Some morning fishing and afternoon beers on #Beersaturday

in BEERlast year

I have been luck enought to live and grow up a few blocks from Lake Chabot in Castro Valley, California. As kids my brother, our friends, and I were always at the lake. We rode bicycles, hiked, fished, jogged the trails, and camped at the lake.

Now that my brother and I are older and moved further from the lake we don't get by the lake as much. We do still enjoy fishing the lake so I was excited that my brother called me Friday night and asked if I was doing anything in the morning, becuase his 14 year old son wanted to go fishing.


this photo is from https://www.alltrails.com/parks/us/california/lake-chabot-regional-park This photo shows a small portion of the lake and how beautiful it usually is.

We arrived at Lake Chabot around 7 AM which is when the Marina opens to rent boats. It was a cold morning covered by fog but we rented a small electric motor fishing boat and headed out.

As you can see from the above picture, due to the fog this morning the lake did not resemble it's normal beauty. I was just happy to be on the lake with my brother and his son. My brother and I didn't catch anything that morning but my brothers son caught a small trout and a small bass.

After a few hours we headed in and returned to my house for a few beers. I started by having a Keg Slayer double dry hopped IPA from Cooperage Brewing Company in Santa Rosa, California.

Keg Slayer is a typical IPA that pours a clear golden color. I seem to go back and forth with wether I like the clear or hazy versions of the IPA. Right now it seems I enjoy the clearer pouring versions better and this was a good example. The beer comes in a 7% ABV and easy drinking. The beer is brewed with standard IPA hops Mosaic, Simcoe and Citra. The Cooperagge Brewing Company seems to be a small brewery and this was my first beer from them. I must say I enjoyed it.

Since it was a cold day with the fog burning away later in the day then usual we started up the firepit and jumped into the next beer.

This time I had a Fall River Brewing Company Hex IPA. I didn't realize until writting this post that these beers had a fishing theme and fit with our morning fishing trip. Fall River Brewing is located in Redding, California and I seem to like most of their beers that I have tried. A few weeks ago I had their Widowmaker which is 10.2% ABV which is typical for a double IPA but is very crisp which is a little surpising. There double IPA was one of the best I have had. But today it's all about Hex. The Hex comes in at 7.1% ABV and as I have found previously Fall River Brewing doesn't advertise what hops are in their beers. However, this is another clear golden pouring IPA with a little more malt flavor then most IPA's. It was another great beer from Fall River Brewing.

Okay, my last beer for the day was a purchase because I thought the can looked interesting. I wasn't sure what to expect, I usually do not like fruity flavored beers and this one was called Blueberry Muffin by Great Notion Brewing in Portland, Oregon. It said on the can that it was aTart Ale so I gave it a shot. I was pleasantly suprised, I actually like it. It is one of those beers that once you have one that is enough for the day but still very good. So the beer was 6% ABV and flavored with blueberries. It still had a beer flavor with a gentle natural tasting blueberry along with a bready muffin. Definitely had that tartness that you would expect but well balanced.


If you enjoy the great BEERS of this world check out the Beer community and join the #BeerSaturday Challenge.

The Challenge
It's very simple: share YOUR STORY about one of your favourite beer.

This is your chance to blog about beer, earn tokens, and why not use them to buy another beer for the next challenge.

The Prizes
This week, we will give away 14 HIVE - 16 BEER - 2 LEO - 500 Ecency

You may also get some upvotes from us and our sponsors on your posts and comments as a bonus!

Hope everyone has a great week and Hope to see your posts on the #BeerSaturday Challenge

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Nice to see that you could go fishing at the lake with your brother and his son again. Though I don't fish, I like when we go to a lake so I leave my husband and son in that activity and I go walking in the forest ;))

The beers you had indeed perfectly fit the morning fishing trip. 😃

Thanks, Yes wether you fish, hike, or just enjoy the scenery, going to any lake is enjoyable.

!BEER
!PGM

Sent 0.1 PGM - 0.1 LVL- 1 STARBITS - 0.05 DEC - 1 SBT - 0.1 THG - 0.000001 SQM - 0.1 BUDS - 0.01 WOO tokens

remaining commands 1

BUY AND STAKE THE PGM TO SEND A LOT OF TOKENS!

The tokens that the command sends are: 0.1 PGM-0.1 LVL-0.1 THGAMING-0.05 DEC-15 SBT-1 STARBITS-[0.00000001 BTC (SWAP.BTC) only if you have 2500 PGM in stake or more ]

5000 PGM IN STAKE = 2x rewards!

image.png
Discord image.png

Support the curation account @ pgm-curator with a delegation 10 HP - 50 HP - 100 HP - 500 HP - 1000 HP

Get potential votes from @ pgm-curator by paying in PGM, here is a guide

I'm a bot, if you want a hand ask @ zottone444


 last year  

Hey @mipiano, here is a little bit of BEER from @scoutroc for you. Enjoy it!

Did you know that <a href='https://dcity.io/cityyou can use BEER at dCity game to buy cards to rule the world.

Congratulations @scoutroc! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 4750 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 5000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Day - June 1st 2023

Congratulations @scoutroc! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day!
Wait until the end of Power Up Day to find out the size of your Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Month Challenge - May 2023 Winners List
Be ready for the June edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Unveiling the Exclusive Web3 Berlin Conference Badge. HiveBuzz Adds a Touch of Excitement!

Congratulations @scoutroc! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 100 HP on Hive Power Up Day! This entitles you to a level 3 badge
Participate in the next Power Up Day and try to power-up more HIVE to get a bigger Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Month Challenge - May 2023 Winners List
Be ready for the June edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Unveiling the Exclusive Web3 Berlin Conference Badge. HiveBuzz Adds a Touch of Excitement!

Congratulations @scoutroc! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 150 LEO on Leo Power Up Day!
Thank you for participating in the Leo challenge.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - June 15, 2023