A bloody fist full of dollars

Out and about-12.jpg


Sherrif of White Rocks: [Hands Monco the reward money for Red Cavanaugh] Two thousand dollars. It's a lot of money. Takes me three years to earn it!

Monco: Tell me, isn't the sheriff supposed to be courageous, loyal, and above all, honest?

Sherrif of White Rocks: Yeah. That he is.

Monco: [Pulls off his sheriff's star and walks out] I think you people need a new sheriff.


I'm not really into westerns but I think most of them have some morals in their storylines. A couple days ago I had a long conversation with a friend who is watching a situation unfold in front of her eyes that is just dripping with skullduggery, fraud, backstabbing... if you can name it, it's in that work scenario.

The person she was griping about is quite a high profile personality and has made a few waves in the past that bolstered her position to getting where she is today. She is now the head of a department which has annual KPIs like most large corporates do. She, as the head of the department also has her own KPIs that need to be completed, some of which are in her own capacity and cannot be delegated to people down the chain of command.

This has created a problem for her because she isn't delivering on any of them and it's now becoming very apparent to not just my friend, but also to many others in that department (and in the head positions of the agency) that she climbed her way to where she is today purely on the coat-tails of others, her popularity as a fancy influencer type and not out of her own merit, but on the blood, sweat and tears of the 300+ staff members that she had working under her in her previous job.

𝐓𝐡𝐫𝐞𝐞 𝐡𝐮𝐧𝐝𝐫𝐞𝐝 𝐬𝐭𝐚𝐟𝐟 𝐝𝐨𝐢𝐧𝐠 𝐡𝐞𝐫 𝐛𝐢𝐝𝐝𝐢𝐧𝐠❗

My friend was explaining how this woman walks around screaming at her staff and colleagues, even people outside of her own department. That she blames everyone else for her mistakes, lack of work production and just generally treats everyone like shit. So my friend has started planting seeds in colleagues' heads to put in grievances and to blow the whistle on the tyrannical, unethical rubbish that's taking place. When I heard that, I inhaled deeply and closed my eyes before I spoke my next sentence.


𝑨𝒔 𝒏𝒐𝒃𝒍𝒆 𝒂𝒏𝒅 𝒗𝒊𝒓𝒕𝒖𝒐𝒖𝒔 𝒂𝒔 𝒘𝒉𝒊𝒔𝒕𝒍𝒆-𝒃𝒍𝒐𝒘𝒊𝒏𝒈 𝒊𝒔, 𝒊𝒕 𝒘𝒊𝒍𝒍 𝒓𝒖𝒊𝒏 𝒚𝒐𝒖𝒓 𝒍𝒊𝒇𝒆. 𝑻𝒉𝒊𝒏𝒌 𝒗𝒆𝒓𝒚 𝒄𝒂𝒓𝒆𝒇𝒖𝒍𝒍𝒚 𝒃𝒆𝒇𝒐𝒓𝒆 𝒚𝒐𝒖 𝒈𝒐 𝒉𝒆𝒂𝒅 𝒕𝒐 𝒉𝒆𝒂𝒅 𝒘𝒊𝒕𝒉 𝒂 𝒉𝒊𝒈𝒉𝒍𝒚 𝒊𝒏𝒇𝒍𝒖𝒆𝒏𝒕𝒊𝒂𝒍 𝒑𝒆𝒓𝒔𝒐𝒏, 𝒑𝒆𝒓𝒉𝒂𝒑𝒔 𝒍𝒆𝒕 𝒉𝒆𝒓 𝒃𝒆 𝒉𝒆𝒓 𝒐𝒘𝒏 𝒅𝒆𝒎𝒊𝒔𝒆 𝒊𝒏𝒔𝒕𝒆𝒂𝒅.


There was a silence and my friend (who had stopped dead in her rant when she heard my words) replied "yes, I suppose I need to be strategic and think about this more". I think she suddenly came to the reality that blowing the whistle would be the end of her job and possibly her entire career if she took that next step.

The worst part of this whole conversation for me was the horrible choked up feeling I got in my throat when I uttered those words. Why? Because there is no glory in being a coward, but there's also a pretty shit road ahead for my friend if she loses this job because she really can't afford to. She's supporting her elderly parents and her god child as well as being the breadwinner. She also admitted to me that she doesn't really have the emotional energy to have that kind of fight right now.

I wanted to scream at the fucking injustice of it because I've been in a work situation that was similar and I hated every second of it. I ended up having panic attacks before leaving for work just thinking of what the day would hold. Nobody deserves that. But the worst of it is that this woman fraud is going to get away with not reaching her KPIs by shifting the blame onto anyone other than herself. I can see it coming a mile away and it fills me with rage.

Sigh. And I am absolutely powerless to help my friend other than to let her rant when we see each other and commiserate as much as I can while trying not to go insane in the process.

Sometimes I wish it was like the wild, wild west. People like that wouldn't last long and I wouldn't write posts like this which nobody will read.

Oh well, I suppose this is how the world works sometimes. Who knows, maybe she'll fuck over the wrong person at some stage and get a taste of her own medicine. Best served cold, with a slice of sour lemon. I'll be watching from the sidelines when her little empire crumbles and I'll probably buy my friend a bottle of wine. Is that mean of me? Yes, but some people deserve to lose everything they earned stole while trampling over those who paved their road to the red carpet.



𝑷𝒓𝒐𝒖𝒅𝒍𝒚 𝑨𝑰 𝒇𝒓𝒆𝒆. 𝑨𝒍𝒍 𝒊𝒎𝒂𝒈𝒆𝒔 𝒂𝒏𝒅 𝒘𝒓𝒊𝒕𝒊𝒏𝒈 𝒂𝒓𝒆 𝒎𝒚 𝒐𝒘𝒏.


Sort:  

In my experience people often get what they deserve and work towards be it something positive or negative. I don't believe in karma so much, however people's actions always come with reactions and often repercussions.

You say, "some people deserve to lose everything they earned stole while trampling over those who paved their road." People don't always get what's coming to them directly I think, however that doesn't always mean things in their life are positive and valuable. People like you mention here are often the most unhappy with themselves and maybe that's what they get based on their actions...a lifetime of being them.

Becca 🌷

Your experience has been somewhat in contrast to mine. I have witnessed many people who get things that they don't deserve and while actions have reactions, often there are spanners that get sent into the works that nobody saw coming.

That's true, I have no idea what that woman's life looks like other than chaotic from what I've been told - but she is an attention seeker and always wants to be in the limelight and not from the merits of her own work either. I don't like those kinds of people. I personally think that perhaps she's too shallow to even realise whether she's happy or not, but I'm on the outside looking in, so I could be totally wrong.

Thanks for your comment Becca, I hope you are doing well.

How many like her I've seen in my life ... if I had a penny ...
Shitty situation Emma, especially for those who are in it. Been there, done that, there's no win for anyone. I'm sorry for your friend as it's going to eat her up slowly.

It's actually sad because I've also experienced this so while I can sympathize with her, it infuriates me because there's nothing I can really do to help her other than provide some insight and a cautionary tale. It's not going to end well for my friend because she has a big mouth, it's bound to come to a head at some stage. 😕

 7 months ago  

Sometimes I wish it was like the wild, wild west. People like that wouldn't last long and I wouldn't write posts like this which nobody will read.

I just did and here I thought it was gonnan be a movie review.

To be honest, I prefer these kind of real life stories over movie reviews any day ;^)

Her empire will crumble some day...

Big hug!

Sorry for the very late reply Vincent, it's been a bit chaotic and busy this end and I'm finally getting back onto Hive lol.

I am not a huge movie person and Westerns definitely aren't on the top of the list 😂

That woman I used to respect, but clearly I only knew the façade that she successfully portrayed to the world. It looks like she is definitely not a poster child for the values I stand by and while I can't effect any change in the situation, I hope that she gets taken down a notch.

Hugs to you as well.

 7 months ago  

That’s a very difficult situation to be in indeed. It’s never easy to do those types of things and as difficult as it is to let it ride out, sometimes it’s best that way. The other route that she may go is anonymous tips to Human Resources and other groups in the company. If given specific examples it could lead to the removal but it’s a difficult process for sure because if it comes back that’s not good.

It is a messed up world we live in today but I have hope that we can turn it around and go back to a time where morals and virtues will be better than they are today!

Difficult indeed. I hate that she's in that position. I am not sure how their company works and whether anonymous reports are even possible. That's why I think perhaps it's better to let it play out and let that woman be her own downfall from lack of production and meeting objectives. All I can do is be a sounding board for my friend and remind her to see the bigger picture.

I do hope we can turn it around, at the moment it's depressing that to keep your job you have to put up with abuse of every description. Very sad. Thanks for commenting @cmplxty

It kind of sucks, but as the saying goes: There is no nobility in poverty.

That's a great saying and has more than one meaning. I'll be pondering on that today, thanks for the comment @old-guy-photos :)

Thanks! I remember seeing Charlie Sheen (so young there!) deliver the line to his dad in the movie Wall Street. Kind of cool it happens to be his real dad in real life as well (Martin Sheen) lol.

Some bosses are like that. When they make mistakes, they would not want to blame themselves. They feel they are always right so they always blame other people for their mistakes which does not make any sense
It does not seem fair to me