Sort:  

ABC was an awesome band, they came up with so much great music over the years. Be near me was a great one

INXS, talk about a legendary band. I knew they were Aussies but I was a big fan back in the 80's. Great song, such a shame he's been dead for so long already.

I'm not all that familiar with the last choice, but rap was never one of those genres I follow very closely. Good song!

Great picks for this week!

Thanks!I appreciate it! 90's rap is worth digging into in my opinion.

ABC were part of the New Romantics arriving a little late. I felt they were especially cheesy then, and now are unwatchable. The 'Oh-woow-woow's' were a little much. I don't know this track as it wasn't a big hit here, but they had several top tens on the UK charts around 1982.

I find it strange that America tend to get in late on these types of bands, as you can see below. The UK hits marked in yellow are the ones I remember.

image.png

Poison Arrow sounds familiar. I think I know the Look of Love too. It just didn't click with me because I was thinking about the old standard with the same name.

I liked the New Romantics but remember talking to Martin - The Stock Lad (The Horrors of Kwiksave) about Martin Fry and that he looked like a twat, with that trademark sneer. Nevertheless, a few ABC singles landed in my 45' collection of the time. I must have been deluded or something.

There were far better bands around such as the emerging Depeche Mode, who were getting ever darker in tone and would end up cracking America.

I guess I never really realized it was a whole subculture thing. I guess that makes sense since it was more of a UK thing.

I was really into my music during this period, having failed to bag a girl (that would come later!). Most of it is still buried away in my head 😀

Hey that's the IT lifestyle, everything works means free time, it gets stuck reboot it, do maintenance and always have backups, it goes in circles, if that circle doesn't get broken life is a beauty until some A hole comes in pretending IT don't do sht 😅

Haha yeah, that is very true!

Posting, Commenting and Upvoting is what I need to start doing with selected HIVE Users

Thanks for your post. Inspire me

It's what everyone should be doing!

I knew about INXS because Kylie Minogue was dating Paul Hutcheson for a while so knew the band were from Australia

They were so good. So many great songs. I wish they were still around in the same capacity.

My sister had the first ABC album and they stood out with their orchestral sound. They had a few hits here. I saw them years ago in a show with The Human League and Culture Club.

I've never heard of that last one, but then I was never really into rap.

It turns out they had more hits over here than I realized. Now that I see some of the names I recognize them. That sounds like it would have been a pretty cool show.

Not my favorite of selections. I give you a pass this week.

Haha thanks, I appreciate the generosity.

👍 !PGM