Exploring Denver

By now I have pretty much blogged about everything our road trip in Colorado had to offer last year. This does not mean that our trip was over. We drove back to Colorado to catch a live concert on an Empower field in Denver. The artist was Illenium which we went to see there, this was actually the main purpose that we took a trip to the USA in the first place lol, I will maybe do a separate post on this live show too.

We returned our rental car and had some time to see what Denver had to offer. I had only seen one large city in the USA before and this is Miami, in Florida.

A shot from the interstate when we arrived in Denver.

FRS_3113.jpg

The weather was very hot, around 31 degrees C if I remember correctly. Being under the full sunshine and surrounded by hot concrete was quite a torture lol.

We started our walk on the 16th street mall. This should be a main street in central Denver. We had a hotel somewhere near this street.

FRS_3121.jpg


FRS_3122.jpg

I expected a ton of people but to my surprise, there were not many people at all. The city seemed even a bit deserted in some places. I'm not sure but I think that Denver is not the place a lot of tourists choose for a vacation destination. At least I didn't seem to see many tourists at all.

FRS_3123.jpg

Overall Denver looked exactly what I expected it to look like. Classic USA architecture and high rises all around. I previously searched the streets I should avoid because the USA has a major problem with homeless people and I was not too keen on meeting them. Still, some were still found sleeping on the street or begging for money.

This in the photo below, is a Civic park and at the back should be a courthouse.

FRS_3130.jpg


FRS_3137.jpg

On the other side of the park, you can find a Colorado State Capitol.
FRS_3131.jpg

Denver is also called a mile-high city because it is situated exactly one mile above sea level, 5280 feet or 1600m above sea level. In fact, on one of the stairs of the Colorado State Capitol building you can find writing " One Mile Above Sea Level" because this is exactly the point where the altitude is one mile.
It was later determined that the exact one mile is actually a step or couple upwards but still.
FRS_3128.jpg


FRS_3139.jpg

This should be the Denver Art Museum.
FRS_3140.jpg


FRS_3142.jpg

Here is the last shot I took in Denver before heading back pretty much the same way we came from.
FRS_3145.jpg

As I said before, overall, Denver was exactly how I pictured it to be but I really was amazed by the lack of people. It's a massive city but has so little human traffic on major streets in the central part of the city. It sure was interesting to see around and I am glad to have seen it, Colorado overall is a gorgeous state, especially the nature as you have seen from my previous posts.

I do have one more surprise city we visited that was not planned in the first place. Stay tuned!




Untitled-1.png

Sort:  

Very beautiful photos and cow statue is looking nice.

This post needs more Illenium videos! I still can't believe one of the key parts of your trip to Colorado was for this trilogy concert. I especially liked the parts when they had Dabin come out on guitar and then The Chainsmokers sang their new stuff live!

I was right downtown for New Year's Eve, as the convention center right off of 16th street was the site for Denver's two-day EDM festival, Decadence. You probably did most of what there is to do downtown, which is not much. The baseball stadium is also in the same area close to the promenade on 16th Street.

My second marriage was right there in downtown Denver, we just went to that courthouse you took a picture of on the morning of December 23rd, 2014, after a night of drunk karaoke. Solid three years together with that one, after moving down to Phoenix, AZ a month later.

I thought about doing a separate post on this Illenium event but I haven't decided yet lol. Dabin's guitar addition was absolutely nuts!!!

Saw the baseball stadium from afar only. Why are there so few people on the streets? Any ideas?😀
Well, seems like you have had your fair share of being in Denver.

Sadly most American cities are driving cities. Downtown is really only alive for commerce during the week. On the weekends, people drive out to the mountains. It is definitely a "healthier" city so there is less of a bar scene and more of a stay home and smoke pot vibes.

The few live music theaters are just to the east along Colfax (~15 street) past the park and courthouse. There is also a fun strip on South Broadway just across from the Washington Park area. Just a shame because so few places in US are functionally walkable.

Aah, that does make sense. Well, who knows. Maybe I happen to be there again at some point in my life.

Wow, that museum really blew me away....

If by photo it looks that big, I don't want me personally.

I really liked your pictures, the clarity made them look very nice. Cheers my friend! 🤗

That museum looked pretty cool yeat, wonder how it's from the inside.
Glad you liked these!

Modern and peaceful. Beautiful city @greddyforce

Most of it looks 1980s but there are modern add-ons 😀

Pretty adorable surroundings.

Just a big cityscape.

A beautiful city. A great trip.

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations @greddyforce! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You got more than 6250 replies.
Your next target is to reach 6500 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

These are really beautiful pictures 😻