Phone Photography Contest 09 - Thank You for the good harvest

in Feel Good24 days ago

This will be my first post on the community as well as my first entry to the phone photography contest which is run and managed by my great friend @untilwelearn. : ) Finally, I made it, hahaha

If you wish to join and follow the contest, please kindly read and follow the rules and the guidelines in this announcement post of Phone Photography Contest - 09

I took the photos that I will share today when I went home to my parent's house, and then when I arrived there I learned that my mother was preparing the offerings for the Dewi Sri (the Goddess of Prosperity) for the good harvest that we have. it seems that my father had finished harvesting the rice paddies in all of the rice field he cultivates. He doesn't own any land, but only work as the cultivator, so the harvest was split between the land owner and my father, but still we do the offering for the good harvest, as part of our gratitude for what the universe has given to us, especially to my father.

My entry is this first photo of the small figurine made from a type of plan leaves which represent Dewi Sri (the Goddess of Prosperity) on top of the rice grains that were taken during the ceremony when the harvest was done, you heard it right, we have a small offering when we do the harvest in each location.

separator2.png

Here is all of the offering that was prepared by my mother that day.

here a closer look, you can see the white cone that was made from cooked rice which symbolizes the Mount, especially Mount Mahameru.

separator2.png

The whole offering from a different angle.

separator2.png

separator2.png

A closer look on one of the offerings.

separator2.png

We also have fruits, snacks, and sometimes grilled chicken as well.

separator2.png

And all of the harvest was under the black tarpaulin, under the whole offerings. My parents have to cover them since my uncle has so many loose chickens, and often times they will feed on the grain. Need to protect the precious harvest, isn't it?

separator2.png

And this one well called Mesaagan , and offering for all the bad spirits, other unseen matters that we in Balinese Hindus call Bhuta Kala. We give them offerings as well, so that they will turn from bad spirit into a good one, and then helo to protect all of us.

separator2.png

Another shot of the small Goddesses Figurine, and the grain under her.

separator2.png

Photo StylePhone PhotographyAccesorynone
LocationBali, IndonesiaLightingnatural light
GearInfinix Note 30 Pro PhoneDiffusernone
I am a Balinese man, a father of a toddler son, working in the hospitality industry, who has recently found a passion for macro photography. I want to share the photos that I've taken here on Hive. I appreciate any comments or feedback you leave on my posts and kindly invite you to be part of my journey in this vast Hive Ocean. Thank you very much
Sort:  

Hey @ekavieka, here is a little bit of BEER from @pixresteemer for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Hp baru???

be lumayan mekelo mli bli, hp mudah.
Kingfinix, be maan belah LCDne. mayah 500K
wkwkwk

Wow, This is a very good entry. So to say, we are divided by borders, but our customs, beliefs, rites and above all being human, are all the same. By any chance, if you don't know, let me tell you that 'Shri' or 'Sri' is one of the many names of Goddess Lakshmi. Also known as the goddess of fortune, beauty, fertility and prosperity. I am not from a farming family, so I don't know the exact custom, but here too, the first crop is always offered to God. Now I'm getting that brotherhood vibe. haha!

hehe although there are some differences between Hindus there in your country and also what we do here in Bali, I guess we share the same roots. and Bali is the only Island here in Indonesia which has the most people who are Hindus.

nice to know it my friend, happy to share also what we have and do here to you.
sending some !LUV and !LOLZ for a laugh

Great shots, very cool! That was really interesting!
!BBH
!PIZZA
!LOL

@ekavieka! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @thebighigg. (19/50)

thank you very much my friend.
I am so happy to share my culture.
!PIZZA !LUV !VSC

@ekavieka has sent VSC to @thebighigg

This post was rewarded with 0.1 VSC to support your work.
Join our photography communityVisual Shots
Check here to view or trade VSC Tokens
Be part of our Curation Trail


@ekavieka ha enviado VSC a @thebighigg

Éste post fue recompensado con 0.1 VSC para apoyar tu trabajo.
Únete a nuestra comunidad de fotografía Visual Shots
Consulte aquí para ver o intercambiar VSC Tokens
Se parte de nuestro Trail de Curación


Uses: 1/5

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
thebighigg tipped ekavieka
@ekavieka(5/5) tipped @thebighigg

Gratitude is a very noble feeling. Nice photographs. Greetings and blessings ☺️

Thank you very much, this is something that is already be part of my culture.
!PIZZA

I love the fact that you captured every details of the picture.

Thank you very much for your kind words
!LUV

You're welcome.
Keep on with the great work!