My new life as an intern 👩‍🔧 (Eng/Esp)

in Lifestyle14 days ago

My Vibe - 09.05.24.png

version ingles.png

Greetings to all members of this lovely community and to anyone who has stopped to read my post. Today, I want to share with you how exciting my journey as an intern has been in the last 2 months.

I am a naval engineering student, and one of the requirements to obtain my degree is to write a report on my professional internship. Therefore, I have to do my internship in a place related to the career I am studying. The university assigned me to an administrative institution to carry out my professional internship, but after several conversations, some classmates and I were assigned to different shipyards.

IMG_20240417_102444.jpg

In my case, I was transferred to Marino Shipyard, located on the outskirts of my city. Currently, this shipyard is constructing 3 vessels belonging to the national "TAP" (Transporte Acuático de Pasajeros / Water Transport for Passengers) project.

IMG_20240422_074901.jpg

I have had the opportunity to interact with naval engineers working in different areas of the field. Some design, others are involved in parts modification and supervision, and some carry out inspections on the vessels that are already in the water.

I was assigned to participate in the measurement of paint thickness on one of the assembled ships. It was an easy but time-consuming task. The machine used to measure the paint thickness on the surface of the ship is the size of my hand, and that paint had to be measured every centimeter of the ship 😱. It took four days to complete this task since it had to be done not only on the outside but also in passenger rooms, engine rooms... I thought it would be more fun 🤣.

1cea266d-d936-43dd-9176-3239bdf934f1.jpg

IMG_20240417_135629.jpg

I felt like I was in the Sahara Desert while measuring the paint. They were sandblasting the ship, and I was covered in sand 🤣. I think I never come home as full of sand even when I go to the beach. The funniest part was when my shoes got stuck because of the sand they were spraying on the ship 🤣, the builders were resourceful and helped me. I still have the shoes taped up in my house.

ab8c2cc7-da98-4404-9e36-018acb1b8110.jpg

IMG_20240422_111058.jpg

For now, all the activities I have performed haven't been too demanding, but I was warned that when they finish painting the entire ship, that's when the real work begins. I'm a bit scared, hahaha.

Despite being an intern and being in a place where people have known each other for a long time, and I am a stranger to them, I feel welcomed here. People are kind and always willing to answer my questions when I have doubts. The only challenging part of doing my internship at this shipyard is that activities start at 7 in the morning 😆. Waking up early is not my thing.

IMG_20240503_124523.jpg

I don't have much time left here, but I hope to continue learning and experiencing new and exciting things.

Thank you for reading 💗

Text and images: @valentina23

Cover made in Landing

separador ingles 3.png

parte blanca.png

My Vibe - 09.05.24.png

versión en español.png

Un cordial saludo a todos los miembros de esta linda comunidad y a todo aquel que se haya detenido a leer mi publicación. Hoy vengo a compartirles lo emocionante que ha sido mi camino como pasante en los últimos 2 meses.

Soy estudiante de ingeniería naval, y uno de los requisitos para poder optar por el título es hacer un informe de prácticas profesionales, por lo que debo hacer mis pasantías en un lugar relacionado con la carrera que estoy estudiando. La universidad me asignó una institución administrativa para realizar las prácticas profesionales, pero luego de varias conversaciones unos compañeros y yo fuimos distribuidos a distintos astilleros.

IMG_20240417_102444.jpg

En mi caso fui trasladada a Marino Astillero Dique Varadero, ubicado a las afueras de mi ciudad. Actualmente en este astillero se está llevando a cabo la construcción de 3 buques pertenecientes al proyecto nacional TAP (Transporte Acuático de Pasajeros).

IMG_20240422_074901.jpg

He tenido la oportunidad de interactuar con ingenieros navales que se desempeñan en distintas áreas de la materia, unos diseñan, otros se dedican a la modificación de piezas y supervisión, algunos van a realizar inspecciones en las embarcaciones que ya están en el agua.

A mi me tocó participar en la medición de pintura en uno de los barcos que ya está ensamblado, fue una tarea fácil pero tardía, la maquina con que se realiza la medición del espesor de la pintura sobre la superficie del buque es del tamaño de mi mano, y esa pintura se debía medio en cada centímetro del barco 😱, tomó cuatro días terminar esta tarea, ya que no solo era por la parte de afuera, también se debía de hacer en sala de pasajeros, sala de máquinas... pensaba que iba a ser más divertido 🤣.

1cea266d-d936-43dd-9176-3239bdf934f1.jpg

IMG_20240417_135629.jpg

Me sentía en el desierto de Sahara mientras medía la pintura, estaban bañando con arena el barco y me caía toda encima 🤣, creo que ni cuando voy a la playa llego tan llena de arena a la casa. Lo mas gracioso de todo fue cuando mis zapatos se despegaron por la arena con la que estaban rociando el barco 🤣, los albañiles fueron ingeniosos y me ayudaron. Aún tengo los zapatos en casa con la cinta adhesiva.

ab8c2cc7-da98-4404-9e36-018acb1b8110.jpg

IMG_20240422_111058.jpg

Por los momentos todas las actividades que he realizado no han sido rudas, pero ya me advirtieron que cuando terminen de pintar el barco por completo es que viene lo bueno. Tengo miedito jajajajaja.

A pesar de ser pasante y estar en un lugar donde las personas llevan mucho tiempo conociéndose y yo ser una persona extraña para ello, me siento bienvenida aquí, las personas son amables y no dudan en contestar mis preguntas cuando tengo una duda. La única parte difícil de hacer mis pasantías en este astillero es que las actividades comienzan a las 7 de la mañana 😆, levantarme temprano no es lo mío.

IMG_20240503_124523.jpg

No me queda mucho tiempo aquí, espero seguir aprendiendo y vivir nuevas y emocionantes experiencias.

Gracias por leer 💗

Texto e imágenes: @valentina23

Traducción al español: @valentina23

separador español 3.png

Sort:  

So nice to see a post about a shipyard and actual vessels. I have a history of shipping. A long long time ago, I lived on a boat, when I was a kid, before school took me hostage, so to speak 😅

Darn, 4 days of measuring the paint thickness. Is this a common job? For all vessels being build/painted? I would think the paint is sprayed? When measure at more or less random spots, assuming the painter knows what he/she is doing, it'll be good enough? You happen to know the reasons why they do it like you had to do it? 4 Days: not only boring, but must have been tiering as well.

Great to read the peeps you work with are so kind and friendly. Always love it when a team is like that, especially when newcomers have to work with them. Looking forward to what is next at the shipyard?

In the meantime, NJOY the upcoming weekend as much as possible 🙂

Truth be told, I don't know if there is another method to measure the thickness of the paint, but yes, this method is exhausting.Maybe they keep doing it like this because the boss is stingy 🤣. In this case, they didn't use spray paint because in previous projects they realized that the product loss margin is considerable (even though the finish is much better).

I'm a bit scared of what might happen next week hahaha, but it's all part of the process.

Owww Really? They did the paint and roller thingy? Uhm
Well NJOY the few free days then in anticipation of what is coming to you next 🙂

May you be very successful in your internship ✨.... Fear is normal, the good thing is that from what you describe, people are open to teach others!!! so take advantage of it! Learn a lot. Happy day ☀️...

I think sometimes they think I'm a bit annoying, but I'm still not going to stop feeding my curiosity, hehehehe. Also happy day for u 2 😘