You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Living the Matrix | Are We Living A Simulated Reality?

in Hive PH11 months ago

"You always stay late, I saw in the news there are a lot of hold-dapper and might rob you." I always hear that term from her "I saw it in the news..", now remember she's the one watching, I'm the one experiencing the outside world.

:D Ha Ha, very good!

I think we humans are too focused on each other, we have this morality game going on where everyone is better than the other. You are now "better" because you give up your device for a few days, others are "better" because they no longer eat meat, still others are because they help the "poor" or take care of the "really big and important things in life". This "I am better than you" thing, this "I have recognised reality and the others have not", that is an exceedingly strange behaviour and it indicates to me that we Christian-educated people are still very deeply rooted in the moralism that came out of it.

I am old enough today to see that I often behaved in the same way, for example I was proud to have thrown out my TV about twenty years ago (but had internet, LOL). My looks and gestures spoke contemptuous volumes when I walked into living rooms where the huge flat screens hung on the walls and everyone could be sure I would leave some subtle or overt comment. I gave up flying since 2011 because I supposedly wanted to protect the environment (I actually cared a lot at the time and it gave me a sense of moral satisfaction to reduce my carbon footprint), I bought second hand long before it became a trend and my wishes that people would behave similarly to me are now the called spirits. I was very convinced by the "green movement" and the brave "nuclear power-no-thank-you!" disciples who chained themselves to fences even back then.
Television has always done exactly what the internet does today, only it becomes much more visible through "social" media, as we can now comment on every picture.

Part of me laughs about the younger I, another shakes its head and another one regrets my stupidity. I fell for the matrix in the exact same way I see the young ones doing it today. I am confronted with "the youth" in the same way my parents and other adults were confronted with us children and I now understand why the adults didn't bother to try to convince us about what reality they themselves grew up in. You cannot explain this, you can only experience it. My mom often endured our accusations towards her, neither defending herself nor giving into our blames. She knew better.

Of course, another part of her still remained in the matrix without her recognizing it. That was the worst part to watch from my perspective. While I saw hers I didn't see my own being stuck in it.

All of my thoughts are not my "own". I even don't know if I ever produced a thought of my own since I saw so many movies, read so many books, watched so many moving pictures that I cannot be sure of any thought of "my own". HaHa! :D

That need not to bother me. But now, as all the spirits arrived I was calling for, I am not satisfied at all. I lost my little contrasting niche and that pissed me off - oh, the irony :D