Reading journal

in Lifestyle3 months ago

DSCF9706.jpg


Since I got into journaling, I realized that having physical books over digital is a lot better for me. I got books that I bought in the last few months and I still haven't read them all and they just kept on piling up like another chore to do. 😅

Growing up, I never really had a good study habit since I didn't really care much about my school grades nor the actual learning itself. I just had to force myself to pass the subjects since I have to maintain a grade for a scholarship and also since who wants to fail a subject and do it all over again? I've always more interested in the random activities we do than the lectures... so study habits? Nothing. I only study when there's an upcoming exam and I usually do it a few hours before the actual test itself.

Back to the present, reading books have not been easy for me. Sure when there's a novel that I really like I can immerse myself on that but nowadays I find myself just zoning out a lot of times despite me being interested in the book.. So I found that reading journals are a good idea.



DSCF9707.jpg

Other people have a reading journal to record what they've read in a year or something... maybe put their reviews and their thoughts on them. But for me, the purpose of this journal is more like a study journal.



DSCF9708.jpg

I have the books that I wanted to read and learn in the big menu. Of course that has to have a picture since I always forget the books that I have when I'm not actively seeing it... so having this spread helps remind me that they actually exist on my bookshelf lol.

A lot of these books I have bought in a big book sale in our city back in December. Some of them were like $4 each (brand new) and they were really a great deal so we couldn't just not buy them.

I have art books that I want to read since I want to get inspired and also learn more of art history. Then psychology and physiology books since I like them. :D

I also have novels but I decided not to put them here since my purpose for this one is to study and learn - for fiction there isn't much to remember about.



DSCF9715.jpg

I just write the key points that I want to remember since I remember them so easily when I write them at the same time. :D

This book is about visual thinkers that is so interesting to me cos I know I am one. Which is basically why using this journal works too lol. I also recently had a Stanford Binet IQ test and I scored the highest on visual-processing which confirms my observation of myself as good with pattern recognition. :P

This reading journal will serve as my source for knowledge that I want to just look back on easily as well as inspiration for literature and ideas.

Sort:  

It's a nice book with calm colours...

I wanna read it too😂😂😂😂

Loving the book so far. :D Really fun and relieving to know that it's okay not to be good at math or verbal instructions cos some brains just work differently.

I love this idea! And tbh, I do much the same thing; I just do it digitally. But yours is much prettier!

Of course that has to have a picture since I always forget the books that I have when I'm not actively seeing it...

This is brilliant. I have books that I've owned for...over a decade, at least, that still haven't gotten read because I'm always looking for the next new shiny. I need to find a way to do this (though as above, it'll probably be digital). 😁 Thank you for sharing, and for sharing this idea in particular!

!PIMP
!PIZZA

that still haven't gotten read because I'm always looking for the next new shiny

Wow that's a different level of procrastination hahah! New books really just smell different... Digital doesn't work for me but glad it is for you. They're so convenient most of the time. Glad to have shared an idea. :D


You must be killin' it out here!
@willendorfia just slapped you with 1.000 PIMP, @hiddenblade.
You earned 1.000 PIMP for the strong hand.
They're getting a workout and slapped 1/2 possible people today.

pimp_logo


Read about some PIMP Shit or Look for the PIMP District

Love your reading journal spread!

Back in college, I made a reading journal to keep track of all the books I had to read. Having a physical reading journal is really useful, I tried Goodreads and Notion to keep track of my to-read list but I keep forgetting them. If it's out of my sight, it's out of my mind too 🤣

I’m in a reading slump but this might be a sign to get back into it.

Same!! Haha I also had Goodnotes for planners but I really just keep on forgetting them and I hate the way the glass and pen feels when writing. With digital you have to really commit on making the habit to check every hour otherwise we just forget lol.

It's a great idea, and probably helps you actually take in the information much better, but I could never do it 😂. My wife is all about writing lists and organizing her thoughts, and it helps her so much, it helps me too but I'm way more of a just go for it type. Plus I mostly read sci fi and fiction anyhow. I totally get wanting real books though, I just can't do the digital books for some reason. I've bought and sold small libraries over the years as we've moved countries. The only thing that has drawn me to consider something like a kindle is that it gets expensive buying books all the time, and they can be a pain to get rid of when you can't take them with you. Still, I just love reading paper for some reason.

Yeah with fiction maybe you don't really need to write down unless you really want to keep track of your current thoughts about the book.. reading novels feels like watching a movie so they can come and go from the memory haha. Same with kindle. I mean it's a nice idea to have something you can just open from your phone or the kindle whenever but there's just so much things to consider when you do it like your battery life, notifications, etc etc. So many distractions compared to just reading them from the book. We also don't know what to do with the books once we start moving somewhere, I guess we'll try selling them on Facebook haha

Not even the distractions of the phone and all that, but I also enjoy the feel of the paper. There is a tactile connection with physical books that you just don't get with digital. I've even heard rumours that super rich elite types won't let their kids have smart phones and tablets and that elite schools use paper books because your brain is able to take in the information better from physical print. Not really sure if that's real or not but I know I get way more out of physical books. As for getting rid of them, yeah sell on Facebook marketplace or whatever your local buy/sell thing is, it's worked well for me in the past, but really depends on the book. Obscure stuff is hard to sell, but you could always try used book stores, I've had success with that as well.

Beautiful.

Other people have a reading journal to record what they've read in a year or something

Would be helpful for me. But I am not the type who is able to do that. There would be all sorts of mess: tilted jumping writings (half the words crossed out), ugly drawings (half of them crossed out), and I would tear out some of the pages in the most disgraceful manner in order to dry pumpkin seeds or orange peels on them. Then, one day, I would find this journal under the bed, with a great surprise in my eyes. Covered with several layers of dust, squashed as if someone (me) stepped on it several times...

having physical books over digital is a lot better for me

Love "wooden-ness" of books. Love the texture of pages. You don't have to read them, it's enough to know "that's a good book and I hold it in my hand" - that feeling alone is warm and curing.

But... prices for new books aren't warm at all. :D

Recently, I bought three used books 0.6$ each (20 baht) from a street seller in Bangkok. In used book shops, English books cost 10 times more. Happy :)

Totally agree with you. Same with holding a pen and feeling it as you glide it on the paper.. best if it's a really good gel pen lol. Ahh that's why a lot of English books are expensive there, didn't consider the language at all.

We bought most of our books in Big Bad Wolf, I think there’s one in Thailand too. We also have a second hand books that are cheap here but problem is most are old ones and not sorted

Love your clean setup. How I wish I could get over my reading slump and finally read my pile of books too. Keep writing and reading 🫰

Thank you! :D

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@willendorfia(1/10) tipped @hiddenblade

You have a beautiful handwriting. Writing notes by hand is a great idea and it's always better than typing on a computer or a mobile phone. They say that writing by hand helps in retaining information better. You can always refer back to the key points or biggest takeaways from books anytime.