MacGuffins (World Building Notes)

in Worldbuilding4 months ago

There was a prompt released in the world-building community asking us to describe elements of our writing for our worlds that have included the utilisation of a MacGuffin.

Here's A Link To The Post If You'd Like To Check It Out And Join In.



Source


What Is A MacGuffin

MacGuffins are a plot device that moves the story forward, and when used right it can be a handy tool to have at your disposal while writing your story.

When I first heard about it in college my tutor said something along the lines of, "Now, I don't give a toss about Frodo or his silly little ring, but that's an example of a MacGuffin."

The ring of power, the one ring to rule them all is a MacGuffin because broken down to its base level, it's just a ring, and the story revolves around the characters having to destroy it.

Similar to the Death Star plans, or Princess Leia in Star Wars.

The main characters need a thing, so they have to go in search of the thing, and when they get the thing they need to bring it to this place. Stakes and tensions rise if other people are searching for the thing too.

Think of the Diode in Rise of Skywalker. To me, it's a terrible way to use this tool because they had to get a thing, to find a thing, to find a person, to end the story.


How Have I Used This Tool?

In a short film I wrote and directed as my grad film, I had two old characters who end up becoming young and they want to celebrate by having a few drinks at their old hangout from when they were teenagers. But, they can't use their old IDs and can't get served, and have to find people to buy them cans.

In a way, the MacGuffin is the drink, and it's an easy one to explain because we all know what alcohol is, so we don't really need to think too hard about why someone would want - or need - it. Same as drugs, money, or sex. It's self-explanatory why people need or want it.


Here's a link to the film if you want to check it out, I must warn you though, it's shit. But, was good at the time based on the level I was at.


Writing was my strongest skill in college, and in fairness, I think the writing is relatively stand out. In fact, one of my tutors told me that I should do the same thing again while changing a few things - namely - to do with the production.

It's a solid story, sadly though, there were some major issues that really let the entire thing down.


An Example of A MacGuffin In My Prose Writing

In one of my novels that I have written, the MacGuffin is a person - or warlord - who is rallying a huge defense of an enemy world, which is stopping large cruisers and transport ships to land.

A small team is sent in to deal with this threat, and when they arrive they're shot down. On foot, deep in enemy territory with no way back they press onward to kill the target, break the defense of the enemy troops, and allow for backup to arrive. But, things go wrong.

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 192 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
10

Congratulations @killerwot! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Day - February 1st 2024