THREE TUNE TUESDAY- Keeeping it in the family, the other haf of the Dynamic Duo- Steve Russell

in Music24 days ago

Hey there Music fans,
I hope that you're all well and enjoying the tunes that surround you every day.

Last week for @ablaze #ttt #threeTuneTuesday, I introduced you to my gorgeous cousin Leigh Carriage here https://peakd.com/hive-193816/@chocolatescorpi/three-tune-tuesday-keeping-it-local-with-sensational-australian-jazz-chanteuse-leigh-carriage and this week I would like to introduce you to the other half of that dynamic duo, by sharing the original compositions of her gorgeous and very handsome husband Steve Russell.

Long regarded as one of Australia’s finest jazz pianists and accompanists and a highly accomplished composer and arranger, Steve Russell has appeared with a huge array of national and international jazz, blues, pop and cabaret artists in an eclectic career spanning forty years. His performance credits include Dan Sultan, Wendy Matthews, William Barton, Katie Noonan, James Morrison, Deborah Cheetham, Rodriguez, Stephen Magnusson, Chrissy Amphlett, Troy Cassar-Daley, Kanen Breen, Crossfire, Hamish Stuart, Deborah Conway, Silvia Colloca, Dale Barlow, James Sherlock, Kate Miller-Heidke, Chuck Findley, Grace Knight, Shellie Morris and Carita Farrer-Spencer. https://steverussell.com.au/about-steve

Steve, like Leigh is not only a world renown powerhouse Pianist and composer, he also has a diverse career as a passionate educator, currently teaching piano, improvisation and music technology at JMI (Jazz Music Institute), and piano, keyboards and ensemble studies in the Music Program at Southern Cross University too.

Steve comes from a family of gifted musicians. He has been performing since the age of five and whilst growing up received a thorough classical music education. He has twenty years experience as a side man with artists such as James Morrison, Dale Barlow, Richie Cole and Chuck Findley as well as Don Burrows and George Golla.

Based in the world famous Byron Bay, Steve has amassed a host of exceptional musicians to record and gig with around the Northern Rivers of NSW, the Gold Coast, Brisbane, Sydney and internationally at a range of Jazz festivals around the world. https://steverussell.com.au/press

https://jazzcowboyproductions.com.au/artist/steve-russell/
https://australianjazzrealbook.com/artists/steve-russell/
So let's meet Steve now to hear his creative and unique compositions here.

Steve Russell Trio

Steve Russell Band - Belongil Blues

Steve Russell Band - An Answer For Everything

And for those of you learning to play the Piano- or even established Pianists, please check out Steve's new book here for it may just very well help you not only play better, but also maintain hand health and longevity AND it may even be useful for all hand based musicians too....you just never know!

https://www.facebook.com/100063943744572/videos/australias-1-book-for-pianists-calm-hands-%EF%B8%8F/337306257493164/

https://jazzcowboyproductions.com.au/artist/steve-russell/

Sort:  

Hi @new.things, do you know this mate (girl)? or @consciouscat - just checking...

And by the way, are any of you going to @hivefest?

Ahhhh @forykw I don't know about @new.things or @consciouscat but Croatia is a longgggg way from Australia..and lots of $$$$....but you would know that too being in NZ eh...

I am dying to go and will try my hardest, but.....

Australia is a long way from everything !LOL but it is not always a bad thing !LUV We are hoping to do the UK and a bit of Europe but I do not think it will be until 2025

Yes so true and so true too!

I was meant to be going to Thailand on the 27th Feb, but unfortunately my dad died on the 28th after a couple of months in hospital with me by his side every day, so I missed that one, so in reality, I don't think I'll be going anywhere till 2025 either- as much as I would LOVE to go to Hive fest in Croatia in September because I've already missed out on 3 so far...I haven't been anywhere overseas since last Thai trip back in 2014 and have only been up north to QLD a couple of times since, though I am gong back to Cairns for a couple of week in August to catch up with some old friends...so that's something...

Sorry to hear about your Dad, but Cairns in August sounds pretty good, a prefect place to visit in the winter months.
!LUV
!ALIVE

Yeah thanks, but it was a blessing in disguise, after all, he got to 88, so not a bad innings....

And absolutely- especially living in the cold in Melbourne since I moved down from cairns in 2005! 😱

Ha I was born in Melbourne and lived there for 20 odd years but have been up in Brisbane for over 30 years now.
!PIZZA

No have not heard of this band, I will have to check them out. and hivefest would be great, probably unlikely for us but it would be fantastic. I saw your going, very cool.
!LUV
!ALIVE

forykw, new.things sent you LUV. 🙂 (2/10) tools | trade | connect | wiki | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.

@forykw! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @ new.things. (1/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power (2x 50 HP) and Alive Power (2x 500 AP) delegations (4 weeks), and Ecency Points (4x 50 EP), in our chat every day.

The search for Bill Evans, Brad Mehldau and Keith Jarrett in the pile of pre-packaged vinyl records begins at once. Reduced instrumentation, no unnecessary experiments — pure enjoyment! I am thrilled.

Ahhhh fantastic!

I am so glad that you enjoyed the other half of this magical musical couple!

I will tag you when I get some more material off them.

The sight of that double le bass is for me a delight.. I just love to see when it is played
Although I just wished I could hear only the bass play
Tha ks for sharing

I love all of those instruments playing individually and together.

I'm sure I can find some of him playing the Bass, after all, Steve is my Cousin Leigh's husband, so I'm sure that they've got recordings that they will give me...

I will tag you when that happens.

So glad that you enjoyed Steve's Band!

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@new.things(1/15) tipped @chocolatescorpi