Saying Our Goodbyes

whitby-13-v2.jpg
Idyllic Ruswarp

I haven't been active on Hive much at all, in fact this is my first post this year. I haven't done a lot of photography and not really felt the inclination to do so. But I hope this post may be a little cathartic if nothing else.

whitby-16.jpg
The Hobbit Hotel

When the kids were young (and before we discovered the delights of foreign travel) we used to visit Whitby on a regular basis. When my partner, Lynne, passed away last year, one of her requests was that her ashes be spread in or near Whitby. It was a place she was happy in.

whitby-6.jpg
North Yorkshire

So the whole family rented a cottage (with an annexe - what we called the Hobbit Hotel) and spent the weekend just being together and celebrating Lynne's life. It was a wonderful setting - gorgeous in fact. Pretty much what you expect of North Yorkshire. We hadn't been to Whitby for some years and whilst the character is still the same, even in February it was totally rammed. We have been there on Regatta weekends and also when Whitby Goth weekend has been on. Both big events. But I really can't remember the crowds being as big as they were on that cold, wet February weekend. It made me think differently about the place.

whitby-25.jpg
The tide

We chose Sandsend to spread her ashes. It has a big beach and we used to visit there regularly when in Whitby. It was a cold, drab day on the beach where we sent Lynne on her final journey. She loved to travel so there is some comfort that she will forever be travelling the world.

divider-black.png

About me:

I can mostly be found shooting models, aviation, motorsports and, when I can, wildlife. But I enjoy most aspects of photography. You can find more of my work on the links below.

divider-black.png

Social Media
Facebook Photography Page
Facebook Personal Page
Instagram
Instagram - Second Account
Twitter

divider-black.png

Website
https://brianbroganphotography.com/

Logo-header-v2.jpg

Sort:  
 4 months ago  

I'm (@castleberry) sorry to hear about the passing of your partner. I had no idea. I was excited to see you had posted since it's been a while. Hopefully, this trip and saying goodbye celebrating and remembering her life will help the grieving process and bring some amount of closure for you and the family. My condolences Brian.

@castleberry many thanks my friend. It did indeed help. A lovely weekend full of laughter and a few tears. But a send off she would have been happy with.
Thanks you