Music is the only thing the soul feeds on.

in Music14 days ago

Hello, everyone.

Music is as old as man; it started a very long time ago but did not fade with time; instead, it continued to evolve to fit into every era. Every era had music or song that was so suitable to the soul and body. Music evolved over time; the way we get to hear it changed with time; the way it is stored; and the instruments used also changed over time. Music evolved in numerous ways just to suit our taste in music. Back in the day, all there was was the flute, harps, and a few others, but today the list of instruments used to make melodious music is too numerous to mention. Music also evolved into different genres; many things faded with time, but definitely not music. Music plays a vital role in our lives.

designed in canva.

The body needs food to function perfectly; all the soul needs is good music. We have different genres of music, and we all have one or two genres of music that we all enjoy and vibe to any day, anytime, especially when we are feeling very low. Music can uplift one's spirit; some say it can mend a broken heart. I cannot doubt because music does a lot more than the eyes can really see. It works like magic; it is a pill for many of us. Whenever we feel down and feel like letting go, music helps us find a reason to keep going.

Music carries a lot of messages. Some artists use their music to send a message, but it is left for the listener to get the message or decode whatever message the singer is trying to pass. I really do enjoy listening to music, but it is funny how, despite all these years, I still can't sing, but I always listen to music. A day without music in my life is an incomplete day; it is like a tradition for me. I bet it is not just me that feels listening to music while getting house chores done makes the house chores a lot easier and reduces the amount of time spent on these chores. If you listen to music while getting chores done, you get to feel really energetic. Music has a lot of roles it plays in our lives.

The genre of music I love and enjoy often leaves people in shock. I grew up with a dad who loves and enjoys reggae music. While growing up, I only listened to reggae music and, on rare occasions, Michael Jackson. I grew up to love reggae music too; I don't know how, but it just happened, and whenever I tell people that they say reggae is a song for old men, I can't help it. Sometimes I feel like this genre of music is already a part of me, and doing away with it is an impossible thing to do, so friends either accept me with my favorite genre of music or just let me be because there is no way I am changing my favorite genre of music or stopping listening to it.

designed in canva.

I have heard a lot of people say reggae artists just make noise and shout, but no, that is not true. In our world today, reggae music is one of the very few songs with meaning and a message. You just have to listen closely or get the lyrics to know what they are talking about. When you listen to the likes of Lucky Dube and Bob Marley, you always hear them using their songs to talk to politicians, fighting for the masses, while in some of their songs you get to learn life lessons. Reggae music is one of the oldest genres of music, and I love how it never gets old.

Thanks for reading my post.

This is my entry for day 17 of the InLeo monthly prompt. You can join by clicking the above link.

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

You are right. All the soul needs is good music. It is nice seeing how you speak so passionately of music and what it entails. I do love reggae music and do not think it is noise making.