Helping Out Regardless

in WorkLife17 days ago

Hi fellow Hiveians,

Today I wanted to talk about the notion of sometimes helping out in the workplace regardless if it's part of the job or not.

IMG_6881.JPG

Hive Divider Bar Text.png

Helping Out Regardless

Helping even though it's not really part of my job exactly can be a great thing to do, in the right circumstances.

Recently, one of my part time jobs that I like to do every so often encountered an issue with one of the machines that are there that we use to participate in the work. These days, machines are ubiquitous when it comes to the workplace, but what isn't prevalent is someone knowing how to troubleshoot and help fix something.

IMG_6929.JPG

We ran into an issue with the machine where somebody was using it previously and had saved some stuff on it and now wanted to get it off the machine but it wasn't working the way it should have. Those types of things do happen and it's annoying but what I've seen a lot of people do is give it one try, if it doesn't work, make it somebody else's problem and say fuck it. I really dislike that mindset, as it is of course pretty lazy! At the same time, I do sometimes get myself into trouble (in a joking way, not actual trouble) by being one of those guys that will jump into something and see if I can figure it out!

With this issue, I was pretty sure I could figure it out. I've worked on these things before and also helped solve some of the issues, so naturally I was inclined to do so. I had spent a good 30 minutes before the work started just mucking around with the thing trying to get it to work the way we would expect it to so that we could get the stuff off the machine. Sadly at the end of the day, it didn't end up working which was unfortunate.

IMG_1010.JPG

I wasn't going to stop there though, damn it! I was determined to get this thing sorted out LOL so I got the contact information for the company that produced the device and reached out to them. I spent a good 30 minutes outside of work to get all of that figured out, email sent and the end result there was also sadly the machine was end of life, end of support so they wouldn't even give us help with support documentation to see if we could fix it ourselves. It was overall fairly annoying but with the vendors these days it's not surprising. They are only willing to help out if the dollars are flowing in their direction.

While we didn't get the issue solved, I think the important thing is the notion of being able and willing to help someone out with something that is not necessarily in our job description or scope of the work that we are doing, but giving it the college try anyways. This has been a way that I've worked and operate on a daily basis for a long time, and I think it's a product of how I was raised which is a good thing. I am trying to raise my son to be the same way because that is how society improves, where people are willing to help out and do the work instead of being lazy fucks and constantly deferring responsibility to somebody else.

There are definitely limitations for this whole notion as well, don't get me wrong. I wouldn't be doing this if the people I worked for were assholes because those types of shitty managers deserve whatever issues they have their way. There can also be said though of those types of people, where you can give them a few services like this and see how it goes. It could drastically improve your relationship with them and turn a corner which would be a good thing. I've experienced that once before, where the person I worked for was a real piece of shit but doing good things like this for them changed the relationship I had and ended up being bearable while I worked there.

IMG_6881.JPG

I think we need to get back to this mentality of helping each other out to the extent possible that we can. This society is heading in a difficult direction right now where everything is being abdicated to others or those in power and that's wrong. We have gotten soft as a population and that only leads in the direction of more pain. We have to shoulder responsibility and hardship in order to improve things, and getting accustomed to going the extra mile when possible is a good thing under the right circumstances!

What about you? Have you done something at work where you were helping out even though it wasn't really your responsibility? Was it something you would do more?

Hive Divider Bar Centered.png

-CmplXty. Real human written content, never AI. All pictures are mine unless otherwise stated

Hive Divider Bar Centered.png

Connect with me!

Do you want to get paid, in crypto, for searching the internet? Try using and signing up for Presearch to earn some great crypto! I've currently got 2,900 PRE tokens, with a market value of $180.27. It doesn't sound like a lot but when you search using sites like Google you get paid $0! Join Presearch to break Google's stranglehold on the internet searches. If you'd like to sign up, use my referral link below and spread the word!
https://www.presearch.org/signup?rid=513043


Image source

Sort:  

I love this. I’m a big fan of helping out based on my capabilities, not my limitations. It’s gotten me spoken to at work in the past, but ultimately I still think it’s the right thing to do.

Completely agree, it seems like shitty bosses who will talk to someone for being proactive. The only times I can think it being a bad thing are in an OR, one of the transporters getting a glove in the patient LOL or some dude pressing buttons at a power plant :D. D’oh!

Keep getting yourself into new experiences man! That’s one of the beauties of life!

Hell yeah man, life is for livin’!

I help out as often as I can. For me, it kind of feels natural, especially when I'm more equipped in solving the problem. Besides, I like troubleshooting problems, out of curiosity :)

Definitely, most people are becoming soft nowadays, and responsibility and accountability have decreased out a lot. I think it could be an effect of their minds being numbed.

Yeah absolutely a big product of the dumbing down of people as a whole it's quite sad. Thankfully we have made some progress towards improving it but there's a lot who aren't ready or even just can't do these types of things.
I'm glad you enjoy a nice challenge like me! It's good to expose ourselves to different stuff like that, and solving a good problem is fun!

Right, developing self awareness is a great way to make progress and reverse this mind numbing process. Yes, challenges can be a fun way to grow, so we should always seek them when possible!

Anyone who is ready to help is usually also ready to learn because while helping people, you’d be able to learn from them too. I love to help too and I benefit a lot from it

Yeah I'm glad you enjoy learning and helping as well! It's one of the things I want to see more of in the world.