Eyes & Emotions...

in The MINIMALIST17 days ago

One of the beautiful things about life is how we reason and react differently to things happening around us. I have often wondered what the world would look like if we all behaved, reasoned, and reacted to things the same way. Without a doubt, it's definitely going to be a very boring world, but as boring as it is, it would be a perfect place for some humans.

Understanding that every human isn't the same has taught me to cope with a whole lot of things, but there are some things that I can't just cope with or blend in with, no matter how much I try.


Growing up, I was fond of saying that one man's food is another man's poison because there were things a lot of people found okay that didn't sit well with me. At first, I always tried making people understand why I can't cope with something but eventually found it stressful repeating myself just because I didn't want people to have a wrong impression about me.

I told myself, You don't have to always explain yourself; just do what helps you stay physically, mentally, and emotionally balanced.


It's okay to say that we live in a visually stimulating world, and the things we see around us are capable of influencing our emotions, mood, and wellbeing.

If I am not mistaken, the human eye is part of the sensory organ. It receives information in the form of light and converts it to electrical signals that are transmitted to the brain for interpretation. The connection between the human brain and eyes or other sensory organs is deep which answers why these organs are capable of influencing different things about humans.

One of the things I find visually stressful is a cluttered or disorganized space, and as simple as it sounds, it drains me quite quicker than other things I explained below.

Back in my junior high school years, sitting in the front row of the classroom was something I never joked about, but because of my height, teachers were found chasing me back, which was a huge setback for me. Seeing the classroom unorganized from behind was a huge distraction, and it left me with zero concentration. I end up grabbing nothing, and even writing notes after the teacher's lesson was impossible. It went on for a while before a teacher gave me a permanent seat in the front row, and my attitude towards learning changed.

As annoying as cluttered space was to me, it baffles me how it doesn't bother some humans. My roommate in polytechnic was very annoying when it came to cluttering, and it bothered me so much that I had to move into an empty room with just my mattress and window blind, which I find very comfortable compared to a cluttered, well-furnished room.


Understanding how cluttered space affects me is one of the reasons I eventually embraced studying around nature when I got admission to a higher institution. The pleasant view of nature causes my brain to become active, and that helps while studying.

The sight of clutter anywhere I find myself doesn't go well with me, and if it's somewhere I can make things right, I wouldn't hesitate to fix the place immediately.

As kids, mom always made us choose a house chore at the beginning of the year, and I always pleaded to get sweeping/arranging the home because that's the only way to put the house in the exact order that I find very comfortable and pleasant to my eyes. I place so much value on decluttering my space to avoid developing stress visually, but it's just inevitable sometimes especially when I am not in my space; not every human finds cluttering their space annoying.

Bright or flickering Light is another thing that causes visual stress, and it gets really worse at night. A lot of people who know me very well can attest that I barely leave my house after sunset just because of how bright light affects me. Aside from being inconveniencing in other ways, it causes me to have a blurry view for up to a minute after seeing a bright light.

My mom always complained about me sleeping in a dark room till today, and I wish she could know how I feel having lights on in my bedroom at night. Having light penetrating into my room is capable of keeping me awake, not to speak of having a bright or flickering light on while attempting to sleep. I have tried colored bulbs, but none have helped my situation, so I just embrace sleeping in my room without light.

For this reason, I spend limited time in front of the TV, and my phone brightness mode is always zero, plus my eyecare feature is always on whenever I am indoors.

Lastly, excessive visual stimuli are another cause of visual stress for me. Although I find a lot of outdoor views quite inspirational, especially for writing or graphic design, but when it becomes too much, it becomes stressful.

As a Lagosian, coping with excessive visual stimuli is mandatory because of the city's population and activities happening at different corners of the city, but it's a mission impossible for me. Whenever I spend much time on the road or streets of Lagos, I get extremely tired mentally than physically when I return home.

During my working days, I always try to stay very positive about my exposure to these excessive visual stimuli, and they only last for a short time. I usually don't get myself back in shape until after taking a nap.


Just like I mentioned earlier, these things don't bother some humans, and it's quite understandable because every human can't be the same. I have tried coping as well, and since it's difficult, I just have to stick to my anti-visual stress routine.

All Images Belong To Me.

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

I read somewhere that a clean space improves mental health. I guess that’s very true. I also got tired of having to explain myself and say “Sorry” all the time. Now, I just do me and let others assume what they want to. Because I’m genuinely tired of having to explain things over and over again and make myself look like a girl with problems.

Lolz, it's really annoying when you try adjusting the best way you can just to accommodate people while them on the other hand will always want an explanation every you try to make them see that they are inconveniencing you.

Clean space always put me in good mood for anything and it extends beyond things I can even say with ordinary mouth... 🤣

Each person is different. And each person is also free to choose how he or she wants to be and how he or she wants to live. It is just a matter of being clear about it.
Sometimes we have to adapt to circumstances that are not ideal because we are also social beings. But I tell you, if you are clear about who you are and where you want to go, anything is possible.

Spiritual well-being and mental health are non-negotiable.

I agree with you on the fact that anything related to our health shouldn't be negotiable because whatever it turns out to be will be ours whether it's good or bad.

Our differences makes us unique and I respect people for who they are.

Indeed, it is the greatest gift we have ever been given. To be unique.

@tipu curate

Thanks for the curation and cheers to a beautiful week.