Watch out: Elderly people

The other day I was driving towards somewhere through the fields which are all super nice and green at the moment. At some point I saw this sign on the side of the road, and I was puzzled if I had seen it right.

On the way back I made sure I drove past the sign again to see if I had seen it right. And there it was.

A "Watch out, elderly people crossing' sign. Probably because this crosssing is near an elderly home I would suspect. Now although I love this concept of getting people more aware of that there is a form of danger nearby, this also is the form of crazyness that you seem to be having here more and more.

You don't have to explain everything if you ask me.





I do understand where they are coming from. Hanging an example of what people are looking out for makes people more consious because of the empathy factor.

But how does this work when the grandkids are visiting and they are running around. Shouldn't you watch out for them as well?
Or what about the small ducklings that are born now in this phase of the year and are living in the creeks. Shouldn't you watch out for them as well?
Or what about the caretakers that most likely work there as well who also have to cross the road? Shouldn't we look for them as well?


Or should we 'just' watch out for the elderly and drive over everything else that is not in that category? A fresh puppy? Booooom...'nehhh I wasn't warned for you puppy so I came over with 100 km per hour, because I was only told to watch out for the elderly.'

Don't try to fit everything into a sign over there. Just make a crossing and danger sign and maybe with some speedbumps and no explanation. That seems way more reasonable to do and with way more effect.

Because this only leaves people like me puzzled while driving.And that might even be more dangerous than actually explaing the sign.

Sort:  

In fact, there is a paradigm in today's society... We want an explanation and a reason for practically everything. As you said, if there was just a speed camera to give the instantaneous speed, with an indication of the maximum speed allowed for the location, it would probably be more effective. If someone was speeding, a traffic light near the danger zone would turn red, forcing drivers to stop. Or a few speed bumps, as you said... In short, a society that seeks to justify everything, taking it to the extreme.

Yeah and this one of those examples that it has gone way too far. There is absolutely no reason to explain all of this. yet we do like it.

Just like hen the train has a delay, they are now entitled to explain why this is. That there is a trai about of them, or an accident or whatever. Even if the delay is just 1 minute. Sounds a bit crazy to me if you ask me.

Like building a necessity of having a feedback at real time of everything, right? Something that everyone lives without it... for sure!