Sort:  

Very kind of you but that would take you ages my friend :) We lived in Latin America for 2 years and visited many interesting places down there so I have probably published hundreds of posts from those locations :) Moreover, I posted most of them years ago so just scrolling down my blog to find them would take you long hours :) But if you ever plan to visit these countries, let me know and I will give you some tips ;) Cheers!

Ahh, thank you so much for kindly advising us to visit Latin America, but you see, my friend, the cost of such a holiday for me far exceeds my budget.

Don't get me wrong, I'm not complaining that I don't have money, but you see, everyday life is getting harder and harder even here in Romania, everything has become more expensive (in fact for some products prices have doubled).

We also have the problems with the border war with Ukraine, here I am lucky to be close to the Ukrainian border where it is quiet for now, I hope.

But yes, in principle, I would be happy to visit Latin America, at least a few countries.

But, there's always a but, I've had a few dreams so far, I haven't had many as I'm not that picky, but I'm human too, hehe.

In fact, we had three, two of which have already been fulfilled and one of which remains.

My first dream was to see and touch the pyramids (Egypt), my second dream was to walk around Dubai, and my third dream is to visit New York (here I have many on my list).

I totally understand you. Holiday in the Caribbean is not the cheapest one for sure but you know what is ironic? When you actually live in these places, the expenses are (much) lower than here in Europe. Take Mexico where we lived, for example. We rented several apartments at different places during our stay. Some of them even had a pool, big terraces, some of them were literally just a few minutes walk from the beach. But they all were much cheaper than what we paid for an apartment in Prague. Same with food, transport etc. If you come to this tropical paradise as a tourist, it´s quite expensive because of the flight tickets, hotels etc. but if you come there to live, everything gets much cheaper immediately ;)

Happy to hear that you already managed to fulfill 2 of your 3 travel dreams and I´m sure that you will complete this hattrick :) New York is such a special place. I was lucky enough to visit this city a few times already. Honestly, I cannot stand all the hustle and bustle for more than a few days as my head starts to feel like exploding from all the perceptions but it´s always a very unique experience :)

I really didn't know that local life can be much cheaper in these exotic locations.
Oh, for us Romanians even entering Mexico is extremely difficult, there were many cases in which Romanian tourists were not allowed to enter Mexico, even though they had already paid vacations there.
I live with the hope that the visit to New York will be as close as possible, and here I also mean obtaining the visa for Romanians.
Only the visa for America costs $160/person, I say a rather high fee, moreover, I have to go 600 kilometers for the interview to obtain the visa.
Even if I pay the fee and go to the interview, it is still not certain that I will get the visa, you see, a very high cost for something that you do not know for sure that you will get.
Have a wonderful weekend.

I´m sorry mate, I didn´t realize that you guys in Romania have such troubles with getting visas :( I have never experienced anything like that. I hope that Romanian passports will be more powerful in future, you guys deserve to travel without stress and complications. Have a lovely Sunday!

Unfortunately, Romania is not yet part of the Schengen area in order to be able to move freely not only in the community area (EU), as I wrote to you, it is an ordeal to obtain a visa and a good amount of money spent.
At one point it was rumored that we would enter the Schengen space only in the air space and not on the ground, but honestly I no longer trust our political class that seems to be fighting against the Romanians.

Hope dies last, but the dream still remains :)

A beautiful Sunday to you too!

Man, that really sucks :( Our countries are not so far from each other, our cultures and history are similar too but when it comes to traveling, the difference seems to be really big. I don´t count it but I have probably been to 30+ countries so far and didn´t have any issues entering any of them. Are the officers basically expecting you to bribe them to give you the visas? Is it how it works in your country?