You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Taking a look at different fats for the diet.

I would tend to disagree on the oils. The body needs omega-3 and omega-6 fatty acids which it can find in the seed oils but you cannot get in butters, eats, or milk products as those have saturated fats. Without those omega fatty acids you can't make a number of hormones and steroids which the body needs.

However getting the right balance of those omega-3 and 6 (and possibly 9) is tough. Focusing on only one type of seed oil and not getting a balance can be bad for you.

The next thing is the production process for the oils. Many seed oils are processed using hexane and then washed and bleached. That process if not done properly can certainly make those oils bad for you.

In that regard one of my next purchases will be an oil press so I can produce those oils myself from the raw foods. Oil direct from the source is typically better albeit more work than those from an industrial process.

Of course if you have different proof of why seed oils are bad I'd love to research it further.

Thanks for looking,

Appreciate hearing from you

Sort:  

but you cannot get in butters, eats, or milk products as those have saturated fats.

I assume 'eats' was meant to be 'eggs'.
Of course do eggs contain omega 3 fatty acids, especially from free ranged chickens. (which I have a good source for)
...as much as salmon, actually, but that's something I heard Richard Perkins say- I have no further proof.

No need for studies or data, though; We can just use common sense:
My ancestors had no access to seed oils and lived off of hunting and gathering for thousands of years.
Then, for hundreds of years, they lived almost exclusively off of meat, milk, honey and perhaps some berries and some herbs. Agriculture wasn't a thing here until a few hundred years back. Hence, seed oils can not be essential.

Annectdotally:
I had bad joint problems for a while and both elbows inflamed badly.
Did my research, fasted for 3 days and finally had relief after 1-2 years of constant pain.
Then, I erased almost all seed oils from my diet and started using plenty of butter cream, eggs and other things instead and I have no more joint problems. I think these highly processed fats (and high processed foods in general) are causing a whole host of problems.

You can also go down the 'seed oil inflamation' rabbit-hole, either on youtube or just google and you'll find plenty of stuff. There are 'seed oil free' restaurants popping up now and it's the latest hype, actually.

I don't go to those extremes, but I have also concluded to avoid seed oils, where I can.