Too Much of a Little

in The MINIMALIST16 days ago (edited)

It had been seven hours of chain classes and I was fatigued, famished and wished I could soak in a pool to quench the effect of the blistering heatmbI nearly ran to my dorm room from the class blocks and when I opened the door, I exhaled a breath I didn’t know I was holding.

My side of the room was spick and span. The bedspread was in place without a crease in sight, the few footwear I’ve got here in school in a neat row at the foot of the bed, my reading desk had books daintily arranged on it and even my little laundry basket was well placed at the corner. All had been arranged by me that morning before leaving for my classes. In that moment, I forgot the blistering heat and slumped on the bed literally.

The fact that there was no physical clutter in sight aided my peace of mind beyond measure. Aesthetically pleasing environment and that too when it’s fostered by you, induces this level of satisfaction that I was super grateful for.

But what really is clutter?

Clutter means disorganised. Clutter means chaotic. Clutter means stress. Whatever bunch of things constitute a strain to the eyes, to your emotions, to your mental health, I call it clutter. I’m not a fan of it because more than anything, I know the effect of undue stress to me or strain to my peace of mind, and I usually feel the strain in the simplest of things that a lot of people wouldn’t find a problem.

The first is the Physical Clutter I mentioned in the starting. I love when I can come back to an organised environment. I had an altercation with my roommate because though the room was divided into her side and mine, she’d clutter my side with dirty bowls, buckets, footwear and what have you. When I’d bring it up, she’d look at me like I was the problem.

“It’s just a small mess. It’s literally not that deep.”

But it was that deep in reality. I mean, even though I hate turning to see your cluttered side, I don’t ask you to clear it up. So, respectfully, don’t clutter my side as well. That logic is mostly always lost on her.

Another thing I find a problem which a lot of people don’t seem to have is Digital Clutter. I’ve looked at my friends’ phones before and immediately returned them because I couldn’t stand how it looked. Why is almost nothing in folders? Why are school files mixed with Church files? Why are your Crypto mining apps scattered everywhere instead of in a folder so it would be easily accessible? And why, for goodness sake, don’t you clear your notification bar? Why do you have fifty notifications just piled on top?

Gives me a headache just thinking about it.

The usual excuse is, “So that I can attend to each of them when I have time.” But you’re on TikTok, why not attend to it now?

Visually and mentally stressful on all counts.

This next one might be a little controversial but I don’t think we can talk about clutter without talking about Emotional Clutter. Negative thoughts, toxic relationships with people that hinder you, too many romantic relationships(apparently, it’s a thing) and what have you. I think clutter, for me, is the most reflective in the relationships I keep.

Whatever relationship makes me think too much, second guess myself, and think less of myself is confronted and eliminated as I see fit. Many of us don’t realize the toll some relationships take on our mental health. We can’t be at peace in our minds because we have people weighing us down with their words and actions. It’s such a strain keeping up with all of that. So why not declutter??

I’m amused when people brag about their three and four romantic relationships. I can’t possibly judge them but my question is, “Don’t you find it stressful?” The stress of keeping up with them, keeping them secret from the other, fulfilling your responsibilities in all....what is then left of your peace of mind?

Lastly, I find Overthinking a Mental Clutter. Dwelling on a particular thing, spending time to ponder and ponder out of habit. A lot of people talk about it like it can’t be helped and that’s just how they are. Maybe it can’t. Frankly, I can’t relate because if I can’t solve the problem, or I can’t confront it, or talk to someone about it at least, why can’t I let it go, instead of hindering my focus and ability to think clearly?

I don’t know how right or wrong I am in any of this but I’d love to hear your opinions. I’m happy the Minimalist #KISS Topic gives this room to reflect.

What about you? What everyday form of clutter do you find stressful?

Jhymi🖤


All images are mine.

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

Its really a peace of mind coming back to a home with everything in place. Its even an aid to our mental health that money can not buy because we are the ones that has to develop and maintain this lifestyle.

Enjoy your week sis ❤️😇

I like the way you put it. An aid money can't buy. Or can it?
I hope you have a beautiful weekend ahead, Sis.🥰

Sure lovely 🥰. I don’t think money can. Its all a flare 👍

Enjoy your weekend beautiful 😍❤️

first things first let me say I like the setup of your phone. I have things in folders but they're not even half as organized as this. Maybe I may borrow some inspiration.

As for clutters I dislike them a lot. But once in a while i find myself stuck in a mental clutter (overthinking). But I am working towards it and it doesn't happen so frequently

!PIZZA !LUV

jhymi, b0s sent you LUV. 🙂 (1/1) tools | trade | connect | wiki | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.

Please borrow inspiration from me or maybe you could give me the phone to organise for you, sometime.😄

And I did think of you when I wrote of mental clutter. Everyone is a work in progress so I know you'll overcome it soon enough.🌺

Walking over to an arranged room is peaceful, that moment when you feel so exhausted then landing in a cold arranged bed is baa.

I wonder how some persons keep up to three relationship like how. Do you feel at peace?

You get it...
Emphasis on cold. You practically feel all your problems dissipate from your shoulders. One of the best feelings fr.🌺

You've written elaborately on this topic. As someone that loves minimalism, I seek peace and comfort in all ramifications. There's no comfort in cluttered spaces.

I can relate well with all of these, the one I hate most is that emotional clutter, I don't tolerate any relationship that makes me feel drained. I still have a lot to say, but let me reserve it:)

Thanks for sharing and happy Sunday to you.

It does leave one drained, doesn't it?
Glad you could resonate with it, dear Phyna and I hope you have a wonderful week.🥰

Having two or three relationships and bragging about it is so stressful like you said. I feel irked just thinking about it.

That your roommate is a controversial person o 😁

Very controversial indeed. Me I didn't even have strength to tackle the issue.😂

😂😂😂

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@b0s(1/5) tipped @jhymi