The Camas Wildflowers Are Blooming!

Just about every spring, I make the little 4x4 drive out to Sagehen Meadows. It is my favorite meadow in the Tahoe area, a little bit north of Truckee, California where I live. I decided to scout it out yesterday and see how things are looking, and to my surprise, the Camas wildflowers are already blooming! It's still a bit early in their short season, hopefully the meadow will fill in bit more as there have been some years where it is a solid blanket of purple and it almost looks like a purple lake from a distance.

I found this one area in the meadow that had quite a few early bloomers and I thought it made for a nice subject matter. My daytime shots were alright, but I decided to stick around until sunset because the clouds were starting to look like they had potential to fire off with color. I was right!!! Sunset was an incredibly beautiful one, even though the SkyFire app was calling for a dud sunset. The photo I got was totally worth sitting around collecting mosquito bites...

_Q1A2521.jpg
"Sagehen Meadows at Sunset 10"

Shot with a Canon 5DS R and a 24-105mm lens. Two graduated neutral density filters were used on the front of the lens in order to darken the sky a bit and balance the foreground exposure with the sky exposure. The camera's ISO was 400, the lens aperture was f/18, and it was s 2.5 second long exposure. The aperture was small because I wanted the background to be somewhat sharp as well as the foreground. There was a little breeze out there so the long exposure was challenging. I kept having to wait for breaks in the breeze in order to shoot the flowers when they weren't moving back and forth. There were a lot of failed attempts but I eventually did get a shot that wasn't affected by the wind.

And here's one more. Most of the daytime photos I shot were not "keepers", but I did really like this one with the lady bug.
_Q1A2429.jpg
"Camas at Sagehen Meadows 6"

Thanks for looking and I hope you are all having a great day!

Scott Thompson
Scott Shots Photography
www.TruckeeTahoePhotos.com

headshotwlogo.jpg

Sort:  

You always take amazing pictures and you never disappoint. They are always amazing

Thanks @tough! I am truly lucky to live in an area with so much beauty all around me.

That is a really magical view and you captured it perfectly 😍
Sunsets are my favorite.
And that second picture is incredleble and even a little ladybug got captured.
Loved them alot.

Thank you for sharing and have a fantastic sunday. Cheers 🌺

Very beautiful scenery and you captured so vividly.

The Camas wildflowers are really blooming, look at beautiful purple everywhere.

All the photos are incredibly. My lady pug is so charming @scottshots

Congratulations @scottshots! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You got more than 7500 replies.
Your next target is to reach 7750 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

How satisfying to start the week seeing this beautiful landscape that you have captured. These are fantastic shots and a wonderful place.

!discovery 35
!PIZZA


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our Community and follow our Curation Trail
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@dimascastillo90(4/5) tipped @scottshots

Please don’t change your camera😅
It’s the best!!!

Great shots 👍 the wildflowers are blooming here too but tend towards the subtle. Small flowers in the undergrowth of the forest. Or some color at the edge of the woods. This meadow is truly lovely.

collecting mosquito bites

and yes the bugs are out too 😦

Wow! That photo was totally worth those mosquito bites...lol! It is an amazing photo.

And I love the detail in your second photo with the ladybug. Your patience definitely paid off. Thank you for sharing your photos with us!

This is really looking so so beautiful I must confess

I can't say which one I love most, the red tinted sunset or this expanse of purple blooms?

Beautiful clouds you had really captured here. The wildflowers are cute💮💮💮