An Outlier In A Sea Of Luminous Spaces

in The MINIMALIST15 days ago

IMG_20231124_193038_15.jpg

There's this thing about brightness that makes me feel like an outsider, always squinting and shielding my eyes, and it seems weird to many because I'm in a world that craves illumination.

I have never been diagnosed with eye problems, but I dislike excessive brightness. Whenever I get hold of someone's device, despite the owner's warning, I tend to reduce the brightness to the lowest level before I'm able to use it, because the piercing glow of screens and harsh lighting slices through my eyes like a razor, leaving me in discomfort. If I ignore it, I most likely end up with a migraine. My friends are already fed up, as they just let me do my thing, and when I'm done, they undo whatever settings I put on their phone. Sometimes I sit down and thank whoever came up with the idea of 'dark mode' on devices; the person was really thoughtful to have included that feature, as it really saves a lot of people like me.

IMG_20240417_112035_749.jpg

Bright spaces feel like an assault on my senses, and sometimes I can't help but wonder how all the people I know are so used to it. They can't stand dark mode. It's a little awkward that I'm the only one in my circle who's so in love with the shadows.

One time, a friend of mine told me I was going to go blind looking at a dimly lit screen. Her comment scared me a little, but after carrying out some research on the topic, I figured the chances were really slim. She was even more likely to go blind from the kind of brightness she was exposed to compared to me.

Excessive brightness, whether from sunlight, devices, or car headlights, is visually stressful to me, as it mostly messes with my daily routine. If I spend thirty minutes looking at bright lights, my day would be a complete mess, as the migraine that would come after would leave me bedridden. Many people, even my mom, complain about how they can't see my screen whenever they want to make use of my phone due to the dark mode settings and low brightness, but I really don't bother myself with what anyone else thinks; my sanity is more important.

IMG_20240417_112019_135.jpg

Bright lights drain my energy and fray my nerves. While people or should I say, the world seems to be bathed in an abrasive glare, I feel like an outlier in a sea of luminous spaces. My preference for less brightness is more than just a quirk; I find comfort in shadows rather than in bright spaces, and I think that's okay, as it helps me function better during the day.

Some say I was a vampire in my previous life, but that's just crazy. I believe Netflix has messed with our brains so much that we think there's something like a previous life or creatures like vampires. Anyway, vampires are cool, though. If that title will make people understand that excessive brightness or lighting is visually stressful to me, then I'm cool with it.

PS: my idea of clutter here is in terms of sensory experiences.

Sort:  

Congratulations @teknon! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You published more than 750 posts.
Your next target is to reach 800 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - May 15, 2024
 14 days ago  

Minimalist Cover Gif-7.jpg

It’s very understandable that many don’t see that high brightness of the phone hinders the eyes, but its not too good especially the norm of always being on the phone with such a brightness.

Everyone has different vision status.some it may not hinder others it could cause problems later in life.

True. Excessive brightness is not good especially for people that spend hours on their phones or computers. Thank you so much for stopping by. I really appreciate.

Its a pleasure. Have a nice day.

I truly agree with you, excessive brightness especially in the hot climate I live in is quite stressful for me also

I'm glad you can relate. Thank you so much for stopping by.

You're welcome