Pray For Me // The Album (Sky B, 2007)

in AFRI-TUNES24 days ago

Greetings!

One big thing about music before the internet trend is that a song that came out on top had to be a real hit. It's unlike these days where the internet is used to push every track and album, including the worst ones, into everyone's hearing. I'm not saying it's bad; of course, it's good because that's the era we are now in.

I came across Sky B's album while scrolling down my YouTube in search of a particular song. Maybe it's because of the current trend of Sky B's "from grace to grass" saga, or maybe YouTube decided to bring it to my wall because I often search for old songs.

I was somewhat aware in 2007 when Sky B came out with his hit album titled "Pray For Me," and this album was a big hit. I mean, every track on the album was on everyone's lips. Back then, when an album was released, we would get its CD or VCD and play or watch all the tracks, enjoying the fun to the maximum. Nowadays, it's very uncommon to see a complete album of an artist on someone's phone. We tend to remove (or not download) the ones that are not interesting. 😂

In the spirit of #TTT, I would like to share three tracks from the "Pray For Me" album.

Incase you don't know what Three Tune Tuesday, read here;

"Every Tuesday, I'm going to share three songs that I like to listen to, and I invite your feedback in the comments below. Better still, why not have a blast of your own Three Tune Tuesday and mention me in the post, and I'll come and find the post and upvote it? If you could also use the #threetunetuesday tag, that would be great, as that is what I use when sifting through all the entries every Wednesday. It'll be a sweet way for us all to discover new music. You'll also be in with a chance of winning the prize." By @ablaze.



Pray For Me

This song's interlude was heavily borrowed from Eminem's "Stan." I knew about Eminem's version, but this version by Sky B made it even sweeter and more ear-tickling to me. The song, from its chorus to the raps, was an emotional one. It's a song dedicated to his deceased loved one, and in the lyrics, he mentions that if money could bring back life, he'd be ready to sell his gold just to bring back his dead mom. This is the first track on the album. The video intro where the title of the song was displayed brings back a lot of childhood memories. Back then, when the song was popular, once we heard the sound of the intro, we didn't need anyone to tell us that Sky B's song was about to be played.



I Am Calling

Oh! This was the biggest of them all! The beat in this song is just evergreen. Even when it's played at a party with a good bass music system, someone who knows the song will surely be moved, either by shaking their head (for someone who can't dance) or by getting up to give it the cool dancing style, just the way it used to be.
Back then, we didn't joke with this track. It was the track that had no enemies. Boys used this song to win the hearts of ladies. Good old days.

Looking closely at the video, you'll see how old the dancing patterns were. If it were shot now, it would have come out better in every aspect.



Here I Am

This is one of the tracks I love so much. The vibes in it are so mature compared to the very common and popular "Ogechi My Girl."

Let me stop here.
I hope I've been able to bring back some memories for you.

Thanks for reading, singing and dancing.


Videos from YouTube

thumbnail source

Sort:  

Chai, these songs are old school. You really tried in bringing them back.

Good old songs.
Thank God I was born then, to witness those days.

Thank you for stopping by

You're welcome

Hehe! Not me thinking if was born when this songs where sang😂
Very old songs, you really took out your time to drop this hits out...I remember when I used to sing "you are the one am calling, am calling baby, am calling"😂

Nowadays is no longer that, it is "Some of us too busy to be bae"🫣😂🏃
#dreemerforlife

Do you know that I actually went to listen to the Kizz Daniel's song to feel the cruise?😅

Do you know how to sing it?
Of course you said you know how to sing.
I don't mind dragging you out to sing.😅

Thank you for stopping by

😂😂You ain't serious

Very serious on this.
Make a video in one of the music communities....earn as well

I'm calmly waiting.

Wait! You must be kidding me right!
Me that don't have a good voice 😫
Please, stop eeet😂

Look at this lady!!😂
Tell me you haven't seen most of the videos in those communities. Some of them have Davido's voice (I hope you know what Davido's voice is called?)😂.

Come on, start recording.
We are many that are waiting to hear.

Very old hit songs we had then, more than a decade now. The beats were the buzz.

#dreemerforlife

Yeah, you know better thing.
Thank you for coming 👍