📷 Underwater Flowers

in Photography Lovers3 months ago (edited)

Well, of course, these are not exactly flowers. More precisely, they are not flowers at all, although some of them very much resemble flowering plants or simply decorative bushes.

And some of them don’t look like anything at all, but they are underwater, that’s for sure. Today I want to share with you a small selection of close-up photographs of corals from the coastal waters of the Philippines, near Negros Island.

Some resemble a dense carpet of shells on stones, and some resemble tree branches, also hard, but much more fragile.

And some are soft, thin, like blades of grass with umbrella inflorescences, swaying from the slightest movement of water, as if in the wind.

As a child, it was a great discovery to me that corals are not plants, and these wonderful varied solid structures that I saw in the sea serve as shells, homes for coral polyps, which are animals. Well, a little later I found out that there are also soft corals :)

The world is amazing and diverse, and the underwater world is even more so! I'm glad that I can see so many interesting things and photograph nature not only on the surface of the earth, but also under water, although this is somewhat more difficult :)

It's better to watch photos in high resolution.


Camera: OLYMPUS E-M5 Mark II


You can also see my photos in my blog LJ and in my profile on RTraveler. You also can read a short interview with me here.


Sort:  

Wow great pictures. There is so much to see and learn about all over this world. Looking forward to more pictures from this trip!

Thank you!Yes, the world is so diverse, I like it so much :)

I don’t think there will be many posts from this trip - we went for diving, and almost didn’t go anywhere. So we mostly spent time underwater and on the hotel beach in the evenings. And since I dive not with my camera, but with @kibela's (an underwater box for it was cheaper), I didn’t check and only upon arrival I discovered that she forgot the battery charger :)
So there weren’t many underwater photos, and from the surroundings too. But it’s still nice for me to review them and remember different moments. If you are interested, you can see all the posts from the Philippines here.

Thanks for sharing those posts. So beautiful. Did you know you can make a collection of posts on Peakd? You do it the same place you go to make a post and at the bottom it says- Create a collection of posts. You could make some really great collections.