Icy Bubbles In Donner Lake

There was a thin layer of ice on Donner Lake this morning. So I took a little walk with my camera and a mug of hot tea, hoping to find something interesting to shoot. Success! The bubbles were right along the shore of the lake, so you could still see the rocks under the ice. Okay, these aren't going to be my next best-seller images, but I was happy to find these frozen bubbles in the ice and I thought they made for some nice abstract photos.

_Q1A6570.jpg

These were both shot handheld with the Canon 5DS R and a 24-105mm lens.

_Q1A6567.jpg

Alright, that was a nice cool morning, now it's time to go watch the Super Bowl....

20240211_095324.jpg

Thank you for looking, and I hope you all have a great day today!

Scott Thompson
Scott Shots Photography
www.ScottShotsPhoto.com

headshotwlogo.jpg

Sort:  

Nice clicks as usuall.first i thought it is some like genetic engineering procedure...but after deep it was thin layer of ice.😁

GMO Lake water. Don't drink it!!!
Ha! Glad you like that. And yeah, I wouldn't drink that lake water anyway... It's nice and clear but there are a lot of motor boats on it in the summer and a nearby highway that has water drainage runoff into the lake.

An alien life form? ;)

Yup! It tried to abduct me!

Go Niners!

nice pics btw 🙂

Doh! That was a fun game to watch. What a wild ending.
Glad you like those.

This is something new, i have never seen it. thanks for sharing.

It doesn't always happen when the lake freezes, but I like it when it does!

It’s looked like an animation at first but after reading what you wrote it became clearer. Nice shots. Enjoy the Super Bowl

Thanks, glad you like those!
And what a fun game to watch. It was a wild ride.

I am sure it was, everyone I knew were niners. Are you?

The water of that Lake appears blue-like, my favourite colour. The shots are beautiful.

It can be incredibly blue when the weather is right.
Glad you like those!

I thought it's bubbles in a coffee beans! That's a nice aesthetic shot.

Ha! I can see that. Nope, it was very cold, not very hot.

This is really looking amazing 😍

Glad you like that @biyimi!

These are perfect pictures
I so much love them!

Thank you @rafzat! It was a great little scene to stumble upon.

The photos of that simple bubble are exquisite and I find it very interesting.

Thank you! I liked that little scene as well.

I so much love and admire these shots you have shared

All these pictures are very beautiful and special, the result of your camera is very good, everything looks very clear, I am very happy to see them.