Chuck T's and Black Jeans: A Minimal Winter Wardrobe

in The MINIMALIST10 months ago

I love winter in Australia. I live down south, where it's cold, and yes, we even get frost, and if you go to the mountains, you might even get snow. The older I get, the more I want to cover up - summer means showing off more of my body than I'm comfortable with. I don't care much for fashion. I just like things that bring me joy. If I could afford this vintage Patagonia jacket with mushroom lining, man, that would bring me joy.

If you opened up my jeans drawer, you'd see a pile of black jeans. Some are covered in paint, perfect for gardening. Some are darker black, perfect for work with a long baggy cardigan. Some are in between, worn with boots and op shop wooly jumpers and coats, for walking in the forest or going to the beach. Either way, it's unfussy - black jeans are my go to, minimal fashion and ultimate practicality winter wear.

And at work, sometimes I can wear the same pair of black jeans, all week, and no one will notice. All I need to do is change my shirt, cardigan and scarf, and maybe my shoes, and I'm done.

It's minimal fashion at it's finest.

Speaking of shoes, a pair of black leather converse complete my ensemble. I've always worn Chuck T's, since I was a teenager. I had a pair of camouflage ones and a bright pink pair. Lately my favourite have been a navy blue pair, but I've chosen black this time because they go with everything and I can get away with wearing them at work.

image.png

And if it's not them, it's my cowboy boots. A girl's gotta have a pair of winter boots, and if they are chosen wisely, they can last for years, making good economic sense.

Boots, Converse, a pair of trainers and a pair of elastic sided workboots for the garden are my entire shoe-drobe (I just made that up - it's a wardrobe for shoes). My current boots are cowboy boots. I adore them. I get a lot of comments from them and they just go with anything I wear - they are pulled on over thick socks and are comfortable and warm.

And in summer, even better - barefeet or a pair of thongs (don't laugh - that's what we call flip flops here).

Currently, I'm taking a lot of clothes to the op shop, because I don't want anything I can't fit into a backpack, and anything I haven't worn in two years ain't worth holding onto.

I'm starting to think about winter in the UK, and how my clothes won't cut it. Whilst I might live in a cold part of Australia, it ain't nothing on winter in England. Even the boots need to be warmer - lined, preferably.

I'll definitely be packing my black jeans and my Converse, but the rest is going to take more thought.

Keep it simple, I keep telling myself. Keep it simple.

Image of converse courtesy of me and Midjourney.

With Love,

image.png

Footer Copy (1).png
The Fungi Lovers Community: Home of #FungiFriday

My Post.jpg

Are you on HIVE yet? Earn for writing! Referral link for FREE account here!


Sort:  

Congratulations @riverflows! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 510000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 520000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Join the HiveBuzz Women's World Cup Contest - Register Before It Starts And Win Big!

I like your minimalist style. I'm a lover of Converse too, but I'm gonna give Vans a try for my next purchase.

Anything I haven't worn in two years ain't worth holding onto.

✅ It has taken me a while to not have an attachment to clothes and this is such a valuable way to judge what and when you need to declutter your closet.

I like what you said about cowboy boats, as they are so versatile. Yes, you might need a few warmer pairs of thick socks for the colder months in the UK:)

I'll be in Cornwall the last week of September and then back in Devon after. It would be great to meet up with you if you'll be close to these parts of the UK.
small KISS Gif.gif
Thanks for your #KISS
I enjoyed it 😉


lips sealed

speaking lips

We won't be over til next year! But hopefully we can swing it.

The first time I experienced proper winter in the UK I had SUCH thin soled trainers and my feet were freeeeeeeeeeezing! Jamie used to laugh at me for having two coats sometimes - farrrk I was cold!

I have some boots appropriate for the UK and even some wellies that are stilla t my mother in laws. I'm more worried about the heat next summer!

OK I'm a little behind here. I've heard you talking about the UK, but I thought it would be for a visit. This makes it seem more long term, What are you going to the UK for and when?

I love me some black jeans and sneakers too. I feel sexy and strong in that combo. I used to buy Camper sneakers, because they were so wonderfully wide, but they've changed that to shoes that are too narrow for my feet. Maybe it's time I had a pair of Chuck T's.

I feel sexy and strong in that combo

Very important at our age!

We're headed over maybe Feb and staying for six months to a year, not sure yet - we'll see how it goes and how the money lasts!

And...why? Just for kicks?

Well, yeah, an adventure. But also Jamie's homesick and misses his Mum and sister, and we both miss the northern hemisphere.

Oh lovely. I'm glad you're both able to go.

I had some canvas Allstars back in the day but never had a pair of leather ones. My wardrobe was greatly simplified when I moved to California. You could go anywhere in a pair of shorts and a polo. No more ties or jackets for me. Now its more jeans and tshirt but same idea.

Milder weather = easier wardrobe! We always laugh at Queenslanders with their endless tshirts and shorts, totally unprepared to visit our state in the south!

I was thinking about how you get by with thick socks in cowboy boots in winter and my felt lined Sorels that are a must here...

They sound lovely and warm!

Best thing I've found for the winter cold here!