Staying afloat the clutter

in The MINIMALIST19 days ago
My most recent discovery has been my utmost desire to overcome abject poverty or a life that has not been full of accomplishments. And yes, I have been a superhero to myself and many around me in a bid to race against time.


In a frenzy to stay afloat in harsh economic realities and family responsibilities, I discovered I became a jack of all trades, jumping from one task to another without successfully accomplishing the previous. I got worn out—very stressed, in fact—like I bore the burden of the world on my shoulders. My colleague at work keeps saying that life is a war zone, and he would do everything to stay above average or on the winning side.


And I realized that I am one out of many, trying to make ends meet by being a clutter of many things, hardly dissociating passion or pleasure from responsibilities. I stopped living, actually, borne by stress such that it had a negative impact on my health, until I took a pause in life late last year, withdrew, and eventually identified major stressors surrounding me, which included the expectations of family and society. I was meeting needs, but at the cost of pleasure and health.


Then again, I looked around and realized that the younger generations now battle with diseases that were common with the older generation. Perhaps too many expectations from us made us work ourselves out until we managed to hit some commendable targets. And just like my colleague at war with the world, he does three jobs to meet his needs. I envy his income but not his lifestyle, as he hardly finds time to rest, gets home late, and by the following morning, he's on the street yet again.


I was tempted to equally join in the race against time, adding more work to those already on my table, but I had a rethink, thankfully. Working hard is good, but picking some out of many to work on is better for me. I do get better results when I work on a few items rather than envelope myself with a clutter of expectations and responsibilities. I keep reminding myself that I am one of the billions of people on earth, and I cannot satisfy the world even if I try.


Identifying my limits, working on a few goals rather than wanting to achieve many before a certain age or time has helped me to live life a little. I rode my bicycle this evening and discovered it had been left dusty for a while because I have been busy pursuing life. Constantly reminding myself to take life easy, do the few important ones, and leave the unnecessary puts me in a better health condition and affords me the leisure to relax, meditate, and have a clearer vision.


IMG_20240112_083309_182.jpg

I have no doubt achieved some goals in my life and, relatively, some independence, just like the car I bought with my own money. Yeah, it was not bad desiring some goals or achievements. But I didn't find lasting satisfaction in it; I had fuel or the mechanic to contend with every now and then. Thus, I concluded that the world and myself cannot be fully satisfied, as there will always be other things that need our attention and time. Taking it slow in a frenzy of clutter has helped me achieve better with the little than end up as a mediocre in the clutter.


1713468251386.jpeg

The pressure has significantly decreased for me since I stopped putting pressure on myself. I don't get pressured by work or family and work at my own pace. Though I am not quick to attain achievements and expectations, I enjoy the peace of good health and less troubling and worrying thoughts. I attend to matters that are of the utmost importance while ensuring that I am not found wanting in my primary assignments. Setting goals is good, and working to achieve financial independence is commendable, but not at the risk of health, leisure, or living life a little.


Unlike my colleague, who believes he's at war with life and must achieve certain goals through working himself out, I choose to take it slow, execute the very important things, eat good food, and ensure I have time for myself and my mental state.


ALL IMAGES ARE MINE


Thank you for reading. I would love to have your comments and contributions.

Sort:  

It's good to discard anything that will cause us mental stress, a simple lifestyle is rewarding.

You're right. Thank you for your kind comment.