Not my usual sort of adventure. Sea World , Florida. April 23

in Photography Lovers11 months ago

"Well" said my son back in September last year, "Ya fancy coming to Florida with us?'

"Fuck Yeah", says I.

P1039091.jpeg

"This ain't my first rodeo, I first visited Florida in 1992 with my then wife, kids and my parents, I am glad I did, less that 12 months later My old fella shuffled off his mortal coil.

The last time I was here was 2003, so it was gonna be good to see how things had changed and to enjoy some time out with one half of the fambam

P1039104.jpeg

We have always visited Sea World on day one, it is one of the less crowded of the parks, a gentle introduction for what is to come over the next two weeks.

P1039282.jpeg

P1039283.jpeg

Yup there be roller coasters to ride

P1039092.jpeg

P1039094.jpeg

and wildlife to see.

P1039103.jpeg

P1039097.jpeg

P1039181.jpeg

P1039182.jpeg

P1039166.jpeg

P1039168.jpeg

Now a big thing is made about keeping these amazing mammals in captivity training them to perform for public entertainment. Some say it is conservation others claim cruelty.

P1039165.jpeg

P1039173.jpeg

I have no views either way at least they are safe from Factory ships scooping up tuna.

P1039202.jpeg

P1039241.jpeg

Or Japanese whaling fleets

P1039219.jpeg

P1039217.jpeg

There really is no point in coming to see the Orca show, (back in the day it was Shamu) unless you are prepared to get wet.

P1039306.jpeg

P1039307.jpeg

One way or another if you look for it, you is gonna get soaked.

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hahaha of course you say you go 😎
Never been there to sea world. But I did enjoy going off the beaten path in Florida.
Thanks for sharing @grindle 👋🏻

You’re welcome, was a great two weeks

Great to hear 🤓
I just arrived in Chester 😎

Wow, how long are you here for this time?

Until Tuesday morning. Then I hop on a ferry to Ireland again 😎
Importing the car this time.

ah Bugger, not back til Thursday....... Like ships that pass in the night!!!

That’s a shame… indeed just like that.
One day 😉

Sea world places to some degree, do help animals when in distress, mostly it is showcasing, who knows it brings children a lot of fun on the day out. They also learn a bit about what lives beneath the waves.

!BEER

good points well made!!

Have visited, but not really a wonderful way to see wildlife. 🙃

Not all of us are as lucky as you, living in the wilds of RSA lol

Wow!! Amazing shots!! I visited Sea World whe. I was a 9 years old girl, everything was stunning! The pictures you took of those dolphins are ready for a magazine!!

cheers @belug , whatever age you go, always remember to look at it through the eyes of a child and not an adult.