PEAS SOUP FROM MY CHILDHOOD

I remember peas soup like a dish from my childhood. My Mom cooked it rather often, but I wasn't a great fan of it.

Later I fell in love with lentils, chickpeas, mung beans and forgot about peas. They are from one plant "family" but still have different taste.
I respect and like legumes thanks to their nutritional value and great amount of protein. After such a dish, you're fed up for 3-4 hours! Even without meat or fish.

Some days ago I remembered about peas and bought it for my "childhood soup";)

Actually, I changed the recipe because early my Mom always used meat to cook soups, and she added potato there.
I think combination of potato + peas is too much for digestion, so I didn't add it.
And no meat in my soup too. Peas are nutritious without meat too.

My son doubted if he would like it.
He is always very careful with something new;)

Early we cooked another peas, it was round, these ones are just halves of it, but it doesn't influence the taste.

I soaked peas for the whole night.

Then I prepared frozen veggies - carrots, peppers, peas, corn, tomatoes.
I added some fresh carrot as well and grated it.

Some spices, bay leaf, salt, some plant oil - and it's ready!

Tasty healthy soup for 15 min!

yeah, I still love such fast and good recipes that save my time and efforts, but give much energy and health.

Do you use peas, guys?
For what dishes?
I'd like to taste something new made of it;)

Sort:  

That looks a really healthy and yummy soup, I'd like to pair that with rice.

peas + rice?
do you combine them in your dishes?
in our soups people combine potato with anything! rice, peas, buckwheat, but for me it's so weird to mix different things in one dish and I don't do it
but maybe I should try?:)) Is it tasty?:)

thank you, guys!

Loading...