20 degrees hot

pexels-photo-4022769.jpeg

The human body is a very fascinating machine. When it comes to temperature, it is all relative and how you feel isn't an absolute.

I went out for a jog with a hoodie on and immediately I stepped outside, I knew that I was overdressed for the occasion.

I checked the weather app before going out and it said it would be 20 degrees. Now if you're from Nigeria, you'll understand that 20 degrees Celsius is cold weather and you'd need at least two layers of clothes to cope with it.

Now I'm from Nigeria, since that's where I've lived my whole life but even though I'm from Nigeria, I've always been good with the cold. It was the heat that I had issues with.

Anyway, I stepped out into the "cold" 20⁰ and I felt my sweat pores opening up, instantly. I could feel the sunshine on my face and the insects flying all over the place made it even more annoying.

What I'm trying to say is that 20⁰ has never felt this hot before. I guess it's safe to say that my body has acclimatized to the weather in this country.

I guess I really hadn't noticed it too much because when I leave for work in the morning, it is somewhat cold and after work, I'm not outside long enough to notice how cold or warm it is.

Immediately after work, I go straight to the train station, wait for like ten minutes and then get on the train. I get to Nottingham, hop on a bus and it's homeward bound from there, so I just hadn't slowed down long enough to notice the fact that my body has adjusted to the weather.

Today, after working from home, I went out for a jog and then walked round the park a few laps. I went out with a hoodie but couldn't continue with the hoodie because it was too warm.

I think, for the most part, I've adjusted because of winter. My skin has been battled hardened by the cold, so temperatures that I'd normally consider to be cold feel warm.

If 20 degrees feels this warm, I wonder how hot 30⁰ that we usually have in Nigeria would feel.

Sort:  

Our body has the ability to adapt to any weather conditions. When we can adapt, then we are good to go. Adaptation is the key.

Loading...