of that obviously, but I like to think I have a similar amount of gumption when facing life's issues. I find "gold" all the time in harmony with nature.

fullgrindan.png

This is from a recent game, roughly from the halfway point. Here I've beefed Grindan up. He's learned a town portal spell, and thanks to his expert earth magic, he's skating across the map shredding folks with just those phoenixes.

I downloaded the game from the GoG site several weeks back for the grand sum for 2$, and I've been enjoying revisiting it yet again. The last time I had much time to play was roughly 2 years ago, when my son was still a little guy.

TT2.jpg

This snap is from two winters ago. Emory still liked to sleep on me for several hours of the day back then, so I'd play HMM3 on my laptop while he slept.

From my childhood to the birth of my own children, this game is laced into my memories in one way or another. It was fun to reminisce on the ways this game impacted my life in a small way, and to share the story behind the name Grindan!

footer.png
Photos are my own. Screenshots come from the game Heroes of Might and Magic 3, made by 3DO.
Sort:  

Well met @grindan, good to see you out and about a little more frequently these days.

!PIMP
!LUV
!PGM

grindan, enginewitty sent you LUV. 🙂 (1/4) tools | trade | connect | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.


You must be killin' it out here!
@enginewitty just slapped you with 1.000 PIMP, @grindan.
You earned 1.000 PIMP for the strong hand.
They're getting a workout and slapped 1/4 possible people today.

pimp_logo


Read about some PIMP Shit or Look for the PIMP District

Sent 0.1 PGM - 0.1 LVL- 1 STARBITS - 0.05 DEC - 1 SBT - 0.1 THG - 0.000001 SQM - 0.1 BUDS - 0.01 WOO - 0.005 SCRAP - 0.001 INK tokens

remaining commands 9

BUY AND STAKE THE PGM TO SEND A LOT OF TOKENS!

The tokens that the command sends are: 0.1 PGM-0.1 LVL-0.1 THGAMING-0.05 DEC-15 SBT-1 STARBITS-[0.00000001 BTC (SWAP.BTC) only if you have 2500 PGM in stake or more ]

5000 PGM IN STAKE = 2x rewards!

image.png
Discord image.png

Support the curation account @ pgm-curator with a delegation 10 HP - 50 HP - 100 HP - 500 HP - 1000 HP

Get potential votes from @ pgm-curator by paying in PGM, here is a guide

I'm a bot, if you want a hand ask @ zottone444


Why did I read "Well met" in the voice from oblivion? Ahahaha, did you play that game? Speaking of cool games, that game ROCKED !LOLZ

It's been making me stupid happy to be writing more again, good for the heart! 💃🎉💚🤗

!LUV !PIZZA !PIMP


You must be killin' it out here!
@grindan just slapped you with 5.000 PIMP, @enginewitty.
You earned 5.000 PIMP for the strong hand.
They're getting a workout and slapped 2/2 possible people today.

pimp_logo


Read about some PIMP Shit or Look for the PIMP District

What a lovely story you trusted us with, thank you very much.

Ps: I never played these games yet I love fantasy and SciFi books !LOLZ

@tipu curate

I would like to thank my fingers.
I can always count on them

Credit: reddit
@grindan, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of ervin-lemark

(1/1)
Delegate Hive Tokens to Farm $LOLZ and earn 110% Rewards. Learn more.

I'm so glad you enjoyed it! 🤗 I'm not sure if I like reading fantasy more, or acting it out in my mind by gaming or writing a fiction story myself... Tough toss up hehe

Thanks for this awesome comment! I hope you're having a great weekend 😁 !LUV !PIZZA

ervin-lemark, grindan sent you LUV. 🙂 (1/4) tools | trade | connect | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.

Happy Thursday! It makes me happy that you bring this story to the community because really Heroes of Might and Magic 3 has marked your life since childhood, I love people who are true to their tastes and passions, I'm the same, it applies to things and people 😅

Beyond how much you love it is nice how everything was born from a sharing of time between you and your dad, and now that you have played with your baby so close it is likely to repeat a similar story, and that is beautiful. It's a pity that some fool took the username Gela, but definitely Grindan was your destiny... Loved reading your #tbt my dear! ✌️

Staying true to your tastes and passions is where it's at for sure! When you appreciate something your whole life, you will continue to find new things in it I think 😁

Thanks for this awesome comment! It makes me smile to think of my kids growing up and playing HMM3 as well- I sure hope that dream comes true!

Wishing you a beautiful week 💚

Such a cool story behind your name, it's awesome that it can continue to spark memories for you and keep your fire alive! I wish my name had such a meaning, however, I feel I've taken on the Sloth role rather well so maybe it is as fitting!

!PIZZA

It's cool to have roots behind your name, but I also think it's cool to pick something you find nifty and celebrate it! I like how you've kinda branded your name on Hive, you def have one of the more unique screen names here 😎

Thanks for checking out my post 😁

!PIMP !PIZZA


You must be killin' it out here!
@grindan just slapped you with 1.000 PIMP, @slothlydoesit.
You earned 1.000 PIMP for the strong hand.
They're getting a workout and slapped 1/2 possible people today.

pimp_logo


Read about some PIMP Shit or Look for the PIMP District

I think that's one of the selling points of Hive, anyone can brand themselves and grow their name/community. We're all doing it by gaining followers and creating content people enjoy reading. Looking forward to more awesome content soon!

I'm glad my name is starting to stick, I'll have y'all #slothbuzz'in soon
!SLOTH

!PIZZA !PIMP


You must be killin' it out here!
@slothlydoesit just slapped you with 1.000 PIMP, @grindan.
You earned 1.000 PIMP for the strong hand.
They're getting a workout and slapped 1/1 possible people today.

pimp_logo


Read about some PIMP Shit or Look for the PIMP District

@grindan! Your post is buzzing, you were tipped 0.01 SLOTHBUZZ on behalf of @slothlydoesit.
Learn more about the SLOTHBUZZ Token at Sloth.Buzz and consider sharing your post there or using the #slothbuzz next time

(1/5)

I think faith is a very important aspect in our lives. There are so many times when I’m left with nothing too but I felt giving up was never an option so it is better to have faith
Being optimistic helps a lot!

Absolutely!! Having faith and moving forward no matter what are so valuable in life. 💚 It's cool to hear this type of thinking has served you well too!

Hello friend, what a great experience and above all to have the opportunity to spend a lot of time with your father and in that way create great bonds and all through games, which looks incredible and will take a lot of time for each of the things. Now your little one will have to learn and in this way continue with the experience and good memories of that great game. Excellent.

It truly is wonderful to have the bond of gaming with my dad! I hope you are right, and my kiddos will also have a love for gaming and all things nerdy 💚

Thanks for stopping by and leaving this nice comment 😁

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
grindan tipped slothlydoesit
@slothlydoesit(1/5) tipped @grindan (x2)
grindan tipped ervin-lemark
grindan tipped enginewitty