Beer Saturday : Jolly Pumpkin Bam Bière

in BEER2 years ago

PXL_20221023_010428754.jpg

Oh yeah. Oh yeah! For this week's #beersaturday, I found an old favorite of mine from Jolly Pumpkin...a real old favorite. Years ago, when I got into my wild yeast kick, this one was a favorite of mine. One of my favorite beer bars in the area used to feature Jolly Pumpkin on tap. It was pricey but so good...so good. Not the heavy Flemish sour taste, but more the creamy, light wild taste that doesn't give me heartburn.

PXL_20221023_010331420.jpg


PXL_20221023_010340674.jpg

How did I stumble upon this treasure today? Well, as fate would have it, a new Hy-Vee grocery store opened up in the area the past week. I knew it had a wine and spirits department to it, and headed out there this afternoon to check out their inventory. As luck would have it, I found the Bam.

PXL_20221023_010432555.jpg


PXL_20221023_010447043.jpg

This is the perfect sour beer. If you haven't had a sour before, grab this one if you can. It's not over to the top, it's delicious and low in alcohol at 4.5% ABV. What a session beer it is!

PXL_20221023_010504337.MP.jpg

I still need a haircut. At least Hattie's spider lights are doing there thing in the window behind me. We don't mess around come Halloween time.

So what was tonight's base for tonight's Jolly Pumpkin? Bratwursts, of course!

PXL_20221022_223401976.MP.jpg

The three darker brats are a beef and pork mix (very good). The lighter brats are Bavarian weisswurst. It's a mix of veal and pork, and although very good, I must say there were a bit dry due to a lack of fat. Next time, I'll keep it pork all the way.

PXL_20221022_223820749.jpg

All in all, it was a great day and a wonderful #beersaturday. I hope everyone had a fantastic Saturday too - until next weekend!

Sort:  

Hell yeah Sagebrother. Looks good 👍

Cheers to a good beer, and take it a day at a time.

!BEER

Manually curated by EwkaW from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

100% pork bratwurst is the way to go for sure. I still need to remember to stop at a beer and wine specialty store to find some new bottles to try, and I'd enjoy a lambic style like this, I think.

It was a good old farm ale, for sure. I love the Belgian stuff when it's not over the top.

I think I could eat pork brats every day for the rest of my life...I'd just need kraut and mustard for sides