Visiting the Harmonious Town of Borbon

in Hive PH2 months ago

blog7 picture1.jpg

What’s up Hive! It is me again @diamondinthesky. How are you today? I hope you are doing well. I would like to share to you my visit in the harmonious town of the Municipality of Borbon, in the northern part of Cebu. It is between the town of the Municipality of Sogod and the town of the Municipality of Tabogon. My mother has an appointment at the Municipal Circuit Trial Court (MCTC), Branch 5 located at the Local Government Unit (LGU) building in Poblacion, Borbon. She is already old, but very full of energy and I cannot afford to just let her travel and go to the place alone especially now that we have a very high heat index. So, I decided to accompany her in her appointment.

blog7 picture2.jpg

After the agenda, I let her sit down under the shades near the municipal office where people can see her and I ask permission from her if I can roaming around the town and take photographs of the area before going home.

blog7 picture3.jpg

I really missed the town because when I was in high school way back 2004 to 2008, I always joined the Silmugi Festival of our school and the contest was always held in the center of Borbon which is the Poblacion. I live in Tabogon, but I study high school in Tabunan. It is one of the barangays of Borbon which near the boundary of Tabogon and Borbon. I live on the border, that is why it is more convenient and accessible for me to study in the secondary school of Tabunan, Borbon than the secondary school of Tabogon. Most of my high school friends are from Borbon.

blog7 picture4.jpg

Borbon belongs to the fifth Legislative District in the Province of Cebu. It is composed of barangays. I do not know exactly how many barangays in the municipality, but the following are the barangays that I knew because I have visited some of the place way back high school and also heard about it from my classmates.
1.) Tagnucan
2.) Tabunan
3.) Cadaruhan
4.)Poblacion
5.) Bongdo
6.) Campusong
7.) Binggay
8.) Sagay
9.) Lugo
10.) Bagacay
11.) Bongoyan
12.) Managase

blog7 picture5.jpg

I have been to Bagacay when I was still in high school. My classmates named Nice, Jasmine, and Jade who live there invited us to visit their place. We just walk going there and it is really too far from the high way. I could not imagine the path that my classmates take every weekday in going to school and going home by just walking. When we arrive in their house, their parents prepare us a delicious food to eat. It is really remote, but it is worth it. The place is really amazing. You can only see trees, flowers, and mountains. The air is fresh and the surroundings are so serene and quite. The local people are so friendly and hospitable.

blog7 picture8.jpg

I have been to Cadaruhan, Campusong, and Binggay when I was in high school, celebrating fiesta because I have a lot of classmates who live from there.

blog7 picture6.jpg

The town celebrated its annual fiesta every 20th of January in honor of San Sebastian the Martyr, their patron saint. Their church has a unique design and architecture. It has a wide ground, surrounded with trees and ornamental plants. It is where the Silmugi Festival was held before.

blog7 picture7.jpg

It is located on the top part of the town where you can see the houses, government and private establishment, the market, the municipal offices, and the Silmugi river.

blog7 picture16.jpg
The ocean connected to Silmugi river

The Festival is a celebration in honor of the town’s patron saint. I honestly do not know the history of the Silmugi Festival, however, as far as I could remember the festival was coined from the Silmugi river of Borbon which is the borderline of barangay Poblacion and barangay Cadaruhan. According to my classmate who lives nearby the river, it is where the local people do their business trades like a farmer’s market.

However, the town’s Silmugi Festival was changed by the Tuba Festival. Tuba means “coconut wine”. The different barangays of Borbon have a lot of coconuts and produces a large production of coconut wine. Their town is known for generating a good taste and delicious coconut wine.

I really like to listen to the town’s jingle, the tuba festival. It expresses the bounty harvest and the good taste of coconut wine in the municipality.

blog7 picture18.jpg

Tuba is a local wine in the Philippines which came from the juice of the coconut’s flower. The farmers climb the tree and cut the coconut sheath (Takong) that wrap around the coconut flower, and then they tied a container on the coconut sheath called Sungguhan to collect the juice. The farmers will just left the container on the top of the tree and come back another day.

blog7 picture19.jpg

I tried to drink it and it is sweet. The farmers put a tanbark which we called Tungog on the juice that they collected to ferment the sap. The juice will turn into orange color. The longer the juice being stock, the more it is fermented. It is the favorite drink of the local people and it is always present in every occasion. It is also used to make vinegar.

Coconut Wine or Tuba is one of the signatures of our country.

blog7 picture9.jpg

The town’s Christmas decoration always catch my attention every time I passed by the center of the municipality. The design of the giant Christmas tree is so exceptional and attractive. I have not seen a design before just like the Christmas decoration in Borbon.

blog7 picture10.jpg

My mother asks me to take picture on her in front of the gigantic Christmas tree.

blog7 picture11.jpg

After taking pictures of her, we went to the market of Borbon to buy meat and ingredients.

blog7 picture12.jpg

We also dropped by in the Happy House Doughnut to buy some doughnuts and munchkins for my son, nephews, and nieces.

blog7 picture13.jpg

The market of the town is just near the municipal fire office and the Disaster Risk Reduction Management Office (DRRMO).

blog7 picture15.jpg

The view at the back of the market

blog7 picture14.jpg

There is a newly constructed Government building on the side of the market.

blog7 picture17.jpg

I take picture of the ocean while riding a bus going home.

Thank you so much for reading. Please upvote and reblog. Thank you 😊

Sort:  

Woow tuba in Borbon!! Do they have Different taste of tuba from our tuba here in Tabogon mam?

It taste good Ma'am @jobeliever just like the taste of tuba in our town. However, there town produces a bounty harvest of tuba because most of the source of income of the local farmers are more on harvesting and selling tuba.

Pwede na pang.promote sa tourism ma'am @diamondinthesky ☺️.

☺️ thank you Ma'am @fixyetbroken
I was surprised and amazed on the cleanliness, the ambiance, and the peacefulness of the town of Borbon Ma'am @fixyetbroken

Yes ma'am @diamondinthesky as I look at the pictures, I remember Tabogon is used to be like that.

Congratulations @diamondinthesky! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 250 HP as payout for your posts, comments and curation.
Your next payout target is 500 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because post and comment rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

I cannot thank you enough @hivebuzz
I am surprised and grateful of the new badge.You inspired me to continue writing and publish Genuine content.

You're welcome @diamondinthesky. Looking forward to you reaching your new target 😅

What a lovely place @diamondinthesky,I wonder if the tuba in Borbon have different taste of tuba in our place here in colon?.

You're absolutely right Ma'am @memwuai
The town is peaceful and lovely. I wish you can visit the town. Borbon also have beautiful beach resorts that you and your friends or family can visit and unwind in affordable price. I think the tuba in your place Ma'am just have the same taste in Borbon Ma'am Makahubog ☺️

Wowww! What a beautiful Municipality you have there, ma’am @diamondinthesky

Thank you so much Ma'am @reshychannn for the appreciation. The town is truly beautiful, but I do not live there Ma'am. Borbon is the neighbor of my hometown Tabogon.

Nice view! I want to try the tuba! 🤩✨️

I hope you will have time to visit the Municipality of Borbon Ma'am @xanreo
They also have lots of resort and you will surely enjoy there with your family or friends and also the tuba 😊