Death is not the end

It's crazy how one minute you're laughing and smiling then the next minute, your smile fades, your lips silenced and your face expressionless - something I'll call... death!

We cherish the moment, oblivious of the future, oblivious of what might be waiting in store for us. Perhaps it's because we've never taken a lone moment to reflect on reality, to reflect on our lives... To reflect on our fast spent time.

I heard a song early this morning on YouTube. The name of the song was "moonlight" it was sang by the late artist, xxx tentacion.

Here's the song below

Upon listening to this piece, my mind quickly flashed back on the fragility of life. Tentacion was a hip hop star who was murdered on his way back from purchasing an expensive motorcycle. I mean, who would have thought something like that would happen to someone like him so soon. The news came as a surprise to me and I guess it did the same to him.

Life comes and goes in the twinkle of an eye. It could be me today, it could be you tomorrow, no one's sure of the day but one thing is certain: we'll all fade into the sands of the Earth surface. I guess that's why Ardee sang a song and said: "In this life we come and we go."

What I keep telling myself each passing day is "Are we making the most of the little time we've got left?" "Are we expressing love to those in dire need of it?" "Are our hearts as free as that of a toddler?" Trust me when I say that love is the reason for existence and we'll almost be a perfect being if we submit our hearts to voice of love. Think of it: you grow up, eat, sleep, face a little bit of tribulation, get married, have kids, and die! That's it? That's life?

Definately not!

What makes life memorable are the things we did before exiting the surface of the Earth: the lives we touched, the smiles we wore on other faces, in summary I'll just say... our good deeds!

For a moment I pondered on my bed as I listened to this lovely piece by xxx tentacion underneath torrents of raindrops which smacked against the roof with the stormy feel of the cold air rummaging through my room curtains. It was a perfect scenery to behold, a perfect time to reflect on life and death.

I asked myself rhetorical questions like: what am I doing on Earth? What is life? Why are we existing to start with? But then I came to a conclusion that we should just do good while alive and leave the rest for nature. There's a popular saying in my country "It's not how far but how well" in other words, it's not how long you've existed but the beautiful legacy you left behind through your deeds.

I'll live in the present, yes! But I'll never forget the power of the grave. Then and only then, will I take it upon myself to do that which is required of me as being with emotions. Sometimes a constant reminder of what lies ahead controls our actions in the present.

In the end, once it's all over, when our eyes see nothing but blunt darkness, we'll look back at the grave and say: I served my purpose... I defeated you!