Salty dough ornaments - sick of the same NY decoration?

in DIYHublast year

For years, I've noticed the same things in shops; it it seems to me that the decorative industry has gone into “ fight or flight ” during the holidays, when people spend the most.

I lost interest a long time ago, in looking at the same ornaments every year during the holidays, only with the addition of EVEN MORE glitter. No buying plastic Christmas trees, and while there will be time for real ones (when someone plant it for me), decision for this year is brought - HANDMADE decoration!

When I was a kid, I used to carefully handle glass Christmas decorations, timidly putting them on the Christmas tree and every now and then one would break, shiny nicely balls.

Nowadays, glass ones are difficult to find; they are mostly made of plastic, and no matter how much glitter they have on them, they still look cheap.

For me, it is still too early to start making plans for holidays, as Orthodox holidays are in January. But being synchronized with the rest of the world is inescapable, and when December 1st arrives, I know that decorating season has officially begun.
Already had the idea of passionately boycotting capitalism, I just lacked the idea of what and how.

And then I grabbed the idea here, how cool, ha?

After some online research, I found how to make the well-known "salt dough," a clay substitute.

Dashed to the Chinese shop, passing by the newly displayed tacky decoration, picking up a couple of brushes and few more tangles, then hurried back home rolling up my sleeves and getting to the work.

You will need the following ingredients to make salted dough or homemade clay:
Water (200 mL) (one cup)
200g flour
200 mL of salt

Knead all the ingredients, do not add all the water at the very beginning, slowly add it in until the dough no longer sticks to your hands. Separate one ball, set it aside for a few minutes, and if it doesn't flatten, the dough is ready to roll out.

Pull out everything you own in the theme of New Year's holidays, glitter, ribbons, cotton candy, cake decorations...

I also purchased a fondant decorating set with interesting textures (which I have yet to master), unfortunately from all cutters I lacked some shapes, such as leaves.
#handshaped.

It was the turn of the stars, because what would holidays be like without them?

Which New Year's symbols are your favorites?

My choice is a snowflake, so I ended up with a few stars and a bunch of snowflakes, or flowers - it's all about perspective. :P

Some lofi playlist was playing in the background, it was raining, and it does still.
I had forgotten about the time, total exclusion.

Bake at 50 degrees for at least 3 hours on baking paper. Of course, the thickness of the decorations is crucial, but keep in mind that the dough will not rise during baking.

I was still looking impatiently forward to the coloring and decorating.
The dough is however not edible, but if someone is curious, can take a bite (good luck with the salt). I was thinking about cake colors, but didn't like that because I wouldn't be able to use painting brushes and that is the FUN part.
Water colors in tubes - recommended.

Water colors also have the bonus of being simple to remove from the hands, easy to apply, and dry quickly.

Back to school!

Okay, so we are making ornaments, to hang on? What?
That's something I stole from Mother Nature.

A couple of spruce sprigs.

The smell of pine is the best part about having a Christmas tree in the house, I will not comment on when the needles start to fall off.

Allow the ornaments to cool completely before coloring.
My first choice was this leaf; I liked it right away and knew exactly how I wanted to color it. All of the colors in the tubes were unnatural in some way, and I wanted that rustic pastel moment.
Add a dash of brown to any combination to achieve this effect (except for the white).

Before baking, drill out the small dot near the top to make it possible to hang the decorations.

I simply stained the back of the ornament with the same color to prevent it from remaining contrasting white.

We will draw it if there is no snow!
Couple years back, there is almost no snow for the holidays, which is extremely boring.


All of these ornaments cost me less than 5 euros, which is less than the price of a package of 6 plastic ornaments - beat that capitalism!

It's time to put together this year's one-of-a-kind and only New Year's decoration.

This glass object was used to put everything that has no place and no use into it until an hour ago.

Now it will be the trunk of my Christmas tree, filled with cotton wool and few random ornaments.

Wohoooo, the first one took his place. I'm not sure if anyone other than @corvidae has ever experimented with making dough figures; to some may have come out smooth, but mine had a slightly rough texture.
(and I like it)

Big ice blue sparkly star!
I'm sorry about the bad light, but I wouldn't have the patience to wait until tomorrow.

The others are on a separate "plate," and will most likely end up as gifts. This mixture will make approximately 30 ornaments.


I can assure you that it looks much better in person.😂

This was so much fun that I'm going to start having fun often with non-edible dough as well as edible dough. A great solution for unique details, without limits.

That's all I've got for this holiday season in terms of ornaments; we'll be back soon with sweet and delicious edible decorations.❄️

bw_comm_1300_150_px_1100_120_px_.png

Sort:  

There is this book " pettersson and findus" they cant go buy decoration for Christmas, so they decorate the tree with all sorts of things from around the house...
bild222364-resimage_v-original_w-832.jpg

...goes a bit in the theme of boycotting Christmas-Capitalism:)

Just found some show based on that, will take a look.:)

I'm not sure if anyone other than @corvidae has ever experimented with making dough figures

Me me me!
Mine were more rough too. Maybe if the salt was super fine it would be better.
I think I was using some old nail polished to paint mine. They came out glossy :p

Me me me!

I couldn't even guess! :P

They came out glossy :p

I have few blank left, might try out with the glossy moment, but I'm bored with drying...😒
I kneaded and kneaded, maybe mixer would solve that problem?🤔

You wanna use mixer to dry them faster?
I dare you 😂😂

(with my vivid imagination I just saw bits or crushed decorations flying around your kitchen)

Give me back that bottle! (slap)

No silly, mixer to get smoother dough.
Imagination...😏

What bottle? No full bottles around.... anymore.
burp

Party pooper...
and if you put some red decoration in the mixer an it is very wet it will splash an stick to the walls and furniture and it would look like a murder scence with red goo dripping.. yes... yes... red goo... 🍷🍷)

Omg, can someone please, anyone?

🫠

I used acrylic paint, and I think the plastic coating helped seal them a bit.

I can see you making a bunch of succulent and mushroom ornaments....

I didn't try with paint... I will keep that in mind if I even try again :p

The mushrooms could look so cool! I made some simple ones. I was using cookie cutters so hearts, stars... nothing fancy.

You could make them 3D!

Don't tempt me! :p

Hey I'll tempt you if I wanna tempt you cuz I liked your dancing mushroom picture sooooooooo!

Manually curated by EwkaW from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

 last year  
desro just sent you a DIY token as a little appreciation for your post! Feel free to multiply it by sending someone else !DIY in a comment :) You can do that x times a day depending on your balance so:

Don't be shy - share some DIY!

Mercy (:

These are AWESOME. I saw them on instagram the other day and thought I might do the same! great idea. I also saw them on rounds of dried oranges which I thought looked great! Well done. Not only that, you've saved money AND put a big up yours to capitalism. Yee ha.

I saw it too, love the idea with dried oranges but I think I'll skip it this year. Okay, maybe I'll dry few here and there. 🙄

Salty dough was a real discovery for me, it's fun in many ways, saving money, finding out what can you diy, and for those who enjoys process - what is gonna be out of it. :D

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @oks2crypto.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Oh wow, you made all those with flour!!! They look awesome.
@tipu curate
!DIY

You are right. 😉

Thanks, much appreciated!

These are so classy! And #cottagecore.

I will not comment on when the needles start to fall off.

But the sound as you suck the needles up with the vacuum IS super gratifying, you must admit.

Enjoyed mostly into watching them being sucked in, that was my satisfaction. :D

Thank you, was doubtful a bit, but these turned out great! (:

Hello. Nothing better than doing things by ourselves, the decorations were spectacular on you. I loved the colors you used and the combination.

They look beautiful decorating the plant. Thanks for sharing your creative process. Best wishes and have a beautiful Christmas @alt3r ⛄🎄❤️🤗🥰✨

Hey, welcome around!(:

I loved the colors you used and the combination.

Thank you, color was the biggest question mark as you never know...but, me like it too, much appreciated.

Stay tuned, most of the free time ends up like this...experimenting.🙃
Happy holidays 🎀

 last year  
Thank you for sharing this post in the DIYHUB Community!

Your content got selected by our fellow curator desro & you just received a little thank you upvote from us for your great work! Your post will be featured in one of our recurring compilations which are aiming to offer you a stage to widen your audience within the DIY scene of Hive. Stay creative & HIVE ON!


Please vote for our hive witness <3

Yay, mercy! (:

Wow @alt3r amazing job!

I love your idea for decorations! You are amazing.

We must also boycott plastic. There is so much plastic waste in the ocean and land it is in the rain and ontop of mountains and in our blood stream. Good for you to boycott capitalism!!!

Barb

#thriveonhive

Posted via Veews

Much appreciated @adcreatordesign 🫠

Seems the moment has come to wake up a bit, many things around us we already destroyed not even knowing it.