MUSIC: Tribute to Artists We Lost in 2023 (ENG/ESP): PART 6 - Jeff Beck!

in Music3 months ago

(Ver la parte inferior de la publicación para español)


(Apologies - I normally post on 3Speak, but I have been struggling to upload for about 2 days now)

Hello everybody on HIVE, and especially the Music Community. My name is Jasper and I'm writing to you from Cape Town in South Africa!

I hope you are having a wonderful start to 2024, and that it is going to be a good, productive year for you.

Looking back at 2023, quite a few famous songwriters and musicians passed away. I thought I would do a series of weekly posts about some of them, as well as attempt to cover one or two of the songs that made them so famous.

Here is a list of some of the musicians and songwriters that passed away in 2023, that I will be researching and trying to cover:

1.Sixto Rodriguez – already covered here! (https://ecency.com/hive-193816/@jasperdick/hcubehfg)
2.Robbie Robertson – already covered here! (https://ecency.com/hive-193816/@jasperdick/cvxkndmg)
3.Tina Turner – already covered here! (https://ecency.com/hive-193816/@jasperdick/sclypzzx)
4.Sinead o’ Connor – already covered here! (https://ecency.com/hive-193816/@jasperdick/jxljehms)
5.Shane MacGowan - already covered here! (https://ecency.com/hive-193816/@jasperdick/cumgifhy)
6.Jeff Beck
7.David Crosby
8.Burt Bacharach
9.Harry Belafonte
10.Gordon Lightfoot
11.Tony Bennett

At least, these are the ones I am most familiar with! Is there anybody else who passed away in 2023 that you would like me to look into?

Let’s get cracking with Number 6 on my list: Jeff Beck!

You can read up on Jeff Beck here: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jeff_Beck

Now, I am a massive fan of Eric Clapton, so I was interested to see that Jeff Beck was who the Yardbirds trusted to replace Eric when he left the band. It was during Jeff Beck’s 20-month stint as the lead guitarist that the Yardbirds recorded most of their Top 40 hits.

Here’s one that I would like to tackle as a tribute, called “Heart Full of Soul”. Jeff Beck is the skinny, flambouyant looking guy playing the colourful guitar with the distorted lead lick:

After the Yardbirds, he also formed the Jeff Beck Group, which featured Rod Stewart (who became pretty famous after that!) on vocals and Ronnie Wood (who became famous in the Rolling Stones) on bass.

Jeff Beck is frequently listed as one of the top 5 guitarists in the world by magazines like Rolling Stone. Reportedly Pink Floyd wanted him to join their band as lead guitarist, but nobody had the guts to ask him, such was his reputation! A couple of years later, the Rolling Stones asked Jeff Beck to join them!

Instead, Jeff Beck focused on making his own music and refining what was possible with an electric guitar. Farewell and Rest in Peace to the “Guitarist’s Guitarist”!

Here’s another video of Jeff Beck that focuses on his guitar style:

Lyrics for “Heart Full of Soul” by The Yardbirds (Jeff Beck era)

Sick at heart and lonely
Deep in dark despair
Thinking one thought only
Where is she, tell me where
And if she says to you
She don't want me
Just give her my message
Tell her of my plea

And I know, if she had me back again
Oh, I would never make her sad
I got a heart full of soul

She's been gone such a long time
Longer than I can bear
But if she says she wants me
Tell her I'll be there
And if she says to you
She don't love me
Just give her my message
Tell her of my plea

And I know, if she had me back again
Oh, I would never make her sad
I got a heart full of soul

SOURCE: https://genius.com/The-yardbirds-heart-full-of-soul-lyrics

(ESP)

Hola a todos en HIVE, y especialmente a la comunidad musical. ¡Mi nombre es Jasper y les escribo desde Ciudad del Cabo en Sudáfrica!

Espero que esté teniendo un comienzo maravilloso en 2024 y que sea un año bueno y productivo para usted.

Mirando hacia 2023, fallecieron bastantes compositores y músicos famosos. Pensé en hacer una serie de publicaciones semanales sobre algunos de ellos, así como intentar cubrir una o dos de las canciones que los hicieron tan famosos.

Aquí hay una lista de algunos de los músicos y compositores que fallecieron en 2023, que investigaré e intentaré cubrir:

  1. Sixto Rodríguez – ¡ya cubierto aquí! (https://ecency.com/hive-193816/@jasperdick/hcubehfg)
  2. Robbie Robertson – ¡ya cubierto aquí! (https://ecency.com/hive-193816/@jasperdick/cvxkndmg)
  3. Tina Turner – ¡ya cubierta aquí! (https://ecency.com/hive-193816/@jasperdick/sclypzzx)
  4. Sinead o' Connor: ¡ya se trata aquí! (https://ecency.com/hive-193816/@jasperdick/jxljehms)
  5. Shane MacGowan - ¡ya cubierto aquí! (https://ecency.com/hive-193816/@jasperdick/cumgifhy)
  6. Jeff Beck
  7. David Crosby
  8. Burt Bacharach
  9. Harry Belafonte
  10. Gordon Lightfoot
  11. Tony Bennett

¡Al menos estos son con los que estoy más familiarizado! ¿Hay alguien más que falleció en 2023 a quien le gustaría que investigara?

Empecemos con el número 6 de mi lista: ¡Jeff Beck!

Puede leer más sobre Jeff Beck aquí: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jeff_Beck

Ahora, soy un gran admirador de Eric Clapton, así que me interesó ver que Jeff Beck era en quien los Yardbirds confiaban para reemplazar a Eric cuando dejó la banda. Fue durante los 20 meses de Jeff Beck como guitarrista principal que los Yardbirds grabaron la mayoría de sus éxitos del Top 40.

Aquí hay uno que me gustaría abordar a modo de homenaje, llamado “Corazón lleno de alma”. Jeff Beck es el tipo flaco y de aspecto extravagante que toca la colorida guitarra con el sonido principal distorsionado:

Después de los Yardbirds, también formó el Jeff Beck Group, que incluía a Rod Stewart (¡que se hizo bastante famoso después de eso!) en la voz y Ronnie Wood (que se hizo famoso en los Rolling Stones) en el bajo.

Jeff Beck aparece frecuentemente como uno de los cinco mejores guitarristas del mundo en revistas como Rolling Stone. Según se informa, Pink Floyd quería que se uniera a su banda como guitarrista principal, pero nadie tuvo el valor de pedírselo, ¡tal era su reputación! ¡Un par de años más tarde, los Rolling Stones le pidieron a Jeff Beck que se uniera a ellos!

En cambio, Jeff Beck se centró en hacer su propia música y refinar lo que era posible con una guitarra eléctrica. ¡Adiós y que en paz descanse el “Guitarrista del Guitarrista”!

Aquí hay otro vídeo de Jeff Beck que se centra en su estilo de guitarra:

Letra de “Heart Full of Soul” de The Yardbirds (era de Jeff Beck)

Enfermo de corazón y solitario
Profundamente en la oscura desesperación
Pensando un solo pensamiento
¿Dónde está ella, dime dónde?
Y si ella te dice
ella no me quiere
Solo dale mi mensaje
Cuéntale mi súplica

Y lo sé, si ella me tuviera de vuelta otra vez
Oh, nunca la pondría triste
tengo un corazón lleno de alma

Ella ha estado fuera por tanto tiempo
Más de lo que puedo soportar
Pero si ella dice que me quiere
Dile que estaré allí
Y si ella te dice
ella no me ama
Solo dale mi mensaje
Cuéntale mi súplica

Y lo sé, si ella me tuviera de vuelta otra vez
Oh, nunca la pondría triste
tengo un corazón lleno de alma

FUENTE: https://genius.com/The-yardbirds-heart-full-of-soul-lyrics

Sort:  

Nice 😀

When you do this years' list, don't forget to add Melanie Safka, who sadly died at the end of January. She was a true talent, and one of the really good humans 😢

modernooooo me encantó tu interpretación! Haces un gran trabajo!

That's a very nice tribute. When I post tribute about Jeff Beck I also used Heart Of Soul as an example of his work with Yardbirds but found another video. This one is great!

En realidad una pérdida dolorosa en especial para la música en general y me gustó mucho tu interpetación un aplauso para tí amigo