On the Chase of Northern Lights

On the 24th and 25th of February, some strong explosions happened on the sun and part of the blast was directed toward the earth. Charged particles were expected to arrive a couple of days later on the 27th of February but the first wave arrived a bit earlier, in the late hours of the 26th. I was ready for it and hoping for clear skies. Having looked at the charts and some live cameras I noticed a high activity on the 26th and decided to drive to the seaside quickly.

Fortunately, we had a clear sky and sure enough, the activity was really nice.

FRS_1698-Pano.JPG


FRS_1704.JPG

Mostly the aurora appeared green but I was able to see some red and at some point a bit of orange too.
FRS_1710.JPG

I have seen more intense auroras in Estonia but this was great too, had an amazing show watching the lights dancing in the sky. I used a 5-second shutter speed, f4 aperture and ISO 1600.

FRS_1701.JPG


FRS_1711.JPG


FRS_1719.JPG
Hoping to get several more great aurora occurrences this winter/spring until the nights don't get dark anymore. We have around to the end of April until it's always too bright to see any lights in the sky.

FRS_1722.JPG

I did also try to take a video but it ended up really grainy because I used a very high ISO.
Yesterday was quite a nice probability for northern lights also and I went out again but the lights weren't nearly as visible as the day before. Didnt take any photos but I tried to shoot a timelapse with a camera. I will put together a short video of the grainy clips and a timelapse I took yesterday and will upload it soon for you to see.




Untitled-1.png

Sort:  

That's absolutely majestic! Glad the sky did not fail you. I'm jelly of you seeing this occurrence, lol

I am glad too. Fortunately this time a year the sky starts to give more chances for clear sky

I'm looking forward to seeing more colors of sky.

Amazing, can't wait to see one by myself

I hope you do see these. Always amazes.

Awesome, we saw a little bit of it last evening. Missed the night before.
Our house is in the wrong location to see it. Last night I saw just a little bit at the highest point of the garden. Too bad the moon and a neighbours house was very bright.
Still I enjoyed the little bit I saw. My first ever sight of them after moving.

Amazing captures. Love the red peeking through too.
Thanks for sharing!

Great to hear that you get to see something at least! The first time is always special. Moon was really bright yeah but in my case, it didn't bother me too much since the aurora was pretty bright too.

Thanks, it is indeed special 😊
You had some awesome views of it.
Have a great mid week!

Oh my goodness!😍 For real? This is Super epic,talking about sublime. I can't imagine the day I'll see this with my own eyes...
Why are you having that? It's not fair...
😂.

Always an epic. Doesn't matter how often I see aurora, it never gets boring!
I live in the north that's why I see these. The more north you are, the more chance you have to see these.

Oh my goodness! An incredible experience you had seeing the Aurora Borealis firsthand and lucky for us you are a talented photographer. This is high on my bucketlist. 💜💙💚🖤

@tipu curate 3

For sure, a great experience, hoping for more to come soon. Hopefully you do get to see these yourself too!

Wow that is so cool! I hope to see the sky dance like that someday. :)

I hope you do! I can recommend 😀.
Though you have a much higher chance if you are in the north. Arizona has a chance to see these but it's ultra rare. Requires some epic sun storm to hit us.

Me too! I suppose that when you see that live, it is unreal moment.

Incredible shots!

Really amazing photography. Thanks for sharing.

Thank you!