Vermont Country Store

The Vermont Country Store

The Vermont Country Store. New England is famous for funky small general stores in small towns all across the region. This one is THE Vermont Country store. It has two stores, a catalog/mail order business and online store. It was established in 1946 Wiki article on Vermont Country Store

Extra building

The Vermont Country Store and catalog business is a Vermont institution and those of you of a certain age 😊 will recognize it. It was featured in the 50s in Saturday Evening Post and is now on the National Register of Historic Places. This additional building was added somewhere along the way.

Entrance in back

And eventually the entrance was moved to the back off the street with additional parking.

1952

Here is my photo of a photo 🙄 from 1952

Mimic

And the same buildings today.

Sort:  

I like those stores, a must visit when in the area.
So cool to see your photo from 52.
Thanks for sharing!
!PIZZA

It was cool to see the photo from 70 years ago. I spent some time comparing the two... not many changes but there are a few

Not much changed indeed. Some subtitle ones…
Just so cool to see over that time.

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@littlebee4(1/10) tipped @steven-patrick

I've never heard of it, but am sure I would love it. Looks very ... American 😁

Its hard core Americana that for sure and nostalgia for all the baby boomers.

Cool store with a long history. Nice the photo of the photo 😀
Have a great Sunday

Thanks. I was going to try an properly credit the original photo but it was on the outside of a building and part of the store decor so I figure its pretty much public domain

I have ordered from their catalog for years!

Its a cool place, I have some more photos from inside 😉