My Journey to the Fox Twins

in Photography Lovers2 years ago

Hello people! This is my first blog post, so please bear with me on my journey to fox pictures and a blog post!

A few words about myself first, I'm from Germany and my main hobbies are mountainbiking and drawing, but end of april I also got interested in taking pictures to get creative. I got myself a entry level Canon DSLR and a few lenses to jump right in. The last lens I bought end of may was the EF 70-200 f/2.8 IS II which got me really excited to test this new focal length and this is also how my journey to these lovely fox twins started.

 " " \"Fuchs_031_050622.jpg\""" After shooting a few birds and insects I got really excited to search for my favourite animal the fox. I knew where a fox hole was five years ago when a friend showed it to me and my best bet was to just check there again. With my camera backpack and my mountainbike I explored the area and was able to find the fox hole close to the one from five years ago.

 " " \"20220529_093919.jpg\""" Luckily for me I also saw quite narrow fresh trails in the surrounding area and so I took on the waiting game after positioning myself behind a pile of dirt. Around an hour later, when I was looking into the trees I suddenly realized that a small head popped out of the dark for a few seconds, but I was not able to take a sharp picture in this short time frame (which was a problem for me in general with my lack of experience).

 " " \"20220529_112734.jpg\""" Either way this first sighting made me really happy and I didn't care too much about the missed opportunity, I saw a young fox!
I struggled a bit to find good settings for the mixed light conditions and also thought to myself I should maybe start with a higher aperture like 4-5 for a better chance to get atleast some sharp images. Another problem were young trees and branches right in front of the fox hole which made it hard for the autofocus to hit and impossible for me to find a better position where I was still hidden. After waiting for another hour the young fox came out again, but this time he was not scared anymore and the more shy second fox also came a bit later. Here are some of the photos I then took on the first day.

 " " \"Fuchs_002_290522.jpg\"""  " " \"Fuchs_003_290522.jpg\"""  " " \"Fuchs_004_290522.jpg\"""  " " \"Fuchs_005_290522.jpg\"""  " " \"Fuchs_008_290522.jpg\"""  " " \"Fuchs_010_290522.jpg\""" The first day came to an end and I was beyond happy to find these cute foxes and also to see a few nice images back at home, even though I don't like the positions I took too much. A few days later I came back to try again. Hower I still had no better strategy at this point for a different perspective and had to rely on similar positions for myself to get the following photos.

 " " \"Fuchs_011_040622.jpg\"""  " " \"Fuchs_012_040622.jpg\"""  " " \"Fuchs_013_040622.jpg\"""  " " \"Fuchs_014_040622.jpg\""" So the second day of visitting the fox hole came to an end and this time I had an idea what I could try next. Still very new in this whole photography thing I already bought quite a a lot of gear to test all the things I was so interested in and saw the remote control in my backpack that I used to take images of the night sky. My idea was to sneak up a bit closer to the fox hole from a different angle at noon when they are sleeping and setup my camera there on a tripod with the remote control activated. Hoping for the best I got back to my usual position and sat down with the remote in my hand. I was a bit scared how they would react to the camera and especially the loud noises of shooting in burst mode, but after looking a bit skeptical they just ignored it! And so I was able to take the following photos.

 "Fuchs_015_050622.jpg"  "Fuchs_018_050622.jpg"  "Fuchs_021_050622.jpg"  "Fuchs_025_050622.jpg"  "Fuchs_033_050622.jpg"  "Fuchs_030_050622.jpg" What I learned from the last day was that I should have used a limited auto ISO instead of auto exposure time. When I was setting up the camera there was enough light to get a quite fast exposure time with the f2.8 and ISO 200 I used, but I underestimated how long I would have to wait this day. For the last photos of the day the exposure time got up to 1/30, which was the reason I missed a lot of nice shots when they were playing. But I'm still really happy how these last photos turned out and how much I learned with trial and error. I can't wait to learn more and improve myself!

Thank you for reading, I hope you enjoyed the photos of these sweethearts!

Sort:  

First off, welcome to Hive and to the Photography Lovers Community. Thanks for sharing your awesome photography. It was interesting to read about your trial and error with the settings. I think you got it figured out well. You did get some wonderful shots.

I have made two posts that help explain Hive and how it all works in an overview. I describe some of the functions and etiquette for the platform. When you get some time give these a read and you can check out the comment sections for more answered questions. Feel free to reach out if you need any help.

Getting an introduction post will definitely be helpful in accelerating your start. When you are ready use #introducemyself and #introduceyourself tags. I talk about it in the posts a little with some of my other tips to get a great start. Just click on the blue links below.

I wish you all the best and i think you are going to do quite well here based on these shots. Cheers!

Thank you a lot, I will for sure check these out before I make my next post!

Let me know if you need any clarification and i do hope that they help you out! =)

I really enjoyed your first photography adventure! Wildlife photography is serious business, and your latest photos look good.
See several types of processing.

You can take pictures of your friend on a mountain bike while riding. It's going to be an interesting story. 👋

Thank you, I really appreciate the nice words!

Wow what an amazing find, would be such a treat to find these foxes out in the woods.

Thank you! luckily I already had the idea where this fox hole was, without that knowledge I probably would have missed that one even though the entrance is around 10m near a walking path

These pictures are sensational! Thanks for sharing.

Welcome on Hive, looking forward to more photographic insights from you 😀

PS: I suggest you reblog your post to your own blog, currently it isn´t there (happens if you post into a community). I suggest you also do an introductory post using #introduceyourself to get more visibility!

Thank you, that's great advice! I still have to get a clue here how everything works haha, but your comment already helped me a bit!
I'm also excited to share more in the future

Another one: in peakd.com, in the settings make sure to enable the "portfolio view". If this is done, users when going to your blog, can select portfolio (example). And while drafting a post in peakd under "advanced" you can also select if a post should be added to the portfolio.

Photography is one very long learning process. Thanks for sharing.

Congratulations @dedsowl! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 10 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the June PUM Winners
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Hello, @dedsowl! This is @anggreklestari from the @OCD team. We saw that you already posted your first post here in Hive Blockchain! Congratulations and welcome!

Well, you can explore the communities that are suitable for your content. You can read some of the communities in this post: [https://peakd.com/hive-174578/@ocd/ocd-communities-incubation-program-update-75]

For tips and information as a Hive newbie, click here: newbie guide.

The important thing is Hive is a bit different from other social media platforms since you are monetizing your blog. You can't include content that you don't own without sources. For more information, check this post: Why and How People Abuse and Plagiarise.

If you have questions or concerns, you can hop into OCD's Discord server and we'll gladly answer your questions.

Have a great day!

Willkommen bei Hive
Ich habe Deinen Blog gesehen und es ist schön, Dich kennenzulernen.
In dieser Blockchain dreht sich alles ums Bloggen. Das Beste daran ist, dass Du Hive Crypto verdienen kannst, wobei das nicht das wichtigste ist. Ich bin schon eine Weile hier und liebe es!
Aber sei vorsichtig mit all Deinen Passwörtern. Gebe diese niemals weiter! Sie gehören dir, und überall lauert Betrug, leider kannst du auch hier darauf stoßen, also sei gewarnt.
Um auf Hive zu posten, benutze ich Peakd und Ecency, beide große Hilfen.
Ich wünsche dir viel Glück beim Bloggen und bis bald!
Dein Wert und Dein Input werden geschätzt und wenn Du Fragen hast, lasse es mich wissen.
Wir (@jamerussell und ich) präsentieren fast jeden Tag Neuankömmlinge in unseren @ Heyhaveyamet-Blogs. Es gibt einen Treffpunkt auf Discord, namens „The Terminal“ für Neulinge und alle Antworten auf Deine Fragen. Mach mit, ich bin jeden Tag auf Hive! Du kannst gerne jederzeit einen Kommentar hinterlassen.
Grüße von Brittandjosie aus den Niederlanden

https://discord.gg/Xpc5SAfg

Einladungslink zum The Terminal Discord.
Viel Glück für Dich als Neuankömmling, Hive kann Dein neues Leben werden!

Interessante Blogger Infos: /@crosheille/so-whats-the-criteria-for-a-quality-post-how-curators-make-their-selections
https://discord.gg/XZGPGpz

Und ein vlog

Sign up proces https://peakd.com/hive-125125/@beeber/ecency-hilfe-anmelde-prozess-fuer

Danke! Die Vorsicht mit den Passwörtern und Keys ist ein sehr guter Ratschlag!

Hey there! I´m really glad that this post was nominated to my latest upvote giveaway as I probably wouldn´t find it on my own... You took so many amazing pictures of these little adorable furry fellas! Fantastic pictures, keep them coming man! Greetings from Prague :)

Thank you a lot, I appreciate your comment a lot! Greetings back from eastern germany :)

My internet connection isn't letting me see the entire photos, but I'll upvote now and see if I can load the full images later.