Bits and Bobs

in The MINIMALIST11 months ago (edited)

It’s often hard to see yourself accurately reflected in the mirror of life. Sometimes the image that you see reflected there can be more than a little unsettling. What I see in my mirror is somewhat unflattering. And like an alcoholic who needs to admit his/her addiction to alcohol, I have to admit my addiction to fabric and haberdashery. Oh, yes, you heard that RIGHT!

I live amongst mounds of buttons, zips, pins, studs, and thousands of itsy bitsy pieces of fabric that are just big enough to "possibly" make something out of but too small to actually justify collection. I’m a junkie. I collect material, and my stash fills every cupboard (where clothes should hang), every shelf (where linen should be folded), and any available corner in almost every room in my house.

Is this a minimalist trend, I ask myself, or is it the exact opposite?

Looking in that reflective mirror, I do understand that it’s simply a part of my youthful training against waste that has turned me into a fabric hoarder—I can’t throw things away that might—just maybe—come into use. I’m a hoarder! (Geez! Hoarder is such a nasty word, isn’t it?)

On the other hand, hoarding creates unbound clutter. It wastes space. It’s untidy, and it’s wasteful in its own right.

So what the hell am I going to do about it? What?

Options:

Throw it out?

Donate it to a charitable organization?

Live, as is, in the looking glass of calamity?

None of the above choices are easy. To throw it out or donate it would take at least a month of careful sorting because there are "valuable" items interspersed among the clutter. Keeping it is, however, a nightmare.

Logically, I’m going to sort and donate. However, not today. No, not at all. Today, I’m going to sit in the sunshine in my garden and write a post about mirrors, junk, and choices.


Images are mine shot using my iPad

Sort:  

Hahaha. Years ago when I first started decluttering, I made a point to put a moratorium for the most part on buying certain things until I used up what I had, and craft stuff was one of them, unless I really needed a certain thing to complete a project (such as, a thread to match that I didn't have or something like that). Over the years, I've used up a lot of my stash, and I'm happy about that. I've done a lot of upcycling and completed projects for the purpose of using up a stash (for instance, I knit a bunch of cat mats for kitties in shelters and used up a bunch of my yarn stash).
You can also try giving away craft items on the Buy Nothing app!

Now, that’s what I call a good idea 👍 I could do dog 🐶 jackets and jerseys and T-shirts for kids in orphanages etc. Brilliant ❤️💕❤️💕❤️💕❤️💕

Maybe you can cell at Hive Thrifted

https://ecency.com/created/hive-167845

Have you heard about this new community?

I have. Hehe! Thanks for reminding me ❤️💕

Hehe! I can relate to this because I grew up around fashion designers. The gadgets are always handy and I like to see them. I used to buy and collect buttons as a teenager. Gosh, that feels like another life. The fact that they make you happy is a good thing, and reason enough for me to say live your life just the way it is. However, if you ever start to feel any form of unhappiness from your collection. Then you'll know that it's time to evaluate and revamp your live.😘
small KISS Gif.gif
Thanks for your #KISS
I enjoyed it 😉


lips sealed

speaking lips

You've been curated by @plantpoweronhive! Delegations welcome!

Find our community here

Curation Trail

Hive thrifted, I have seen post about selling stuffs and you can as well donate them.

There are people who will be grateful to have these items, I will rather give it after sorting.