Ma3str0's Environment Cleanup Walk: Oct 22 2023

in Actifit7 months ago

Heya Hiva シ

Ready or not, here I come..

-> from contributing to a cleaner neighbourhood drainage system.

Adventure afoot!

So..I was able to get out much earlier today, with the focus of my morning walk geared towards tidying up some of the local neighbourhood roads. Letting the litter lead the way, I found myself meandering about until my carrier called for emptying.

Before..

Cleanup..

After..

The first piece of roadside trash.. was that of the plastic packaging, from a spicy snack. It's removal allowed those awesome purple flowers in the background, to showcase their awesome beauty.

Before..

Cleanup..

After..

Next up was some partially buried fabric. It had a very 'industrial' feel to it. Not sure what it was made of.. but I found myself holding my breath - so as to not inhale any loose fibers.

Before..

Cleanup..

After..

As my walk continued, I came across an empty plastic tub of cream cheese (nothing found from crackers).

Before..

Cleanup..

After..

A plastic softdrink bottle with no associated label. There is one visible clue to the likely colour of it's lid.. seems it was probably orange.

Before..

Cleanup..

After..

Exactly what this squished plastic cup may have once held, I guess we'll never know. I'm thinking something sweet, perhaps. Maybe ice cream, yogurt or fruit salad?

Before..

Cleanup..

After..

It's so remarkable the difference picking up one piece of litter makes. The moment I removed the plastic bottle, there was an instant 'face lift' to the curb.

Before..

Cleanup..

After..

During the walk, I also came across a sizeable debris field - located on one of the roadside pavements. I was so stoked to help give it a 'makeover', by removing the unwanted litter.

Before..

Cleanup..

After..

This broken glass bottle really upset me. Although I bagged as much of the fragments as possible.. it was so badly smashed that it was virtually impossible to get to it all. Wouldn't want to run barefoot on the roads these days!

Before..

Cleanup..

After..

A couple more plastic bottles requiring prompt recovery. With the local wetlands evidently much cleaner (as seen in my previous visits).. I'm coming to the conclusion that more time is probably required, in cleaning the nearby roads.

Before..

Cleanup..

After..

I was really happy to spot this nasty foil container, before it went into a 'storm water' drain. This particular scene highlights the fact.. that plenty litter probably does just that! That's a rather scary thought.

Before..

Cleanup..

After..

The last piece of trash for the day, was an empty packet of potato crisps. The scene, however, only warranted one yellow part.

Before..

Cleanup..

After..

With the nearest municipal bins full to capacity, I opted to walk over to the one near the local park instead. With there still being plenty room available, I was able to empty all the trash collected. A very successful day overall, allowing me to better comprehend some of the local challenges which evidently remain.

Till next time,

ma3str0

Special thanks to @actifit and my 'eco-citizen' friends over at @cleanplanet , @cleanyourcity & @solarisfuture - stoked to be part of the solution, whilst getting fit in the process.

My gratitude as well to each and every awesome individual, kindly supporting me on this incredible adventure - seeing solutions to the challenges of our colourful world in black & white.

Disclaimer:
The writing in 'My Actifit & Clean Planet Adventure' is 100% original and that of my own. Inspiration is drawn from my surroundings - all whilst placing one foot in front of the other. For stylistic reasons, the greeting, farewell, image labels & footer may be repeated across posts - with the actual main body of content remaining entirely unique. Any accompanying photos were taken/edited by me. Others' logos used as permitted. Nothing should be construed as any form of advice. Practice due diligence. All Rights Reserved.
This report was published via Actifit app (Android | iOS). Check out the original version here on actifit.io


22/10/2023
5111
Daily Activity, Walking
Height
193 cm
Weight
79 kg
Body Fat
18.6 %
Waist
92 cm
Thighs
54 cm
Chest
98 cm
Sort:  
Loading...

Congratulations @ma3str0! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP