Sharing Some Tunes From Scarface For TTT

in Music25 days ago

So, today I learned something new about Scarface, and I figured I would write about it here.


Source


Push It To The Limit - Paul Engemann

I was floating around and this song popped up, so I was listening away and figured I would add it to the list for todays post.

Upon searching for who wrote it, I discovered something.

I never knew that this song was actually written specifically for the film Scarface, and assumed it was just a song that was already in circulation, and used for the soundtrack because it worked well with the montage scene.

It's one song that I can't listen to without thinking of this film, and I suppose that's why.

The synths, and that whistle thing that plays through is also really cool. It feels like two things, Scarface, and GTA: Vice City - obviously because that game is heavily inspired by Scarface in a lot of ways.

Not a bad song though, and it's really interesting that it was born just for this movie.

It was written by Giorgio Moroder, and Pete Bellotte.


She's On Fire - Amy Holland

Okay, I fell down a bit of a rabbit hole, because as far as I was concerned these songs were just songs that were chosen to be used in the film.

But, this one was also written by the same people, to then be performed by another artist, specifically for the film itself.

The producer, and composer work really well together to be able to generate all of this music, that fits the tone, and in some ways, creates the tone of the film. I've always found that certain scores for movies really bring it to life and give it a style, or texture, and that's true for Scarface.

Reservoir Dogs was always well known for its sound track too, and in a lot of ways that films soundtrack brought many of its most famous scenes to life.


Shake It Up - Elizabeth Daily

This one was produced by Giorgio Moroder too, but was composed by Arthur Barrow and performed by Elizabeth Daily.

It's another good song, that works well with the film, and it's another one that has me a bit flabbergasted, to realise that these didn't exist until the film came out.

As they say, every day is a school day, and today I accidently got schooled about one of my favourite films.

Sort:  

Ma boy killer's got the very best taste in music... Lovely lovely music man.... You definitely killed it on this one🥰🥰🥰

I'm not sure I've seen the film. It may be one of many classics that I've managed to miss. The music is very typical of that era with lots of synths and drum machines. You can just hear a film on TV and know it's from the 80s.

!PIZZA

It's a great film, Al Pachino's career was pretty much made from it. The music really makes it though and sets the tone.

I was surpised that these songs were made for it, rather than being chosen for it.

There seems to be more use of existing songs these days, but there's lots of original music in films. I wonder what the composers get paid. John Williams must have made a lot from all the blockbusters he's done. There must be issues around rights for existing songs. I think in some cases they can't get permission, so may get someone to write something in a similar mood. Music can really affect us and it's hard to imagine some scenes without it.

The sheer amount of music John Williams created for all the films he worked with is insane. I'd love to see one of the concerts that take place occasionally, some are specific to say Star Wars, where clips would be shown while the music plays, but there are also mixed ones that shows multiple films in one show.

There's something actually, I never knew this, but the singer from Toto, is the son of John Williams.

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@steevc(1/5) tipped @killerwot