My simple Guides to Minimalist Living

in The MINIMALIST18 days ago

Greetings!

It was early December last year when a friend messaged me to ask how easy it is for me to write in the minimalism community, and I simply told her that it's as easy as ABCD because it's what I always do.

"Well, I'm happy for you, and I wish I were you," she responded.

When I asked her why she's wishing to be like me, she said she's not the minimalist type and has tried to cut down on some things, but living a very free and flamboyant life is just in her nature. She then shared with me that she has a well-to-do aunt who lives similarly and splashes her with all sorts of goodies.
I went on to share with her the guidelines I've been using and have mastered, and along the line, she gave me the "you're stingy" talk, which I laughed off and shook my head.

Check out the following guidelines;

  • Cook and eat at home instead of eating out:

I'm a very proud bachelor who's currently living a very low-key life within the capacity of my pocket. I have a market that's very close to my street, and I go there almost every two weeks to get food items, which I use to prepare my own meals.

Currently, eating out in my country is no joke at all. The food that used to cost N1,000 now costs N4,000, and this meal is eaten in one sitting. This money, when used to prepare a meal, can last for two to three days.

One of my friends is pestering me to go to an eatery to eat fresh fish pepper soup, which will cost nothing less than N10,000. Since she initiated the idea, I've reduced the attention I was giving her.

  • Use simpler Apps:

Till today, many people still argue about the differences between Lite apps and the main apps. Take Facebook, for example; the main app has more expanded features than the simpler version called Lite. Just as the name implies, the simpler version is lighter and consumes less data when in use compared to the main app, thus saving me a lot of data.
Why am I saying all these? Data is one is thing that's consuming our finances, making us to just keep spending money. But when the consumption is reduced, money is saved.

  • Do not buy trends:

There's nothing wrong with living life to its fullest, especially when it comes to clothing; it makes someone feel special. But have you ever compared the cost of trending clothes at their peak to when the trend has subsided? You'll see that in the long run, those who waited to buy when the trend reduced have it. Anyways, I'm not a fan of trends; I just like good clothes. If by any chance I want to go with a trendy item, I wait until the price has come down before purchasing.

  • Food and consumption:

The last time I checked, the definition of a balanced diet is food containing all types of nutrients in their correct proportion. Cooking a whole goat just to finish it in one day is never evidence of living or eating well. No, it's totally a waste of money. For me, I cook what I know I'll eat within my target in such a way that I don't throw it away. I'm the type that doesn't like my beans to extend to the next day because it loses its value, so I make sure I cook the quantity that I'll be able to finish within the day.

  • Quality over quantity always:


Before I bought the bet I'm currently using, which has lasted for 7 years and is still counting, I used to buy bet every 3 months. These bets would get damaged within that time, and I would go on to buy another cheap one, little did I know that I was wasting resources. That's when I closed my eyes and bought the one I'm currently using, which cost me four times the money I used to buy the cheap one.

Look at how it has lasted me, and it's still in very good condition. If I were to be buying the cheap bet every 3 months, I would have spent millions of Naira on bets over these 7 years.

Thanks for reading.
This is my entry to #KISS prompt of the week

| All photos are mine |

Sort:  

These can provide some extra saving strength for me

Yeaaah.. thank you for stopping by
!BBH

@mercurycodm! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @kingsleyy. (1/20)

Thank you. I am grateful 😃

These are some great points.
Thanks for sharing:)

small KISS Gif.gif
Thanks for your #KISS
I enjoyed it 😉


lips sealed

speaking lips

Many thanks 🙌🙌
!bbh

I will buy trends Kingsley 😂