SYRNIKI - MY CHILDHOOD DESSERT

Syrniki was one of my favourite desserts when I was a kid.
I didn't like cottage cheese very much, but there is a popular opinion that it's very useful especially thanks to great amount of Calcium.

Now I don't think so, there are many products where there is much more of Ca but still syrniki are tasty;)

I've never made them for my boy. He is 8 now, he has never ate them;)
Today I had special mood and I saw homemade cottage cheese, so I decided to remember my childhood and cook them.

it take just 10 min of active time +15 min for baking.

Syrniki are popular as for breakfast or supper or lunch, they are always good and loved my our people.

I used a classical recipe:

  • 500g of cottage cheese

  • 1 egg
  • some fructose
  • 120 g of whole-wheat flour
  • 1 t.sp of baking soda

You can add raisins, nuts, anything you like.
I didn't add anything because I was interested in my son's opinion about its classical taste.

So we mix them all together and form small circles.
15 min of baking (or 2 min for frying).

Ready!

Vlad liekd them much though he didn't like cottage chesse itself;))
Just like me in my childhood;))

Guys, do you know this recipe?
How are syrniki called in your place?