[EN/PT-BR] Throwing myself in the water - with my camera!

in Photography Lovers8 months ago (edited)
English [🇺🇸]

Hey guys! This is my first post here in this community! I'm a biologist, surfer, and surf photographer (but I only do that from out of the water – for now). I started photographing animals and landscapes in 2012 when I bought my first camera. A while later, I started photographing surfing, and recently, it's the type of photography that takes up most of my time. For those who want to know a little more about my story, I suggest reading my introduction post here at Hive 😊

Let's get to what matters!

You know when you've been wanting something for so long that you didn't even really know you wanted it (in fact, maybe you always knew, but there was something "holding you back") and "out of nowhere" it unlocks, and you take a small step forward?

I don't expect you to see anything like "Clark Little" stuff here, but with the photos I'm bringing you today, maybe I've taken the third step toward what I want (yes, third!).

💡The first step: just go

I've only been photographing surfing from out of the water for a few years, mainly due to financial/logistical limitations or perhaps even fear of trying something different/leaving my comfort zone.

At the beginning of last year, I finally took an aquatic photography workshop, which had been in my sights for a long time. The workshop was only for women and was taught by Ana Catarina (one of my references/inspiration in surf and water photography here in Brazil) and Nossa Escola de Fotografia in Rio de Janeiro. There, we could understand techniques, try different equipment, and get in the water and practice.

The workshop was incredible, but for me, it was a little frustrating because I didn't come back with any photos that I considered good. One of the reasons was because one of the cameras I used had the case fogged up in front of the lens, and this ruined the photos. Others could have been my positioning in the water or because I spent a long time using a GoPro and was not getting the desired result.

DSC00645-2.jpg
DSC00647-2.jpg
DSC00658-2.jpg
These are some of the photos I took that could have been good if it weren't for the blurry case.

GX0132181024-2.jpg
GX0132240229-2.jpg
But some GoPro photos were kinda cool.

But I think everyone starts out that way, or at least most people do. Something always goes wrong, or your expectations don't always come true. And it took me a while to realize that.

👓 The second step: a new perspective

Three weeks ago, a year and a half after I took this workshop, I unlocked something else in myself. I remember Ana Catarina saying that the problem with surf photographers (most of them) is that they always do the same thing. The photographer arrives at the beach and faces the surf spot. They don't move move. So they will always have the same photos, nothing very original, most of the same.

2.jpg
This is the beach where I usually photograph. I typically stay on the sand, close to the sandbank, and the beach is right in front of me. The boring "photographer facing the surf spot".

How to be different then? Well, not facing the surf spot, right?

That day, I went to the beach where I always go to photograph surfing. I finally decided to try something different: see the waves from another perspective, which I've seen other photographers doing, but I never found it very cool. I will explain why.

See, on this beach that I usually photograph, there are a lot of tubes (barrels), it's famous for that. In my experience, surfers like to see, in photos or videos, that they have actually got barreled: they like to see that they have entered the tube, disappeared (are covered by the wave), and then come out. So, facing the surf spot is a good strategy for photographers; look at this example:

bscap.jpg
bscap154188937.jpg
bscap154204906.jpg
The surfer gets barreled, disappears inside the tube, and then comes out.

The other perspective is to show the surfer from the front, inside the tube, as if I, the photographer, were inside the tube. So, I went to the side instead of facing the surf spot. As the beach curved, I looked for a point where I could see the wave break and the surfer inside the tube. I went up to the next cliff, not very high:

3.jpg

The beach is a little small; it is only 700m long. I had my 600mm lens, the one I always use.

Imagem do WhatsApp de 2023-08-22 à(s) 11.07.27.jpg

Yay, that's me. The sun does not spare.

And I got these results:

CCM_5200.jpg
CCM_5215.jpg
CCM_5060.jpg
CCM_5162.jpg
CCM_5170.jpg
CCM_5184.jpg
CCM_5246.jpg

It turned out that the surfer I photographed in the first two photos (Nando Fernandes) is a friend, and I was thrilled to have taken these photos of him! It wasn't the result I dreamed of, but it was enough for me to be happy with it, you know?

🤠 The third step: get wet

The day after that, I didn't go back to the beach, but the waves were smaller, and so was the formation of the barrels. I saw that some local photographers were taking photos from the water, which made me "wake up". So I went to the beach the day after that and took my humble GoPro Hero7 Black. I set up my umbrella, spread my sarong, sat down, and watched the sea. I went for a swim to feel what the water was like; there were small tubular waves (less than half a meter) breaking, the water was clear, and the temperature was pleasant.

GX0142940953.jpg

So I got out of the water, and I thought, "I'm already here, why not?". I grabbed my GoPro and got into the water again. "Today I'm going to get barreled" haha.

At first, finding a position was a bit difficult, and I only realized this later when I saw the results of the photos.

GX014291092.jpg
Here, for example, I was far from the spot yet.

But shortly after, I found the right place, and with the patience to wait for a good wave series, I achieved some results that made me very happy. Just look!

GX0142980865.jpg
GX014296417.jpg
GX0142980274.jpg
GX014297191.jpg

And, of course, I could play around with some different and somewhat psychedelic photos, too!

GX014295297.jpg
GX0142980381.jpg
GX0142940857.jpg
GX014290296.jpg

So, what do you think? Are there any similar situations out there that you've been through? I want your thoughts, reflections, criticisms, and suggestions in the comments!

This already motivated me to enter slightly larger seas and, with a surfer on the wave, right, preferably! LOL

🌊 The fourth step: go bigger

In the end, the conclusion is always the same. In my opinion, we have to understand that, often, we have to start small in photography. Start with what you have (small camera, small wave). There is no perfect situation nor perfect equipment (although some may disagree with that, right?). In the various courses I've taken, they always say this: "start with what you have". I have a GoPro, and I have a beach to practice on.

Towards the fourth step! GO BIGGER AND GET GNARLY! Right @gnars?

I hope to share more of these achievements here!

GX014300175.jpg


About me

Biologist, Photographer, Content Producer, and Community Builder. Please take a look at my introduction post to get to know me better.

My social networks:



Português - BR [🇧🇷]

Fala pessoal! Esse é meu primeiro post aqui nessa comunidade! Eu sou bióloga, surfista e fotógrafa de surf (mas eu só faço isso de fora d’água – por enquanto). Eu comecei a fotografar animais e paisagens em 2012 quando comprei minha primeira câmera. Um tempo depois comecei a fotografar surf e recentemente é o tipo de fotografia que toma mais o meu tempo. Pra quem quiser saber um pouco mais da minha história, sugiro dar uma lida no meu post de introdução aqui na Hive 😊

Bora pro que interessa!

Sabe quando você fica desejando uma coisa por tanto tempo, que você nem sabia direito que queria (na verdade talvez você sempre soube, mas tinha alguma coisa te “segurando”) e “do nada” aqui desbloqueia e você dá um pequeno passo à frente?

Eu não espero que você veja nada do tipo “Clark Little aqui”, mas com as fotos que eu tô trazendo hoje, talvez eu tenha dado o terceiro passo rumo ao que eu quero (sim, terceiro!).

💡O primeiro passo: só vai

Eu estou durante alguns anos apenas fotografando surf de fora d’água, muito por causa de limitação financeira/logística ou talvez por medo mesmo, de tentar algo diferente/sair da minha zona de conforto.

No início do ano passado eu finalmente fiz um workshop de fotografia aquática, que tava na minha mira a um bom tempo. O workshop foi só para mulheres e foi ministrado pela Ana Catarina (uma das minhas referências/inspiração em fotografia de surf e aquática aqui no Brasil), junto com a Nossa Escola de Fotografia, no Rio de Janeiro. Lá a gente pode entender técnicas, experimentar equipamentos diferentes e, é claro, entrar na água e praticar.

O workshop foi incrível, mas pra mim foi um pouco frustrante porque eu não voltei com nenhuma foto que eu considerei boa. Um dos motivos foi porque uma das câmeras que peguei ficou com a case embaçada na frente da lente e isso estragou as fotos, e outros podem ter sido o meu posicionamento dentro da água, ou porque eu fiquei um bom tempo usando uma GoPro e eu não tava tendo o resultado que eu gostaria.

DSC00645-2.jpg
DSC00647-2.jpg
DSC00658-2.jpg
Algumas das fotos que fiz e que poderiam ter ficado boas, caso não fosse a case embaçada.

GX0132181024-2.jpg
GX0132240229-2.jpg
Mas algumas fotos de GoPro até que ficaram legais

Mas eu acho que todo mundo começa a assim, ou pelo menos a maioria das pessoas. Sempre dá alguma coisa errada ou nem sempre sua expectativa vira realidade. E eu acho que eu demorei um pouco pra perceber isso.

👓 O segundo passo: uma nova perspectiva

Três semanas atrás, um ano e meio depois de eu ter feito esse workshop, eu desbloqueei uma outra coisa em mim. Eu lembro da Ana Catarina falando que o problema do fotógrafo de surf (a maioria deles) é que ele faz sempre a mesma coisa. Chega na praia e fica de frente pro pico. Não sai do lugar. Então ele sempre vai ter fotos iguais, nada muito original.

2.jpg
Essa é a praia onde costumo fotografar. Eu costumo fica na areia, próxima da restinga, e a praia bem na minha frente. Isso é o “fotógrafo de frente para o pico”.

Como ser diferente então? Oras, não ficando de frente pro pico, né?

Nesse dia eu fui pra praia que eu costumo ir sempre fotografar surf e resolvi tentar algo diferente, tentar ver as ondas de outra perspectiva, uma que eu já vi outros fotógrafos fazendo, mas nunca achei muita graça. Vou explicar porque.

Vê, nessa praia que eu costumo fotografar, rolam muitos tubos, ela é famosa por isso. E na minha experiência, os surfistas gostam de ver, nas fotos ou videos, que eles realmente entubaram: eles gostam de ver que eles entraram no tubo, somem (são cobertos pela onda) e depois saem. Então ficar de frente para o pico é uma boa estratégia, olha esse exemplo:

bscap.jpg
bscap154188937.jpg
bscap154204906.jpg
O surfista entuba, some dentro do tubo e depois sai.

A outra perspectiva é justamente mostrar o surfista de frente, dentro do tubo, como se eu, fotógrafa, estivesse dentro do tubo. Então, ao invés de ficar de frente para o pico, eu fui para o lado. Como a praia faz uma curvatura, eu busquei um ponto onde eu iria ver a onda quebrar e eu conseguisse ver o surfista dentro do tubo. Fui para cima do costão ao lado, não muito alto:

3.jpg

A praia não é muito grande, tem apenas 700m de extensão, eu estava com a minha lente 600mm, a que eu uso sempre.

Imagem do WhatsApp de 2023-08-22 à(s) 11.07.27.jpg
Essa sou eu. O sol não perdoa.

E obtive esses resultados:

CCM_5200.jpg
CCM_5215.jpg
CCM_5060.jpg
CCM_5162.jpg
CCM_5170.jpg
CCM_5184.jpg
CCM_5246.jpg

Acabou que o surfista que fotografei (Nando Fernandes) é um amigo e eu fiquei muito feliz de ter feito essas fotos dele! Não foi o resultado dos sonhos, mas foi o suficiente pra eu ficar feliz com ele, sabe?

🤠 O terceiro passo: se molhar

No dia seguinte a esse, eu não voltei para a praia, mas a ondulação estava menor e a formação dos tubos também. Eu vi que alguns fotógrafos locais foram fotografar de dentro d’água e isso me deu um pequeno estalo. Então eu fui no dia seguinte a esse para a praia e levei a minha humilde GoPro Hero7 Black. Armei meu guarda-sol, estendi minha canga, sentei e fiquei observando o mar. Fui dar um mergulho pra sentir como estava a água, tinham pequenas ondas tubulares (menos de meio metro) quebrando, a água estava bem clara e a temperatura muito agradável.

GX0142940953.jpg

Então eu saí da água, e pensei assim “Já tô aqui, porque não?”. Peguei a minha GoPro e entrei na água de novo. “É hoje que eu vou pegar um tubo” haha.

No início foi meio difícil achar uma posição, e eu só percebi isso depois quando fui vendo o resultado das fotos.

GX014291092.jpg
Aqui, por exemplo, eu estava longe do pico ainda

Mas pouco tempo depois, fui achando o lugar certo, e com paciência para esperar uma boa série, consegui alguns resultados que me deixaram muito feliz. Olha só! 😍

GX0142980865.jpg
GX014296417.jpg
GX0142980274.jpg
GX014297191.jpg

E é claro, deu pra brincar com algumas fotos diferentes e meio psicodélicas também!

GX014295297.jpg
GX0142980381.jpg
GX0142940857.jpg
GX014290296.jpg

GX0142940226.jpg

E aí, o que acharam? Alguma situação parecida por aí que vocês já passaram? Queria muito saber os pensamentos, reflexões, críticas e sugestões de vocês aqui nos comentários!

Isso já me deu uma motivação maior pra entrar em mares um pouco maiores e, com um surfista dentro da onda né, de preferência! Rs

🌊 Rumo ao quarto passo: mares maiores!

Acho que, no fim, a conclusão é sempre a mesma. Na minha concepção, a gente tem que entender que, muitas vezes, na fotografia, nós temos que começar pequeno mesmo. Começar com o que tem (câmera pequena, onda pequena). Não existe situação perfeita, nem equipamento perfeito (apesar de que, alguns podem discordar disso, né?). Nos vários cursos que fiz, sempre falam isso: “comece com o que você tem”. Eu tenho uma GoPro e eu tenho uma praia pra praticar.

Rumo ao quarto passo!

Espero poder compartilhar mais dessas conquistas aqui!

GX014300175.jpg


Sobre mim

Bióloga, Fotógrafa, Produtora de Conteúdo e Construtora de Comunidades. Dá uma olhada no meu post de introdução pra me conhecer melhor.

Minhas redes sociais:

Sort:  

Obrigado por promover a comunidade Hive-BR em suas postagens.

Vamos seguir fortalecendo a Hive

Metade das recompensas dessa resposta serão destinadas ao autor do post.

Vote no @perfilbrasil para Testemunha Hive.

Such a great journey to follow!!! I love your tenacity in getting good shots regardless of how harsh and unforgiving the weather may be. Sweet sweet underwater pics too! The ocean is something we often take for granted, but it is such a massive force of nature and can gift us with so much. It is honestly pretty rad to see someone is actually out there to extract some of its best beauty shots and then share them with us.

Woohoo! Now I'm excited to dive in too!

Yayyyyy!! Thanks for you support ❤️❤️
I’m eager to go explore more, bring more of these beauties and show it to everyone her 🫶🏽

You have very good skills.There is no doubt that birds are very beautiful and they beautify our environment and forests thrive because of them.I appreciate your photography it is really appreciated

Thank you very much!! Hope I can show more of these around here!

Congratulations @crisciacm! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 300 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 400 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

The countdown to HiveFest⁸ is two weeks away - Join us and get your exclusive badge!

I loved your photographs. All beautiful, Greetings.

Thank you very very much 🥹❤️❤️

Wow - what a variety in surf conditions! From fun to totally heavy!!

Yeahhhh !! This beach offers literally everything you could have! Love it there!

I think the evolution of your work is evident, you finally got close to what you wanted, and I agree with "start with what you have", is the only way to take action and leave the excuses, greetings!

Thank you very much!! Evolution is a long journey right? As long as we keep trying, that’s what matters the most and I don’t plan on stopping so soon :). Thanks for your support! 🫶🏽

That's how it is, to evolve in something is to believe in our potential, success to you! 😊

Great to meet you. I love taking surf photography when I am at surf beaches. I am a nature photographer when away from the waves. I love your photos here. Be lucky

Awww thank you so much! I consider myself a nature photographer as well, looking forward to share some of my landscape and wildlife pics here too! Nice to meet you!

Oh thats awesome! I look forward to seeing your nature photos too then. Much love to you.


Your post was manually curated by @Shiftrox.
banner_hiver_br_01.png

Delegate your HP to the hive-br.voter account and earn Hive daily!

🔹 Follow our Curation Trail and don't miss voting! 🔹