Words of the Sage or Words of Music?!

in Q Inspired-by-Music2 years ago (edited)

erik-mclean-QzpgqElvSiA-unsplash.jpg

Image by Erik Mclean From Unsplash

"Always make a total effort, even when the odds are against you."
-Arnold Palmer



I woke up this morning to a response from a chat I was having with my friend before falling asleep last night. His message read,

"...I am so tired! Mentally, Physically, and Emotionally. I am beyond exhausted. Everywhere is so stressful, to be honest. I try to run a business and make an honest living amidst the difficulties present in my environment but things keep getting harder.
...Hoping the issues surrounding the ban on bikes are resolved soon. Diesel prices are devastatingly high and these issues are really weighing on my business. I want to stop trying, I am tired of trying."

This message came after I asked him a simple yet powerful "How are you?" I remember a few weeks ago, this same three-word question got me crying like a baby.

I was so overwhelmed and at a tipping point that anything at that moment could have pushed me off the ledge. But that is a story to share some other day. Today is for my beloved friend.

adrian-korte-5gn2soeAc40-unsplash.jpg

Image by Adrian Korte From Unsplash

Hive logo line.png

Words of the Sage or Not?

Hive logo line.png

I took a deep breath and placed a video call through to him. That had to be one of the weakest hellos I had heard in a really long while. It was evidently from a place of fatigue and weariness. He did not just feel tired but he looked and sounded extremely tired, like someone battered and beaten down.

I was about to go on a whole motivational speech when I just recalled I was in this exact same state not too long ago and I know words did not cut it for me.

I am that friend that usually knows all the right things to say to encourage and make others feel better but somehow these same words did not seem to encourage me, the custodian of these words of the sage.

And So I paused! I smiled at him and cracked a few lame jokes which seemed to cheer him up a bit and then I proceeded to recommend a few songs that are my current favorites to help me clear my head and lighten up my mood.

simon-noh-0rmby-3OTeI-unsplash.jpg

Image by Simon Noh From Unsplash

Hive logo line.png

Words of Music

Hive logo line.png

I shared with him how music heals, music saves, music restores, music inspires, music motivates and so much more. This time around, I did not have the right words to say to make him feel better because I myself did not believe those words when I was in a similar state but music came through.

These are a few of my current favourites in no particular order and excerpts from their lyrics that resonate with me in such a profound way.

1. Rise Up by Andra Day

...You're broken down and tired
Of living life on a merry go round
And you can't find the fighter
But I see it in you so we gonna walk it out...
...And I'll rise up
I'll rise like the day
I'll rise up
I'll rise unafraid
I'll rise up
And I'll do it a thousand times again...

Lyrics From LyricFind

These words right here remind you that even though you are tired of fighting and feel you are all tapped out, give it another shot and rise up not once but over and over again.


2. Unstoppable by Sia

...I put my armor on, show you how strong how I am
I put my armor on, I'll show you that I am...
...I'm unstoppable
I'm a Porsche with no brakes
I'm invincible
Yeah, I win every single game
I'm so powerful
I don't need batteries to play
I'm so confident
Yeah, I'm unstoppable today...

Lyrics From Musixmatch

These words here motivate us to put on our armor and prepare for a fight. Fight against the challenges of life and show them how strong and unstoppable we are just like a force.


3. The Night by Avicii

...One day, my father, he told me
"Son, don't let it slip away"
He took me in his arms, I heard him say
"When you get older
Your wild heart will live for younger days
Think of me if ever you're afraid"...
...He said, "One day, you'll leave this world behind
So live a life you will remember"
My father told me when I was just a child
"These are the nights that never die"
My father told me...

Lyrics From Musixmatch

I have been so hooked on these words lately because it is so easy to let the difficulties, worries, and things going wrong in our lives to prevent us from living every moment to the fullest. I keep reminding myself that someday tomorrow would be a memory and how do I want to remember it.


4. Happy by Pharrell Williams

...Here come bad news talking this and that (Yeah)
Well give me all you got, don't hold back (Yeah)
Well I should probably warn you I'll be just fine (Yeah)
No offense to you don't waste your time
Here's why...
...Clap along if you feel like a room without a roof
(Because I'm happy)
Clap along if you feel like happiness is the truth
(Because I'm happy)
Clap along if you know what happiness is to you
(Because I'm happy)
Clap along if you feel like that's what you wanna do...

Lyrics From Musixmatch

This is just a feel-good song. It is a reminder that even when bad news is anticipated, have a default defense mechanism that helps you bounce back and absorb the shock because happiness is a choice and that is what you are going to choose to be - Happy!


5. Three Little Birds by Bob Marley

...Rise up this mornin'
Smile with the risin' sun
Three little birds
Pitch by my doorstep
Singin' sweet songs
Of melodies pure and true
Sayin', ("This is my message to you-ou-ou")...
...Singin': "Don't worry 'bout a thing
'Cause every little thing gonna be all right"
Singin': "Don't worry (don't worry) 'bout a thing
'Cause every little thing gonna be all right!"...

Lyrics From Azlyrics

An oldie but goldie! These words remind us to wake up every morning with a smile because everything is definitely going to be okay, if not today or tomorrow, it will surely be someday.

Hive logo line.png

Every day is not going to be a perfect day and heck, it should not be because truth is the bad days make us genuinely appreciate the good days.

After my call with my friend, he seemed encouraged to at the least take a shower and give the day another shot regardless of the odds.

Special gratitude goes to @mipiano as my appreciation for music has gotten deeper through writing about how it truly impacts me and the people around me and this is thanks to her exceptional #Q-Inspired post.

marcela-laskoski-YrtFlrLo2DQ-unsplash.jpg

Image by Marcela Laskoski From Unsplash

Hive logo line.png

"Start where you are. Use what you have. Do what you can."
-Arthur Ashe

Hive logo line.png

Blessings to you all.
Till I come your way again.
Love & Light, Hugs & kisses!
Thank you for reading and Have an amazing day!

Sort:  

happiness is a choice

untitled.gif

As our whole attitude - all included: reactions, words, acts, love...

Yes, I know, easy to say, as circumstances and people around us can highly affect our wellbeing, in a positive or even more in a negative way, but in the end, we have to choose what we pick from life, right? What we pick from them...

We should all learn to apply some filters - again, so easy to say, but... learning, learning, learning :D and in that process, friends and of course music can have a huge impact. Huge!

And what a great friend you are!! I knew it already from your comments and your posts, but now we can be even more sure of that!

Music- wow, Andra Day!?! wow again, what a voice and style!
She is saved in my playlist now! 🙌

Mi Oh Mi♥️
Happiness doesn’t just happen..
Indeed it’s an attitude as well!

Truly, we have to filter what we let affect us. Even though it is not the easiest thing to do as humans.
We have at some point in our lives allowed life to dictate our happiness and sadness but when we catch ourselves there, we need to regain back that control over our emotions.

Oh! Andra Day’s Rise Up is top on my all-time favorite list. She is a phenomenal singer.
I am glad she found a place on your playlist 😂

Thank you so much for always being here.
You are super loved Gab ♥️♥️♥️

Yes, happiness doesn't just fall from the sky
we have to "work" a bit for it ;))

And Andra Day's song Rise up was so so great indeed, I really liked it
So, thanks for sharing 🎶😇 and for your words

♥️♥️♥️

You are always welcome!

To be very honest, words doesn't cut it most times...it feels like you have to be in those emotions and that's where music can come in to make you feel better...
Sia's unstoppable is a great song with her amazing voice, Bob Marley's one love is a classic that takes your mind away from worries...
"Because I am happy 🎶🎶🎶"... Another great choice...

I am sending love and light to him..I hope he doesn't give up and just keep pushing..You are a good friend

Indeed!
Music is such a super tool…

Sia is a phenomenal singer.
Her songs always carry great message and impact!
Bob Marley is another legend!!
His music is so timeless…
Pharell’s song is literally an international anthem 🤣 🤣🤣

He is feeling better today…
Thank you for your lovely words!

Great to know that he is better

Honestly, those three words "how are you", are short, yet powerful words.

Most times we don't give genuine answers when we are asked. We just give the national anthem:, "I am fine", "I am okay" or "I am good."

But, are we really fine? Are we really okay? Are we really good?

Well, I think the best response will be that we only share to those who we can freely open up and share to. Others we will just respond with the usual.


Also, it is really difficult to know what to say or how to console or motivate people in this category.

However, we will try our best to be there for them. Most times, our presence worths more than whatever we say.

"how are you", are short, yet powerful words.

I remember how these words broke me down a few weeks ago.
I did not even realize I was that vulnerable.
I thought I had it together until I heard those words and the flood gates of Heaven opened with rain!

Most times we don't give genuine answers when we are asked.

Yeah, I did that for a long long time because I wanted to believe everything was fine.

But, are we really fine? Are we really okay? Are we really good?

Not really.
Some of us have mastered the art of masking our worries and pains..

Well, I think the best response will be that we only share to those who we can freely open up and share to.

I totally agree with you on this.
Personally, I don't really share with people for several reasons except the 1% of the 1% in my life.

Also, it is really difficult to know what to say or how to console or motivate people in this category.

I've been there and truly words don't cut it.
It's like pouring water on a duck's back!

Just like you have spoken.
Happiness is truly a choice.
If we allow everything we pass through in life to dictate when we are happy, we might have more sad times because of the highly uncertain nature of life.

I can spot some of my favourite songs here like Rise Up, Three Little Birds, and Happy...
I really need to listen to The Night by Avicii, you have been raving a lot about it lately.

Plus this is such a beautifully written post.
I was hooked up until the end!

If we allow everything we pass through in life to dictate when we are happy, we might have more sad times because of the highly uncertain nature of life.

These words are so true.
We have to strive to be in control as much as we can and not allow life toss us around the place every now and then.

I’m glad you saw a couple of you favorites up there 👆 😂

Thank you for your sweet sweet words 💕💕💕

Waaaho, you really do know how to captivate the minds of your readers with your content.

To me, I create my happiness, by all means, regardless of the noises around, will it end one day?

Oh yes, music heals, restores, inspires and I can't go a day without music..it has healed my wounded soul on several occasions.

I love unstoppable, it's a great song that lifts our hopes in life.

Good job friend.💞✌💪

Waaaho, you really do know how to captivate the minds of your readers with your content.

Thank you very much Nkem 🙂

I like that you share a beautiful relationship with music. It is indeed a powerful tool.

Unstoppable is one of those songs that takes you from 0 to 100 real quick!

Thank you for your lovely words of encouragement 😊😊😊

Rise Up and Three little Birds are my anthems especially when I’m going through my seasonal depression 😂. Life isn’t easy, there’s something that’s always trying to pull us down that’s why everyone should have their safe space. Mine is music and God (at every little inconvenience I cry to him and he comes to my aid).

Rise Up and Three little Birds are my anthems especially when I’m going through my seasonal depression

Especially in a country like Nigeria.
Seasonal depression is inevitable!

Mine is music and God (at every little inconvenience I cry to him and he comes to my aid).

And these are fantastic choices.
Hang in there Josey!
The best is yet to come!

Thank you so much🥰

You’re welcome

I agree with you in all you said.

music heals, music saves, music restores, music inspires, music motivates and so much more.

I love the songs you mentioned and I know them so well. Well done and I'm looking forward to read from you again next time.

Thanks a bunch.
I am glad you enjoyed the post.

Bob Marley is still my best on the list. I'm a groove person so that explains why😅

Yes! No music, no life!
Music is embedded in every little part of what we experience.

Music is embedded in every little part of what we experience.

You have said it all!
Drops mic!

Bob Marley is still my best on the list.

Plus Bob is a legend!
Great choice!